We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know what to fault.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I don't know what to fault.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have recently stayed one night in the City Suite and had a wonderful experience. If there is a chance, I will stay here again.

Service: Check-in to the hotel is fast. If you meet a staff at the corridor, he/she will greet you. The service at the Melt Cafe is good too. Empty plates are cleared fast.

Room: Very spacious with a huge L-shaped sofa that can probably sit 6 people, comes with a 32 inch LCD TV, iPod docker and DVD player. If you bring a laptop, you can plug it to the TV with the cables that is provided in-room. Welcome fruits are provided. Bedroom also comes with LCD TV, iPod docker and DVD player. The bed is very comfortable. The corridor to the toilet is also quite spacious which has a big cupboard, some drawers and luggage storage area, which can store about 2 big luggages and a few small ones. Toilet comes with a separate shower area and a bathtub, provided with bath salt and toiletries. Later then we know that the suite is 73 square metres in size.

View: Not much of a view for the room we stay as it is facing Suntec City.

Breakfast: Very delicious breakfast buffet. The breakfast closes at 10:30am. We went for the breakfast at 10am and the staff are still preparing new food to replenish those that has finished. At 10:30am, the staff went to each table to inform us that they are closing soon but we can grab our food first and continue eating while they keep the food. The waffle is one of my favourite as it's crispy!

Gym: Upon entering, we are given a bottle of water and a towel each. The staff is attentive enough to know that I have changed to another machine after one workout and came to ask whether I need her assistance. In a typical gym, there will be shared TV and the volume not very audible. In Oriental, the TV is on the machine itself which is on the same screen as the workout setting. You can toggle the screen to view between the TV and the workout status, or show both at the same time. Earphone is provided for use to watch TV but request it from the staff at the gym and return it after use. The TV programmes come in many languages with channels like HBO, Star Movies, etc. If that is not enough, you can plug your iPhone or iPod to the machine.

Swimming Pool: We didn't use the pool and it is very crowded during the day. What makes this pool special is the sunbath chairs in the pool which means, the chair is half dipped in the pool and you can sit on the chair to sunbath and also partially submerge in water. Beside the pool are sheltered daybeds that can fit 2 person each. These beds comes with a iPod docker, self-controlled fan, and speakers so you can listen to your favourite music at the privacy of your own day bed.

Overall, we are very satisfied with everything that the hotel has offered and will recommend to anyone who wants to stay at this hotel but it is pricey.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the high floor so your view will not be blocked by any surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,818
    1,151
    321
    109
    67
See reviews for
1,041
2,186
318
1,265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,091)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Having stayed at one of the other Mandarin hotels on previous visits, this was our first time at the Oriental and we were delighted with our choice. Other reviewers have commented on the situation - very convenient and well located with great views from the higher floors. What we particularly appreciated was the quiet elegance of the whole Oriental experience. Nothing is overstated, not a thing jars the eye or the ear. After a day out in the city, the hotel is a blissfully peaceful place to return to.

Our room on the 18th floor was spacious and very well appointed. Everything was meticulously placed and spotlessly clean - with the notable exception of one very large handprint on the mirrored bathroom door! The cool, fresh bedlinen and very comfortable bed gave us good nights' sleep and we appreciated the tea tray too.

I'd describe the breakfast offer in Melt as nothing short of spectacular! So many choices, the range and variety of food, all presented beautifully made a great start to the day. Just when I thought I'd discovered every corner of the buffet, I'd turn a different way and discover a whole new section of fresh fruit or bakery to tempt me.

Finally, the staff are universally delightful. Polite and professional, their principal concern was always our comfort and enjoyment and a smile was always part of their response.

We would stay here again without question and recommend the Mandarin Oriental wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I've been travelling a lot over the past 7 months for business and I've been to Singapore several times in the past few months, staying at a few different hotels. The Mandarin Oriental is an excellent hotel and for the business traveller it really doesn't matter much that the location is a little out of the way from the main shopping locations like Orchard Road and given the size of Singapore and the cheap taxi fares the location shouldn't really matter much to the vacation traveller either.

This MO hotel is excellent, it may not have the dazzling lobby of some 5 star hotels but the service and rooms are top class. The staff were always very friendly and willing to assist and I had no issue what so ever with the room or facilities.

Value for money is reasonably good, service is 5 star, bed comfort not the best but very comfortable.

Room Tip: With all major hotels, if they have a club option, take it, its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWGT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A return visit to this beautiful hotel confirms it has maintained the highest standards of service and comfort. Beautiful views across the city harbour from many of the rooms. We stayed in a club level room which was wonderful. The only negative I'd like to pass on it the new stringent enforcement of the the club lounge dress code. Previously it had been 'okay' to wear shorts in the morning and afternoon in the club lounge. This is now strictly not allowed. For us this spoils one of the main perks of the club lounge, namely a place where we can meet other members of our party before heading out into town, where shorts would be the normal attire when on holiday. I think in the evenings it is entirely appropriate to have a dress code, but for the day time this was not a good thing for us. Others may be affected differently

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scruffybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The staff ranging from valet, concierge, front desk, room service, and managers were exceptionally pleasant and professional. Another distinguishing attribute is the diversity of staff of varying nationalities. It is a remarkable demonstration of the hotel's commitment to cater for an international clientele. Upon arrival, my room was being meticulously checked - I told the staff not to worry about my being there and to keep working. Everything from the plug of the bath to the alignment of toiletries were arranged to perfection.

The most amazing feature of my room - the view of the Marina Bay! The extra comfortable bed provides great respite after ardious business travel.

The food at Melt - The World Cafe, and Morton's Steakhouse are another good reason to stay here.

For someone whom time is always of the essence, the only thing that I wished which could be changed about this hotel is its location to the MRT. It's about a 10 minute stroll away - no worries for holiday makers though.

However, everything else makes up for this small disadvantage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Recently returned from a stay in Singapore and can't' say enough good things about this hotel and Singapore in general. First the hotel is fabulous. The staff is so well trained that although the hotel is large, they make you feel like the only guest. The staff at the Melt restaurant was amazing! They knew our name after the first meal and couldn't do enough for us the rest of the stay. If you can get an ocean or harbor view room you are in for a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor or ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
594 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a great 3 day stopover in Singapore and our hotel was outstanding. From the check in, to the beautiful appointed room with views over the marina we could not ask for more. Staff were outstanding throughout the hotel, from those who served us High tea, to the breakfast area in Melt - World cafe.
However we celebrated my birthday on a sunday in the Cherry Garden which serves cantonese cuisine and I have to admit it was one of the most memorable of occasions of my life! The hostess who greeted us provided a level of service I can only rate as outstanding!!!! And the Dim sum...well it's the best I have ever eaten and I have been to lots of Dim sum restaurants and the quality and choice was amazing.
This hotel deserves its rating... No 1 in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 312 in Singapore
21,598 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,128 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,733 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Mandarin Oriental, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing