We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for shopping and easy sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a great choice! Situated amidst luxury shopping malls (next door to Tang's Dept Store), and on top of the Orchard MRT station with an ATM right outside, you can get anything you want and go anywhere easily. Our flight arrived into Singapore at 6am and the Mercedes taxi the hotel reserve for us was waiting. Note there is a surcharge for pick up for flights arriving 6am or earlier. Drive in was about 20 minutes at that hour. The staff immediately greeted us and checked us into our 29th floor room.

We were upgraded to a room with a bath tub (I had to request this). Towels were bath sheets, bed linens were very high thread count and silky soft. Tea kettle in room was great, too.

As a Marriott Elite member, we had access to the lounge on the 27th floor for buffet breakfast, evening appetizers that were enough for dinner, and dessert. Very attentive young staff who made sure we were well cared for. Free water bottles, too!

One note about reserving taxis...we reserved with the concierge to go one way to the Night Safari and we should have booked it to pick us up (there is a small booking surcharge for these reserved taxis). If you go to the Night Safari (pretty touristy and not worth it IMHO) the taxi queue afterwards without reservation will take at least an hour or two to clear.

If we ever return, we will be staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,754 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

From our early check to check out five days later we were impressed by the desire to offer top class service from everyone we talked to. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the of Singapore and the Crossroads Cafe is one of the best people watching spots in the city. As a Platinum member we could have take breakfast in the Concierge Floor but we much preffered the buffet on the ground floor and the wide choices available. We gorged on the tropical fruits that we can`t get fresh in Chicago. The lobby makes a great meeting point for family and friends and the customer service staff were always available for a chat and advise.The wonderful MRT is right below the hotel which makes travel around the city very easy indeed.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

An excellent place to stay .. For business or as a tourist .. For a first timer .. By far the best located of any of the top hotels .. Efficient .. Detail oriented .. For the business traveller the lounge is excellent .. For the leisure traveller the pool and poolside grill is a pleasure for all the senses .. By Marriott ratings .. It should be a JW .. I am sure it gives it sister brand the Ritz Carlton a run for its money .. Cant go wrong by staying here

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Vinit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We chose there because we have stayes at marriot hotels before , a really top 5 star hotel , not cheap but worth the treat . A great location , the staff are really professional , great lobby and efficient check in . Our room was tops , clean and great amenities , very nice bathroom . The restaurant food is delicious , drinks expensive , lived up to its reputation .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecile p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I got a excellent experience and food as well in the hotel.
Room service and check-in check-out process is awesome.
Was impressed by the front desk team's efficiency with the queue. Overall a truly fuss free process. Concierge dealt with luggage as soon as I secured room as staff anticipated I had to attend to arriving colleagues at the lobby. Registration was all done within 5 minutes

Room Tip: South side room is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSP1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The location is superb, but you pay a premium. The staff are excellent, and extremely helpful. The renovation has dramatic improved the hotel considering its limitation due to the age and structure of the building. As a platinum member, the studio upgrade was a treat. The concierge lounge is not spacious and very crowded in the evenings, so get there early. The smoked duck salad was one of the best ever, as well as other delicious foods.

Love Singapore, and this hotel never disappoints.

Room Tip: Elevators are close to some rooms, so ask to be away. The hotel is octagon shaped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,249 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 319 in Singapore
8,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 319 in Singapore
1,310 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,842 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#8 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £171 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing