We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Being a business traveler I have to say I was very impressed with the Marriott Singapore. I normally stay in Hong Kong at the SkyCity Marriott and have to say the service here is by far more impressive. So let me begin. First, I do have to mention that I had correspondence with the reservations staff and requested I few of my normal items. One that the mini-bar be cleaned out [staying for 20 days I like to purchase some of my own items]. I also request additional bath towels; being in a hot climate 2-4 showers a day is common. Well, upon arriving not of these requests from fulfilled, but I don't seat the small stuff...nothing a phone call to "At your Service" won't handle.

The room is nice, bed comfortable as usual for the Marriott product. Laundry service is top of the line! Wonderful job! Only improvement I would suggest is easier access to the LED TV HDMI jacks; I like to plug my laptop in to the TV and watch them on the big screen. Some of the Marriott's have hard wired terminals at the work desk in the room.

One of the most impressive differences is in the Executive Lounge. The level of service and hospitality is phenomenal!! Alma [Guest Relations] has a fantastic staff up there...after the first day they knew my name and drink preference! The food selection in the evening is very good for a buffet style. They offer a different theme every night which adds a nice variety as opposed to the same old thing.

The gym and spa area is nice...gym has a good selection of machines and free weights. THe free weight are is small and if more than one person is in the are it can get crowded. The spa is nice...steam room, sauna, separate showers, two hot tubs.

I did visit the spa on several occasions for a deep tissue massage. The service was good and depending upon which massage therapist you had...each one has a different style. I do have to say that the spa offers an in room massage, which was wonderful [and very professional]. After your massage you don't have to make your way back to your room...

The pool area is postcard perfect! You definitely need to pay a visit to the pool side during your stay here!

Are negotiated room rate included breakfast at the restaurant on the lobby level. Again the Service is wonderful. Many thanks to all the ladies [Meg, Liz, and the rest] for their fantastic level of service and hospitality! Again after a day or two they remember your name, what you like to drink....wonderful. On top of the service the breakfast buffet is great! A wonderful variety of western, Asian, European cuisines... fresh made juice to order, yogurt smoothies...omelets [try the Singapore Crab Omelet!]

Only downsides to the hotel is that yes there is a lot of construction going on outside, but with a high room location the noise is minimum. Also the elevators are very slow....plan to wait for an elevator...plan ahead if you need to be somewhere in a hurry.

I look forward to returning to the Marriott again and again!

Room Tip: Higher the floor...and facing away from Orchard Road...Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Zwicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    596
    170
    68
    52
See reviews for
380
474
150
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great location but I have had better visits at this paticular hotel. Lots of very loud hotel construction while we were there. I realize construction is necessary but nothing is stated on the website or I was not notifed when the reservations were booked. Stayed in one of the newly renovated suits which I did not enjoy.

The hotel has taken two rooms and converted them into a 1 room suit. Had problems with the electicty current in the room which doesn't work well when a computer is plugged in. The living room was very comfortable but the bathroom has a door leading into the hallway. Lots of noise comes in from the hallway through the bathroom especially in the evening from people walking down the halls.
The food buffet is always good and love the outside patio. The hotel staff was accommodating during our visit but of course this did not outweigh the renovation noise.
This is the place to stay if you want to be close to Orchard Rd but would definetly call ahead to see if consturction is going on before booking. I am a frequent visit to the Marriot hotels and always try and stay at their locations. I would definitely try the hotel again but realize it is very pricey.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1AdventureTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
269 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pretty impressed with this central hotel, in Orchard Road. Beware neighbouring construction projects - an endemic issue in Singapore. And be ready for the cost of 'extras' in the Marriott - breakfast, restaurant, drinks, room service, minibar, WiFi access are all eye-wateringly expensive. If you're braced for a big bill, it's a very good hotel with every possible amenity.

Room Tip: Ask for a high one to avoid construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Excellent location at Orchard rd and very nice pool area. Rooms are bit expensive and breakfast selection could be better but in overall very nice hotel. Staying here often because of membership.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I usually stay at this 5 star hotel when stopping over in Singapore. The staff are always friendly and professional. In keeping with the Marriott flagship chain of international hotels this particular one is excellent for its room rate. The Executive floor on the 27 th floor is a place where you can relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping precinct.
I used my Marriott Reward points and Marriott credit card to settle the bill.
Truly a five star hotel and service.

Room Tip: Close to big name retail shops and food courts. Also Singapore Airlines are located conveniently op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Joy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

One of my favourite hotels anywhere.
Spacious new rooms, amazing location, warm efficient service.
The best of malls, restaurants are all literally next to the Marriott.
Rooms have been renovated & have become even more comfortable.
Room service, housekeeping, concierge & even the GM - all are friendly, prompt & most efficient.
It is a rare example of the best getting better all the time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with great views of orchard road - Scotts road crossing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrganicEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Rooms recently updated and are very nice. Location is perfect, easy to get around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#42 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#21 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#66 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#89 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Orchard Road hotel's green-roof pagoda is a well-known landmark located at the junction of Scotts Road and Orchard Road, in Singapore. Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel is ideally situated on Orchard Road, in the heart of Singapore’s bustling shopping and entertainment hub. We are a 5-star hotel linked to at least 4 main shopping complexes by an underpass and we are directly above the Orchard Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station, which means the rest of the island is simply a train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing