We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for a city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Ranked #48 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good for a city centre hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed for four nights and paid an extra sixty Singapore dollars for upgrade, well worth it,room then include breakfast, some laundry and internet

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,370
    1,903
    717
    244
    123
See reviews for
1,113
1,839
312
1,406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed at the Marina Mandarin for 2 nights on the way home to Sydney from Europe. We were very tired after a long journey and looking for a relaxing and comfortable hotel to stay in. The Marina Mandarin met our expectations. We arrived in the late afternoon from the airport (taxi around $S25 from the airport) and check in at the hotel was fast and efficient. We had booked a triple room but found on arrival that there are no triple rooms in the hotel which was disappointing, although it was only a few minutes after arriving in our room that a roll away bed was brought in. It was only just big enough for our teenage son but quite comfortable. More calls to reception to fix a problem with the TV and the safe were responded to very quickly. The toom was comfortable and quiet.
The huge hotel atrium is awesome, with birds singing each morning and piped music, it sounds like you are in the jungle and is actually very relaxing. Breakfast was included in our package and it was one of the best breakfasts we had during our holiday, with extensive choices to suit all tastes. I can highly recommend the day spa where I had an excellent massage and the pool was also particularly good, with a large, clean pool and plenty of sun lounges.
Other travellers have mentioned the location of the hotel- it is next door to the huge Suntec shopping mall, and maybe 10 minutes walk to the Merlion. Really nothing in Singapore is very far away, although the heat often makes the idea of getting a taxi more attractive. Taxis in Singapore are inexpensive and plentiful.
While in Singapore we very much enjoyed the Night Safari ($S25 by taxi) and dinner at Clake Quay ($S10 by taxi).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of December on a Singapore Stop over holiday on our way to Phuket. The hotel entrance/reception area and Atrium are really lovely.

Staff at the concierge level were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We arrived at 5.30 in the morning and the gentleman at Reception booked us into our rooms straight away which was a huge bonus being very tired from our flight over.

We were on the 7th floor which we requested, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms are a little dated but they served our purpose. The hotel is very central especially with the shopping mall that is connected to the hotel and also with the Suntec mall right opposite, we were spoilt with choice for places to eat.

There is also a lovely pool on the 5th floor if you just want to relax and always someone available to help you with towels,sun loungers etc. Overall we were very impressed with the staff at the Hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidays044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed for two nights on our return to the UK from Australia. As we payed the same rate as we did for our room at another hotel on the way out, we had expected the same quality of rooms/service etc. Unfortunately we did not get it! We arrived late at night between midnight & 1am. There was no one to meet our car or to take our cases to the concierge desk until the bell boy saw us a few minutes later after appearing from somewhere behind the scenes. Our room was disappointing for a deluxe room - carpets were not looking great and the dust & dirt behind the entrance door was not acceptable. We complained the next morning and were moved to another room with an apology. Unfortunately the new room was as bad, in fact the dust and dirt behind the bedside tables was as bad if not worse! Towels were worn thin and our sheets had holes in them. The hotel has obviously lost its sparkle and is getting very tired as some other reviewers have mentioned. We are not people who normally complain but we did have to mention our concerns on leaving. We have had an email on our return saying that "they were sorry that our stay was not entirely satisfactory, and have shared our comments with the respective teams for their improvement. They hope that we will give them another opportunity to be of service again and look forward to welcoming us back". I think we will give it a miss next time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Enjoyed three nights at the Marina Mandarin in December 2009, including NYE. The staff were always friendly, efficient and obliging. The deluxe room was fantastic with all the amentities most business and leisure travellers would want. A late check out was no problem. The breakfast buffet was extremely varied and well presented - easy to overindulge! The hotel enjoys direct access to the shopping mall and main attractions can be accessed on foot, by subway (nearest is City Hall MRT) or by taxi very easily. The concierge is knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel has very good amenities overall and operates in an effortlessly smooth manner. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

decided to check into meritus Mandarin, also known as Marina mandarin.
We got a free room upgrade, and stayed on high floor overlooking city hall area of singapore. The work table is very spacious and great for working, and cabinets plenty (esp good if you are in for a long term stay). The lounge is great, with good jazz singers and piano, the best part is the sound of birds chipping away in the morning, echo through the big hollow structure, really makes me feel like I am in a rainforest, despite the fact that it is a concrete jungle. I couldn't get to the duty manager to request for possible late check out, and I had to wait really long on the phone. Further to that, I had to be transferred 4 times before I lost my cool and they finally agreed not to transfer me or put me on hold. Paid SGD$260 or US$185 (after tax of abt 17%, that is 10% service and 7% VAT). The high ceiling is the best draw, allowing sunshine to come through. And location is great, just beside Marina Square shopping mall.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The entrance to the hotel is fairly grand, with reception on the 4th floor (you enter at street level with lift access). There are bell boys waiting to take your luggage. Check-in was handled fairly efficiently and we were pleasantly surprised to see not only our room had been upgraded, but our booking now also included breakfast. I’ m not entirely sure why or who was responsible (could have bee our tour operator back in England, as we’d had to change out booking on the day of travel due to their mistake). However, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth…

Out flight from Australia meant we’d be checking in around midnight. Incidentally, there were plenty of taxis outside the airport, which got us to the hotel for around SD $20 including tip (£9.30). I seem to remember our travel agent quoting us at least £60 return for a coach transfer, so if ever I were to return I’d get a taxi on spec at the airport again.

Anyway, after our check-in we were a little dusty from our Oz flight, so decided to use the voucher for a free drink we’d been given on check-in – 1 voucher per room, not per person. I’d heard Singers was expensive and our bill came to about SD $18 (£8.37) for half a Tiger beer – lucky we got a free one.

After our drink we went to our room, which we were very pleased with. Our room was on the 17th floor and was spacious with a large super king (I think) bed, modern furniture and tastefully decorated. The large bathroom was lovely, with Jack and Jill sinks and powerful modern shower.

The breakfast was included in our rate. I seem to remember it was around SD $40 pp and I assume that doesn’t include a service charge, which seems to be a pretty standard thing in Singapore. There was a decent selection of Asian and European food on offer and something to suit most tastes. I had cheese omelette, followed by some fruit although on the second day the selection was a little more limited. I guess this was because we arrived closer to finishing time.

The location of the hotel was pretty good for our needs. Raffle’s Hotel, where we stopped to do the tourist bit and had a Singapore Sling, was about a 10 minute walk away. On the way, we found roadside restaurants where we had chicken and rice for a couple of Singapore dollars. The hotel is right next to a shopping mall, but then again it seems you are never far from shopping in Singapore.

We had a great night with some friends that live in Singapore at the Marriott Hotel. The Hotel offers a buffet in its Marriott Café (http://marriottcafe.singaporemarriott.com), which is very extensive with a fine selection of seafood and meats. The cost was around SD $65 pp for the buffet, or you could upgrade to include wine and beer for around SD $90 pp.

Getting around in Singapore by taxis is fairly cheap and easy. We caught a few taxis and everywhere seemed to be no more than SD $10.

Apologies for the approx. SD amounts mentioned above, but I didn’t get around to writing this review sooner and November seems a long time ago now. They are on the whole fairly accurate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
6,853 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
5,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Conrad Centennial Singapore
Conrad Centennial Singapore
#23 of 306 in Singapore
4,155 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Mandarin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mandarin Singapore

Property: Marina Mandarin Singapore
Address: 6 Raffles Boulevard,Marina Square, Singapore 039594, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#44 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Mandarin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An acclaimed award winning five star luxury hotel in the heart of the city, Marina Mandarin Singapore offers breathtaking views of of the Marina Bay and financial district, as well as convenient access to the Marina Square Shopping Mall, and is minutes away from Sands Expo & Convention Center and Suntec Convention & Exhibition Centre. Directly opposite The Esplanade, Singapore's performing arts centre, the hotel is also within walking distance to attractions such as Gardens by the Bay and the Singapore Flyer, and is perfectly situated right on the trackside of the annual Singapore Grand Prix Formula One race ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Mandarin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mandarin Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Singapore Mandarin
Marina Mandarin Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing