We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, personalized staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, personalized staff”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is located right smack in the middle of the city, very good location. The staff from housekeeping to front desk to restaurant are just great! They were friendly, and made me feel like a VIP. They are definitely the best part of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    619
    176
    71
    56
See reviews for
450
505
160
778
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

have stayed in this hotel a few times over the years and it has always impressed me. It is in the best location (recommend having a beer in orchard cafe and watch the world go by), has great rooms, a great pool, great food and great staff. would highly recommend as for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Reached the hotel earlier than allowed check-in time, we were already thinking to leave our luggage there while we would go around exploring the town, but the hotel reception allowed us to check in and within 5 minutes, we were already up in the room on 9th floor.

Booked the premier room via the special club marriott rate, which makes the rate to be one of the more affordable among all the hotel in/nearby Orchard area. Furthermore this hotel is one of the nearest to the Orchard MRT, even though a bit of walking is still required, but the walkway is covered.

The room is squeaky-clean, and most of the furniture seems new. The channel available on the TV is a bit limited, and the quality of the shows/movies for the HD capable LED TV is just too bad. The noise from the street is barely audible from 9th floor and I guess there is some kind of minor renovation on-going as we can hear drilling sound on weekends. The lift is not protected by any kind of key card mechanism, and the evening turn down is not consistent, i.e. present on some days and not done at all during some days. However the room service i.e. cleaning is good. Everything is cleaned and tidied up. Only 2 bottles of water given daily which is not really enough for a couple, hopefully there is a convenience shop nearby.

Plenty of food is available around the vicinity of the hotel during day time, worse case, there are 7-11 and McDonalds nearby as well. Almost all the major malls would have some kind of food court, ION Orchard, Takashimaya, Lucky Plaza (be careful of scammers), and more. The Orchard MRT station could be packed on weekends because lots of immigrants would gather there to shop around the malls there. Quite difficult to find food around there during late night time/midnight, but we did not really check with the concierge as we wanted to explore a bit ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I have stayed here twice now and for the location alone it is unbeatable, inside an oasis of calm and order, step through the glass doors into full on madness of Singapore. Orchard Road is a major cross roads for both traffic and the MTR, from here you can go everywhere, the hotel may not be the biggest or most modern but I just love the layout, decor and the staff. Breakfasts in this hotel have to be the best in the world, there is everything conceivable from every Eastern country, and why shouldn't you have an Indian Curry with rice and a waffle and maple syrup for after. We ate most evenings in the executive lounge as it was included in the package, great selection of meals with free drinks all with a great view down Orchard Road. For an evening great I have to recommend going up to the pool, it's beautifully illuminated after dark and looking up and around at the night skyline is treat for the eyes. It will always be one of the iconic hotels of Singapore, and if you like shopping there can be no better place to start.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel has the best location in Singapore . It is convenient to shopping,underground,etc.The pool here is incredible. The rooms are incredible.They are elegant and yet so comfortable. This is the cleanest hotel that I have ever encountered. The staff is the most professional that I have encountered as well. Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is my second stay at the Marriott - paid for with Marriott points. The generally available rates for this hotel are pretty high, even for Singapore, and there is probably better value to be had elsewhere.

However, the location of this hotel, just above Orchard MTR station, and adjacent to some of the best shopping malls in Singapore, is unbeatable. Absolutely everything you could possibly want is within about 5 minutes walk, and most can be reached via underground (and air-conditioned) tunnels, which is a blessing when you want to stay out of the heat.

The rooms are of a very good size, with excellent modern bathroom, very good amenities, and all is spotlessly clean - housekeeping in this hotel really is very good.

The pool, on the 5th floor, is an oasis in the city - you could almost forget that you are right in the middle of one of the World's premier shopping areas. The pool is of a very good size, with plenty of lounger space. There is a paddling pool, but those with slightly older children who are not strong swimmers should note that the main part of the pool is of a uniform 1.20 meter depth.

Did not take breakfast in the hotel - this is Orchard road, and there are hundreds of very good and cheaper alternatives very close by. We have (previously) eaten at Wan Hao, the Cantonese restaurant on the premises, and it is very good indeed - one of the stand-outs in Singapore for Beijing Duck.

Provided that you are OK with the rate, this is a really excellent hotel, offering very good service indeed, and you could not be better placed for the sights of Singapore. It's probably slightly better suited to business travel than families, but we loved it as a family, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view. Rooms on the 5th floor have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Marriott on Orchard is a great location and very convenient to many attractions and shopping. The room was good and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the food was good and reasonable. I would recommend it due to location to Orchard road.

Room Tip: Buy a cup of coffee at the coffee shop adjacent to the restaurant if you're not getting the buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 314 in Singapore
3,072 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#66 of 314 in Singapore
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#27 of 314 in Singapore
2,109 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 314 in Singapore
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#21 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing