We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience in Roxy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #65 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    2,238
    761
    130
    55
See reviews for
1,501
1,241
420
866
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

the first time my wife and I stayed here back in 2012 was also for an overnight stay making good of our free gift certificate from Accor Advantage Plus.
This time around the lobby has gotten more cozy, the air conditioning was definitely better and the service smiled more since the last time we stayed here.
Once we got to our room the "old" and "worn" feel we used to have was definitely gone, the room smelled a lot better, the bed was nicer and they definitely did something with the carpeting.

And yes, the smoking area by the pool was a nice touch.

Room Tip: pool view rooms gets better sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedodedo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear dedodedo55,

Thank you very much for the kind review.

We are glad to have you stay with us the second time and it is most delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the positive review and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A much better stay than the first time!

Service level has obviously improved by miles. Check-in was swift and smooth. Staff would proactively came forth to ask if we needed something or if we had been attended to. Room was clean and felt refurbished.

Location is very good for our requirements. Parkway Parade and the Marine Parade Ctrl Hawker Ctr are right across the road. I12 and all the eateries are around the corner with less than 5 mins' walk away. Near enough to the amenities, yet away from noise.

The small swimming pool is a big minus; always crowded. Hotel should consider constructing a much larger free form pool that offers guests a more relaxing dip.

We have enjoyed the staycation nevertheless, and would be happy to return!


  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Fats88,

Thank you for your positive comments.

We are delighted to read of your enjoyable stay with us and that our staff, clean room and location made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Grand Mercure Roxy hotel is opposite Parkway Parade shopping centre and a hawker centre with lots of nice food at affordable price, so it is very convenient to find food at that area. Hotel guests can take bus 36 to Orchard Road too. Complimentary tickets to the Peranakan Museum were given, breakfast and wifi was also provided. There is a complimentary shuttle bus service to Changi Airport, so what more can we ask more?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank fayesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear fayesim,

Thank you very much for the kind compliments.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy in the near future.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Well greet by the staff during check in to this hotel. Service is good. Near changi airport. Location near east side of singapore.

Nearby there is also shopping centre that we can do some shopping and this hotel is near east coast park that we can have a take a walk and see sun set.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightningtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for the positive review on Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you are satisfied with our service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Mercure Roxy recently and found the room and staff to be fantastic.

The swimming pool and sun deck were lovely with a separate pool for small children.

Room rates were excellent and it's proximity to the airport made it a handy base. Mercure have a price guarantee, so rooms were booked through their website. They had fantastic block out curtains (great in helping get our toddler to nap during the day and making sure the morning weren't too early). Regular free airport transfers.

I have to mention Mr. Omelette, breakfast was included in our room rate, a huge ups to the Chef who made our omelets each morning. They were the tastiest I've ever had, and in the two weeks we just spent in 4 and 5 star hotels in south east Asia his were by far the most delicious.

I'd skip the dinner banquet "Feast at East" though. We had it on our first night as we had tired children and just wanted to get something easy. My kids ages 14months and 2.5years hardly ate 2 bites of food before being offered fairy floss. Both toddlers meals were charged at $24each. I don't think I've ever been charged for children under 5 let alone under 2yo eating a buffet style meal before.

The shopping centre across the road was the choice for meals from then on.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvetteski93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Yvetteski93,

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind compliments of our fantastic staff, lovely swimming pool for adults and children and satisfaction of our buffet spread is most delightful to read.

We completed an internal check with regards to your toddlers who are 14 months and 2.5 years being charged $24 each at our restaurant. Our record shows that the amount was not charged for your toddlers but for the 2 other children in your booking that were above the age of 5. Hope this clarifies your queries.

Thank you for selecting Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy and we hope to welcome you back in the near future soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have been reluctant to write this review…..purely for selfish reasons as we didn’t want this Hotel becoming too popular.
We have stayed at the Hotel on at least five different occasions over the past four years. It is truly one of the few Hotels in Singapore that enables an easy stay for families travelling with young children. Singapore is a great place for kids, although they don’t promote this and are not geared up for families as a rule.
I can never understand why Asian Hotels do not build more genuine two bedroom accommodation options. Most families travelling from Australia are desperate for two bedrooms. We stayed in the “junior suite” which enables families to put the kids in the lounge room at bedtime and the parents can close the door and retire to the master bedroom. The room is big enough for a cot and single bed and there is a basic kitchen which works well.
These rooms have recently been updated and are very well done. The Hotel is user friendly and knowing the bus is at the airport to pick you up, when travelling with multiple bags and a pram, is a really nice and valuable touch. As this room is classed as an “executive room” you get access to the executive club which is good for kids and a good source of snacks and drinks.
The hotel whist a short trip rom Orchard Road is still in a great spot. There is a new shopping centre at Katong around the corner, plenty of restaurants and a great shopping centre directly across the road, which has all the food/nappies/chemist/kids rides that travelling families would require.
The reception and Hotel staff are excellent and very friendly. We had a few issues booking online and when we arrived Samantha sorted it out very quickly and was very understanding….which is nice when you’ve got overtired kids needing a sleep and food.
Another great thing about this Hotel is the pool and gym.
This is a true gem in Singapore for families and other Hotels should use it as a benchmark for families.

Regards

Gavin

Room Tip: Get a suite if travelling with kids that has a separate bedroom for the parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Gavin A,

Thank you for your wonderful ‘5 Star’ review of our hotel.

We are delighted to read that your stay is a memorable one, and that you and your family enjoyed our room, gym, swimming pool and convenient location.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Gottschalk
General Manager
Email: Klaus.Gottschalk@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Joo Chiat
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Katong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing