We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore Beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #78 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,455 - 2,461 of 6,438 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Novotel Clarke Quay and the accommodation and service were fantastic. I am a member of Accor advantage plus and took advantage of the 2 for 1 meal deals as eating in the immediate area Clarke Quay is very expensive. The food in the Hotel was great, lots to chose from and variety was great. Including lots of Asian food. The location was excellent lots to see and do around the Quays and also we could see The Gardens on The Bay from our room. Taxi fares are cheap compared to Australia so not a problem getting around.

Room Tip: We heard no noise from our room. ask for views of the Bay area we were on level 22. Only noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The saving grace of this hotel is the rooms. Although the décor is as expected for a mainstream 4* hotel the rooms are larger than I expected and finished to quite a high standard. That said, there were some minor quirks – the lighting system in our room was perhaps slightly faulty or maybe just overly complicated. There was a lighting control panel by the door and by the bed, but certain light switches would only work from one of these panels. The bathroom was on the small side although this was largely due to the generously sized rain shower which was great. If the a/c had been off for a few hours while we were out for the day there did tend to be a fairly strong smell of drains in the bathroom but this went away once the air had been circulating again for a while.

The room was well cleaned every day and fresh water replenished. Some teas to use would have been appreciated rather than only providing instant coffee.

Although the hotel was not in any way run down or grotty it did fall short of our expectations. This was because when I arrived at 8pm after a long flight my room was not ready, the check-in assistant was tapping away on his computer for about 15 minutes while I just stood there, before finally conceding that my room wasn’t ready and offering me a non-alcoholic ‘welcome drink’ at the rather unrelaxing bar in the foyer. At this point I was running late to meet friends for dinner which was unfortunate. A similar scenario presented itself at check-out where I waited at least 20 minutes to hand my keys back while the Concierge or GM hovered nervously around the queue doing nothing that really helped anyone out.

The hotel is accessed via a lift from ground level to reception, and then another lift to the rooms. The lifts had a habit of the doors closing on people if you didn’t get in within seconds, and people often found themselves nearly getting squashed by the doors because they didn’t seem to bounce back open. There was also frequently a queue to get into the lift from reception/foyer to ground level. The foyer was always very busy and not a pleasant area to have to pass through to get in/out of the building.

The pool is very nice, although we were only able to use it once as every other time it was full of families and there were no beds/lounges available for use, and no possibility of having a ‘quiet’ swim without being splashed or crashed into by all the children playing. There was a dividing rope down the middle of the pool, if this was meant to be a divider for recreational use/lap swimming or to mark out a children’s section there was no staff member there to enforce this. The gym is in a pokey little room in the basement where the a/c didn’t seem to work as effectively as other areas of the hotel – I only used it once.

The staff try hard but seem to miss the mark, they just don’t seem trained enough to cope with the volume of people at this hotel, or maybe it’s just that the hotel is understaffed and the staff are overstretched.

Lastly – although I was lucky enough to get free wi-fi on a promotional offer this hotel usually charges for wi-fi. Like all big hotel chains people pay a decent amount of money for these rooms and wi-fi should be included. I arrived at this hotel having travelled throughout Asia and staying in much more basic hotels all of which offered free wi-fi. The wi-fi connection was seamless though.

Would I stay again? for the price I paid no I wouldn’t, there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebrin436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGBossino, General Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear EBrin436,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are truly delighted to hear that you were thoroughly satisfied with the size of our rooms and our shower facility. However, we are deeply sorry to hear that the issues you have highlighted in your review above.

At Novotel, our main goal is to ensure our guests’ satisfaction with every aspect of the stay thus every action, effort or step taken by our team is to achieve this goal. Consequently, we will ensure to contact you personally via email so that we can better understand your experience at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay. In the meantime, kindly rest assured that your comments will be used as a motivating tool for our team to find areas we may need to improve on.

Your comments have also been escalated to the Department Managers concerned and we will step-up on our training efforts to ensure that all our new team members provide only the highest level of service to all of our guests.

Once again, we are sorry for your less than satisfactory stay. As mentioned in our previous e-mail, we will be in touch with you again shortly.


With Best Regards,
Kevin Bossino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a great location - my sister and Mum and daughters went for a weekedn of shopping and this location was perfect.. After getting home from a full day of shoppping :) eating and bars were nice and close!! The service and team was outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my third hotels in Singapore for this trip. And the last one here is an upgraded from iBis and Hotel 81. This Novotel is in Clarke Quay area, which you can reach bus and MRT in 8-10 minutes walk. (Don't walk along the river, which will take longer)

The view is superb. Down there you'll see the famous party area of Singapore -- Clarke Quay. You can enjoy ridiculous prices of beers and wines here. The room is not perfectly sound proofed. I can still hear some music from the street in some moments, but it's okay for me.

Central department store is nearby. 7-11 is just under the hotel. Wi-fi is bad and slow. Service is good. I didn't try dinner buffet since I visited at 8:00PM and see only one small oyster on cold area.

The room is quite big. But I don't like the way that the lobby is on 7th floor. You have to go down from your room to the lobby and change to another elevator to the ground. (and both elevators are on different sides) And staffs are great.

If you love party, stay here. If you love shopping and more convenience location, look elsewhere (especially if you wanna take MRT to the airport -- long walk, change MRT line, etc.)

Ohh ... Bak Kut Teh near the front of Clarke Quay on the way to the hotel is good and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steammilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGBossino, General Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear steammilk,


We value your feedback and are very much delighted to know that you had an over-all pleasant stay with us.

At Novotel, we make every effort to ensure our guests’ full satisfaction with every aspect of the stay hence please rest assured that your comments about the noise levels and internet services have been highlighted to the relevant department heads for further review and constructive action.

Thank you for you patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


With Best Regards,
Kevin Bossino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KGBossino, General Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We could not fault the hotel. The room was high quality and very quiet. Good location for nearby restaurants. MRT 5 minutes away
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Free wi fi in rooms and free computer usage in the lobby.
Would highly recommend
Colin and Erica Green Tasmania Australia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#60 of 319 in Singapore
4,681 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 319 in Singapore
3,231 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 319 in Singapore
8,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
#42 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £124 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing