We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The Singapore Marriott on the corner of Scotts and Orchard Road in downtown Singapore is ideally positioned on top a a Metro entrance. It is also exactly a mile from the hotel to the Singapore Botanical Gardens which is a beautiful place for runners and to relax after the workday. The hotel is in the heart of Downtown and if you shop coiture there are tons of places to drop a fortune. It's worth the money to pay for access to the Executive Lounge if you aren't a Gold member as the evening food and dessert is excellent. The staff is incredibly gracious and pleasant to interact with and truly helpful. The pool is excellent and a great place to relax with a beer or ice tea if you have a break during the day or during the long summer evenings after work. The gym is far better than most hotel gyms with plenty of treadmills and ellipticals with a cool iPhone interface that allows you to listen to your own movies and music while you work out. Also a good selection of free weights. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Singapore either on business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruckhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    619
    176
    71
    56
See reviews for
450
505
160
778
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 966 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

The Concierge lounge food & service is the best I have ever seen at any Marriott. We were platinum members for many years but are now just gold status. We have stayed at a lot of Marriott's over the years but this one was surely the best concierge lounge we have ever seen. The service here was exceptional & so was the food- free alcohol from 5:30-7:30pm, excellent breakfast also. Plenty of attendants pouring drinks, clearing tables, talking to guests, putting out food- it was a real pleasure.

However, the noise from the construction next door is very loud & as is the noise from a bar located near the hotel

Note to Marriott corporate- The US Marriott's could learn a lot from this concierge lounge as they are generally poor in food quality & service in comparison.

However, the rooms are smaller than normal due to the strange shape building. Also the hotel is 15 years old and needs an updating. The rugs definitely need to be replaced.

Pros:
excellent service & food in concierge lounge
excellent gym & pool area
MRT (subway), right outside the hotel doors
free internet via wi-fi in concierge lounge only
small refrigerator in room

very comfortable beds (especially compared with the rest of SE Asia), beds typical of Marriott quality in the US

good quality towels & toiletries
free bottled water, soda, etc. available 24/7 in concierge lounge
great location on Orchard Rd near shopping

Cons:
rooms need updating, they were updated but not overhauled which they need to be

room small but hotel was not built by the Marriott. rooms are strange shape

no free wi-fi in rooms

expensive- but hey nothing is cheap in Singapore

Food in hotel's restaurants looked outstanding but was rather pricey. However, I think it was probably in line with other hotel restaurants in Singapore & Singapore is much more expensive than the rest of SE Asia.

construction next door from new building going up- noise is constant so be sure & ask for rooms on the other side of the building like rooms ending in 09,11. We didn't hear noise from the building construction but rather from a bar outside the hotel where the noise traveled up & we were on the 16th floor! We were told the building construction would go on for another 2-3 years so beware!

The General Manager came up to the lounge to talk to some long term guests that we got to know & we were introduced to him. After that, he made a point to say hi & talk for a few minutes to us whenever we saw him. I have never seen a general manager in any Marriott so accessible & visible so this was a pleasure.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

stay was short, but comfortable, hotel is located in a central place

  • Liked — its central location
  • Disliked — not enough open spaces
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mukherjeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We stayed in the hotel during New Years, the main reason for the hotel selection was the location. You come out of the hotel and right opposite is Ion Shopping mall (a heaven for shoppers), and just outside is the Orchard MRT (Metro station) and the other stores and malls are just next to the hotel.

Awesome location, right in the center of the cit and on Orchard Road.

However, the service of the hotel was really slow. They did provide whatver required, but took ages to come and that also after several reminders sometimes. The hotel inetriors and rooms are very ok, like a 3-star. The hotel is quite dated and hence not a great place to stay, esp considering the price. Its very expensive.

I would not refer staying there. Its like very expensive with bad interiors and poor service

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank styledestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Another average Marriott International property. Excellent location on Orchard road and beautiful buliding. However rooms were small and not well maintained. Typical of what one would expect from a similar Marriott in the US but not comparable to other similar properties in Singapore within the same price range. Stayed only once, was not thrilled so opted to stay at the Grand Hyatt next door for subsequent stays.
Decent restaurants - nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gktravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I was on a business trip and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. This hotel is extremely conveniently located at the intersection of Orchard Road and Scotts Road. The shopping centres are in close proximity. However, Singapore is not really a shopping destination, and this closeness to shopping centres does not give it an advantage.

This hotel is rather old, and although the rooms have been refurbished in 2007, they did not appear to have been overhauled, and therefore still look very tired. The rooms are also quite small for a 5-star standard.

Earlier reviews have already mentioned that it is close to a construction site on Scotts Road, and if you are staying there, you should ask for a room facing Orchard Road. These rooms also over the swimming pool, which is nice, but apparently there is a bar on the opposite side of the road and this where the problem starts. Music (VERY LOUD MUSIC) from this bar starts from when one would like to go to sleep, at around 10:30pm, and goes on until 1 or 2 am. The sound was so loud that I could hear the music with the TV on. I complaint to the reception, who responded by saying this this was within an acceptable range, and nothing could be done!!!! The Assistant Manager at the reception offered to change the room, but at an extra charge. There goes service. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels, but this is the worst.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty_M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

OK, so the location is good, in Orchard Road opposite the Orchard MRT.

I checked out of the Mandarin Oriental as the PINGING of the lifts was driving me mad at the weekend in the morning. I asked the receptionist at the Marriott for a quiet room away from lift.

OK, so the first room was away form the lifts, but right next to 2 guys with hammer drills - the hotel is slap next to a new tower block going up and the noise will be constant. The hotel is fairly old so the windows let a lot of noise in.

TO cut a long story short it took almost an hour (VERY poor service)to find another room, both I was shown was next to lifts with very loud PINGING.

The rooms are fairly dated, expect to pay S$26 for internet (wired).

One to avoid while the Scotts Road building work continues.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 314 in Singapore
3,072 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#66 of 314 in Singapore
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#27 of 314 in Singapore
2,110 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 314 in Singapore
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#21 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing