We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, dingy rooms but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

When we first went to SIngapore, we stayed in some other hotel but then saw Marriott and it looked grand and was right on Orchard Street. We planned to stay here in the next trip.

And we did!!! but completely regretted the decision. The hotel undoubtedly had a great location as it is bang opposite Ion Mall and the clubs and restaurants. However, the hotel service was really bad. Very slow service, the rooms were very small and bad decoration and old and stuffy. The breakfast was average.

and all this wid an exorbitant rate made the stay here a disappointment

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjmoksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Bang on the heart of Orchard road, the location could not have been more central. Close to the best restaurants and shopping the Singapore Marriott is the place to stay if you can afford it. I think it is overpriced but the convenience outweighs the cost. Rooms have a very nice view of the city and because of the design of the hotel each room has 2 large window walls - floor to ceiling (almost). The health club is nice and compact. A must stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripjunky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

do not ever stay this hotel. its my first time in marriot singapore not first time in marriot though. other marriot is better. singapore marriot they just happily charges big amount to you for every single broken thing and they claim its you that broke it. and you have no right to defences yourself even if its not your fault. the buffet is always empty, the bathroom is not so clean and the shower is broke. the room is small. no table for your luggage.and very expensive

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santyaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

While the hotel is in a central location, they have yet to maintain good customer relations going on my experiance over the last 10 years traveling to Singapore. I'm currently staying at the hotel and this will be my last. From the beginning have always had problems with reservations here, request king size bed, get twins everytime, while its not a real big deal this happening everytime we came was getting frustrating. The last time we stayed here was about 5 years ago, requested same king, non-smoking, neither was available when we checked in, they gave us a twin room that had been "converted" to a non smoking room which meant they sprayed air freshener in it.

So here we are today, decided to give hotel another try, same thing happend no king beds only twins "I'm beginning to believe they don't even have king beds here", hotel is non smoking so thats a plus now. Was starving after the flight, so went to get lunch in lobby, a salad...took 30 minutes to get it and it wasn't the best added chicken sate, and tasted like it had been deep fried instead.

So this is my last trip here, I'll go back to Royal Plaza, its across the street better service better rooms and better management.

Room Tip: More value next door and across street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK2Borneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The windows were not sound proof,and even we could not fasten them well,and the noise of the street bothers us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_nikfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I was attending a conference at the Marriott. First thing I can say about the hotel ...very old hotel. They really need to do something about the fittings in the men's room. The ballroom that we were in had some trouble with the air conditioning, again huge issue.

Lunch one of the afternoons ...the restaurant didn't have enough space to accommodate the guests. There was a big line outside the restaurant and it just wasn't right. The next day, it was a little bit better but several tables had to be set up in the lobby (the restaurant - Marriott Cafe - was next the the lobby).

Good things, service was decent - but its Marriott so thats a given!! The lobby was nice because it had a glass ceiling which allowed a lot of light in during the day and I thought that was great. Nice pool bar, but would have been better with some moisture fans. Food again, was pretty good. Lot of choices at the buffet at the Marriott Cafe.

Final comments, it may not the best place to have your meetings. But its might be a good place to stay given the location and service.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank fhuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed at the hotel for business for a few days. It was a convenient location, although the accommodation was uninspiring. Room was small and dated. Carpet was on the verge of being worn. Breakfast was very good though. Had problems connecting to the internet in my room, but it may be that it was my laptop's fault. Note that you have to pay for internet access unless you sign up for a Marriott rewards card.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,132 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,889 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,196 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,206 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £182 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing