We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #72 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, right on Orchard road. Perfect if you love to shop. Also not far from Orchard/Somerset MRT. They were training new check-in staff when I arrived and I did not have to wait long to check-in or check-out. They were renovating (till end July) so it was noisy between about 8.30am or 9am till about 4-5pm and maybe because of renovations, I found that the water was just warm during these times. Water was hotter at night. They need better designed power sockets. One socket was too close to the top of the desk and if the wire of your plug comes out at the bottom then it won't fit. They had another socket close to a bed but this one the switch was too close to the socket and again hard to fit the plug because the switch was in the way. I had good service from their concierge who were quick to take care of my bags on arrival and departure. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you love shopping because the location is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank xo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,116
    3,788
    1,505
    523
    291
See reviews for
3,079
1,870
452
2,882
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good job. Keep it up. Everything was pleasant about the stay at Mandarin Orchard. Though it was a busy day but didn't have to wait much for the room which was booked earlier. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manas Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_Orchard_SG, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Manas M,

Thank you for your 5* review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore!

I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were met; at times during busy periods the hotel can be full and at all times an attempt is made to keep waiting times to a minimum; thank you for your patience.

Thank you for making Mandarin Orchard Singapore your hotel of choice and your valuable patronage; I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for a short weekend getaway at Mandarin Orchard and everything was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel. We booked in advance directly via their easy to use website and chose the club floor which suited our preference for some peace and quiet (no kids below 12 allowed on that floor) and none of the maddening crowds.

The room was to expectation and as advertised, the mattress provided a great sleep and the room was super quiet. We were in #2908 which was at the end of the corridor however on the Friday night there was some commotion with the maintenance crew moving their equipment which momentarily woke me up.

Complimentary/free WIFI is strong throughout the hotel and they also provide 2 desktops with printer on the club floor.

We particularly enjoyed the shopping and restaurants located on floor 1-4 and we never miss a visit to Ma Maison for their Hungarian Tonkatsu (last call at 9pm). Although strictly not part of the hotel, it's in the same building.

Breakfast, and afternoon teas were much appreciated. We never made it for the evening cocktails as we were out all day but after a long day out shopping the room was a welcome sight.

Furnishing is modern, room is clean and everything works as intended. I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VinceChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_Orchard_SG, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear VinceChoo,

Thank you for your 5* review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore! I really appreciate you taking the time to give your comprehensive feedback.

I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your expectations were met. I am especially pleased the Wi-Fi service was good since this is now complimentary across the hotel thanks to feedback like yours.

One of the key benefits to the hotel is that it offers direct access to the premium shopping mall Mandarin Gallery below, which, as you rightly mentions offers additional restaurant outlets to compliment the ones in the hotel; thank you for the tip on which is your favourite!

Thank you again for making Mandarin Orchard Singapore your hotel of choice, I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is located near with mall, so my mother (more than 60 years old) was not tired walking around. The process of check in and check out are quick. The carpet in room should be changed because it was look old.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravellerW9622HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very convenient to go shopping around Orchard. Nothing special with the service or breakfast. Check-out takes more than 10 minutes. Very small area at the lobby. Suitable for business. The shower room is quite old and has black spots inside the silicone (for connecting shower box), so it looks dirty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Varapan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here while renewing an Indonesian work visa. The Embassy is nearby.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I got checked in quickly.
The room was very nice. No complaints. The concierge was very helpful.
The swimming pool was a bit small but c'est la vie eh?
For the shopper, this is a good place to stay. The bottom 4 floors of the hotel are shopping. I am not a shopper but there is a funky little food store in the building that sells a good selection of foreign microbrewery beers and some very "funky" cheese. I bit off more than I could chew here with some serious "blue"...
For the budget minded eater like me, there is a McDonald's and a Starbucks just outside about 2 minutes walk away.
The airline lost my baggage (again) due to a tight connection in Hong Kong so I wandered across the road and bought some clothes at Tommy Hilfiger. I've never paid so much for underwear in my lift. The shirt was $119 SGD but is now my revered favorite.

Room Tip: If you want shopping stay here. It's a bit pricey, but then so is the rest of Singapore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_Orchard_SG, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Paul K,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore, I am delighted you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed your stay.

I love the hotel being at the heart of Orchard Road, allowing direct access to the mall from the guest floors.

It is wonderful to hear you had a good dining experience, and thank you for the tip about the cheeses!

Whilst the loss of your luggage from the airline must have been frustrating, it sounds like you have got a great new purchase; enjoy your shirt!

Thank you for your patronage and I hope there will be another opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am very disappointed about the room service. I was not informed that rooms nearby are under renovation which are very noisy. In addition, it takes more than 3 hours to find new rooms. Therefore, I arrived the hotel at 1 pm but could move in around 6 pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_Orchard_SG, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Tk F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel; I am sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion. Whilst at times it may take longer to accommodate special requests or the hotel is running with high occupancy, the hotel has failed to deliver; I am sorry this was the case.

I have taken your feedback and shared it with the team so future guests may be informed of any possible noise during business hours and that alternatives are made if specific rooms are not available at the time.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and helping to continually improve the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#85 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#66 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing