We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asian luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Asian luxury”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a beautiful, first-class, international hotel which manages to do that most rare of things, that is, it retains an Asian 'feel' about it, though the decor and the design of everything. You wake up in so many hotels and feel that you could be anywhere - not so in the Mandarin Oriental. This is exquisite under-stated modern-in-a-classic-way South East Asian design. The staff and the service are first-class - friendly and informed. It's not cheap, but it's worth it - for my money it beats the faceless international chains hands down.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour-facing room, particularly if there is an event on in Marina Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,765
    1,139
    321
    109
    67
See reviews for
1,032
2,157
314
1,248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We actually checked into the Mandarin Oriental after deciding to move out of Marina Bay Sands Hotel due to its appalling service.

My wife was keeping her fingers crossed that Mandarin Oriental would nice disappoint, and not only were we pleasantly surprised, we ended up having one of our best stays there ever!

The interior of Mandarin is just impressive. The rooftop swimming pool is to die for. The service is unbelievable. Everyone is smiling, service is fast. Its location is central. Will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Try the pool on the roof. Simply breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked a standard room in connection with Singapore Airlines as one night stopover from our trip back from Australia. This gave us the possibility to have an extended checkout time till 18:00 on the second day as flights to europe leave around midnight. I stayed in this hotel more than a decade ago for business reasons and therefore I'm quite aware that oriental hospitality is absolutely legendary. Well, upon checking-in we've been offered a free upgrade to a "city suite" located on the 8th. floor of the building. Unbelivable: as we walked into the room we found ourselves located in the equivalent of a luxury 2 rooms contemporary city flat with a living room, a bedroom, two separate bathrooms, bath tub, shower and a separate dress room. Now who wants to leave on the next day? In the evening we had a great dinner in Cherry Garden cantonese restaurant inside the hotel. A huge surprise was the breakfast buffet on the next morning. Mandarin Oriental managed to wonder me again! Now the buffet features the largest selection of standard, continental, asian, indian food I ever witnessed. Square meters and square meters of breakfast proposals to choose from, individually introduced to you by the waitresses as you walk into the room in an example of perfect asian organisation.
Amazing.
BTW take time to visit the pool with bay view on 5th floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We adored this place - we stayed here on our honeymoon (it was my second visit as I'd stayed previously with work). It's huge, not the usual sort of boutique hotels that we choose. The staff are superb, the quality of the rooms and furnishing is wonderful, the food in the restaurants (particularly the wonderful Dolce Vita) excellent - fantastic. The views from some of the rooms are just fantastic - see our photographs! It's also very well located - the Singapore Flyer, Marina Bay casino, Raffles and Clarke / Boat Quay are all within walking distance.

My only gripe was that, on booking, I asked for a rate including the buffet breakfast (we did for everywhere we stayed on our honeymoon). I got a corporate rate (as I'd stayed there before with my employer) but, on arrival, I was told this was not included. It's a shame as the buffet breakfast is like nothing I've ever seen - phenomenal variety and quality, but they were insistent that my rate did not include it. I know I asked for it, and it was possibly just a rate mix-up, but frustrating none the less.

Irrespective of the rate issue, we'd definitely return - a flagship jewel for Mandarin Oriental, and a wonderful, relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary by size, for any given floor. Corner / end rooms seem the biggest (although even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foggy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed for 3 night at this lovely hotel last week - it has a very nice atrium and the main lifts are bubble lifts - very nice indeed!

Rooms are very well appointed, just nice and there is a "cascading" balcony design to it. Located at the heart of the "newish" city center (Marina Bay CBD area), it's very convenient for the business traveler working in at the Suntec City area (and also if you're into malls there are 2 (or 3) malls located in its area. But is not quite at the center "center" of the city so make travel/walking allowances when planning (remember however that Singapore is NOT a huge city and I recommend walking all around!)

The only strange this was the bathroom is a little elongated - its got everything really, but looks long! :)

The TV system was also a bit of a mystery to get going but it was relatively simple really so read the TV remote instruction sleeve - seriously, it's something one should do before calling the engineering folks! (I learned my lesson there - it was SUPER SIMPLE!!)

If you are able to get a bayview room, please do so as you would catch a most beautiful view of the seaview and the CBD skyline. So worth it!

I will be back again soon and will hopefully be able to upload/update with photos and possibly try the food there!

Room Tip: There is a hawker food center just across the street from the hotel next to the Esplanade mall - mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardBedVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a family trip to Singapore and all I can say about the Mandarin Oriental is "simply breathtaking....." Hotel staff went all the way to make sure that we were comfortable throughout our stay there. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded from a Mandarin grand room to a junior suite at their highest level floor which was an unexpected surprise. The rooms were huge and very luxurious. My wife and son really loved the bed. Very comfortable and the bed coverings were extremely soft and pleasing. We had breakfast at "the Melt" every morning and the food selection was huge and very satisfying. My wife commented that she kept looking forward to returning to our hotel after spending our days outside. Hotel is not cheap, but what you get is more than what you invest at this wonderful hotel. Oh, by the way, the fitness center is marvelous and the swimming pool is a "must try"! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icefresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I just loved this hotel I have never experienced such fantastic service. When I left my room in the morning and pressed button please make up my room staff magically appeared and cleaned room.Concierge was just exceptional so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was unbeliavable the food options would suit everyone. Turn down service in the evening was again magical no matter what time you went out the room service was completed. Hotel staff greeted you by name how did they remember. This hotel has the best customer service I have ever experienced

Room Tip: Ocean room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally135stargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,341 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,667 reviews
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing