We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover in Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #64 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Stopover in Singapore”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Recently stayed at the Grand Mecure Roxy in Singapore on the way home from Europe. Singapore is an amazing place where the locals are super friendly. The hotel room was a bit dated but the hotel location (close to Changi Airport, close to Ferry Terminal to Indonesia, modern air conditioned Shopping Mall right across the road, Local food vendors across the road also) was great. The hotel staff were superb, the bar and pool area was great also. The only down side was the room, as it was in need of refurbishment (we were on the 13th floor). We tried to change rooms but unfortunately were unable to, that said our stay was very pleasant, the hotel staff were fantastic and the location is great. Even though it is not in Marina Bay, or downtown, the cost of taxis to get around was very cheap. All in all, a great place to stay! Singapore rocks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on this fabulous island-state which you grew fond of. The hotel location is really convenient, 15 minutes between Changi airport and city centre with easy access to most tourist destinations in Singapore. The shopping centre right across the hotel also comes in useful to our guests as it provides a variety of shops selling almost everything. We do have some great news for our customers as our guest rooms will soon have a new look after the upgrading and refurbishment projects. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    2,321
    780
    134
    59
See reviews for
1,555
1,321
437
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Accor website had a great offer so when i needed to stay for a couple of days for a month-long trip from Hawaii to France via Singapore, I thought perhaps it would be OK to stay at the Grand Mercure Roxy...again. I was hoping I would not have any issues this time. Well, I was wrong.
Enroute to France, I arrived in Singapore on June 19--and was given a room on the 8th floor, as usual. Still the same old dated furniture and carpet. Upon further inspection, I found a piece of chocolate cake smashed on the door frame of the toilet. On the toilet floor, just behind the door, were a few strands of 'hair'--yuck!! Needless to say, I was quite disappointed again.
I arrived back in Singapore ( from France) on July 12. After a tiring 13 hour flight plus 7 hour stopover, I had hoped not to have any issues with my room. I was wrong, again! You would think that since I had a reservation they would already have a room assigned upon my arrival. Instead I had to wait for at least 25minutes. I told Venool--the front desk clerk who attended to me that I was really tired and if he could give me a nice room, that would be much appreciated. He gives me a room at the very end of the hall--adjacent to the exit/stairs. The room had a single bed and a king bed. I was alone...What was Venool thinking--or maybe he wasn't! I also did not like that it was an adjoining room--so the door leading to the other room had no lock. I was given this same room on my previous stay a couple of years ago and had rejected it.
I had booked these 2 separate stays on a "Stay, Spin & Win" Promotion offer on the Accor website. Anamarie, the front desk clerk from my first stay was pleasant and offered the free 1-day City tour that came with the Promotion, plus the free welcome drink the hotel provides upon arrival. Venool on the hand, did not. I had to remind him about the welcome drink. An addition I appreciated was the nice Filipino bellboy named Edrian. He had a welcoming smile, very helpful with my luggages and was quite apologetic about the room at the end of the hall.
My daughter has urged me to try other hotels in downtown singapore...for some reason, despite the many unhappy incidences, I've been returning to this hotel for the past 7 years.Location being the most ideal for me. But then I can only take so much disappointments...we'll see.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are delighted to learn that you keep on coming back to our hotel despite your previous experiences. We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences that occurred during your recent stay. We are currently starting the upgrading and refurbishment of the Hotel, which should allow you to enjoy nicer rooms in the future. We appreciate your feedback and we will ensure our colleagues at the Front Office and House Keeping receive your comments and input to immediately take action in improving the service quality at all times. We look forward to keep on seeing you again during your next visits to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in Grand Mercure Roxy for stopover (1 night each) from Jakarta to U.S and vice versa. Across the street from the hotel, there is a food court that opens 24/7...it's called Marina Promenade if I'm not mistaken. The rooms we got were simple with basic amenities. We both didn't expect much of the hotel's service, but the employees were generally friendly and quite helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingismyh0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your stopover in Singapore. It is good to know that our colleagues were friendly and helpful when assisting you. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel standards are good and will return again for another stay. Room is very comfortable and breakfast was good while dinner was awesome. The hotel is quite far away from the city central and a shuttle service to Orchard Road is highly recommended. There are plenty of eateries around this area and a great shopping mall across the road. Overall the stay was great and the hotel should continue to maintain or improve further to remain competitive as more new hotel are coming up with good rates and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicepor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and find the quality of our services up to your expectations. It is also a pleasure to know you enjoyed the breakfast and especially the dinner. We will take your feedback into consideration as regards to providing a shuttle service to Orchard. We do have however two complimentary shuttle services to Changi Airport and Paya Lebar MRT Station. Nevertheless, the hotel is surrounded with many places to visit, from East Coast Park with its many activities, beaches and restaurants, to shopping centre and eateries just opposite, not to mention all the places to see behind the hotel as well. We will definitely ensure the quality of our services while constantly improving to serve our guests even better. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Overall the hotel was fine to stay at. The room was a generous size with all the required facilities. Bathroom was clean as was the whole room. The only down side was check in and and check out was a little slow, they didn't seem very fast at the front desk and could have been mroe efficient. I didn't any food there so cant comment on the quality of the meals etc. There is a little kiosk cafe down in the recpetion area which is good for a bottle of water and sandwich on the go. I would stay there again, however it is not central to the CBD area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay with us and that our room quality is up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we apologise for the inconveniences upon check-in and check out. We will surely make certain to enhance the pace of our services during the peak hours at the front desk. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore and hopefully then you can taste the delightful dishes we serve in our restaurants.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and would have to say the room was lovely, it was clean, spacious and modern! The hotel itself was very nice too, although i would say the lobby was a bit small for the amount of people that were usually in there. The concierge staff in particular were very helpful and tried their best to assist you.
The hotel is very close to the airport, however is a bit of a distance from the main city and areas such as marina bay. The taxis in Singapore are very cheap so it shouldn't cost much to get around anyway. Opposite the hotel there is a shopping centre which is very nice and you can find some very cheap clothes in there however if it is the big designer shops you are after then this is not the place.
Overall i would recommend the hotel and would say it is a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TikaMercure, E-commerce Executive at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore. We are very happy to learn you had a pleasant stay with us and that you find the hotel to be very nice, especially the spacious rooms. It is always pleasing to hear that our colleagues at the Concierge desk have been very helpful and able to assist you accordingly. We truly appreciate you recommending Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore as a enjoyable place to stay. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 315 in Singapore
6,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#101 of 315 in Singapore
596 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 315 in Singapore
1,232 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 315 in Singapore
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with DAILY COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing