We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Service”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were transiting through Singapore to Koh Samui and stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Singapore for three nights.

We were greeted by the most friendly staff at drop off and this continued all the way to the Front Desk where we were greeted by a young lady who began our check in. As we are a family of 6 we had 2 rooms and although not together they were on the same floor. With my children's ages this was no issue.

Daniel at the front office was very professional,thorough and informative. A great first impression!!

We were escorted to our rooms by to young ladies (2 Rooms) who gave us a quick tour checked if we needed anything else and left us to our own devices. A great touch. The rooms (City Suite) are furnished at what I would call the top end, all of very high quality and tastefully decorated.

The restaurants at this hotel are many with Melt being our pick, and the International Buffet night being an absolute must!! The staff were fantastic each morning and paid particular attention to you if you were staying more than one night. A special mention to both Wai Meng, and Jumel who were fantastic. Wai Meng took the time to chat with us, give us shopping advice and always used our names. Very impressed.

We were looking at Marina Bay Sands as another alternative but I am very glad we chose this option. I can honestly say that I could not fault this hotel. From start to finish we were impressed. This will be my Hotel in Singapore when next we visit!!!

Room Tip: City Suites are huge!!! including a generous sitting room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaffyDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,811
    1,150
    321
    109
    67
See reviews for
1,040
2,185
318
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I stay at a lot of 5 star hotels around the world and love some and am sorely disappointed. Of all the hotels we've stayed at, this takes the cake when it comes to service. Despite being a fairly large hotel, my wife and I felt special the entire time.

We were there Jan 2-5 for our anniversary. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolates. Everyone knew us by name.The breakfast was impeccable. Everyone from the doormen to the managers were excellent.

I have never stayed at any other Mandarin, but because of this visit I assure you I will be staying at another.

To put my review into perspective: I spend a lot of time on TripAdvisor. Pick my hotels through all of your advice and am very picky when it comes to service.

Pros: Service, hotel view, breakfast, beds were amazing

Cons: The lobby isn't the most grand or large (but honestly its still a very nice entrance).

Room Tip: Pay for the view of the bay. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farshid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Met with a very warm welcome at reception and was immediately shown up to the room for check-in and paper work in the room not at the front desk which is great after a 12 hour flight and I wish more hotels would do the same. The breakfast buffet is world class and has an extensive high quality selection. The lunch buffet is equally good and the Italian restaurant by the pool is equally good. Front facing rooms have amazing views. My two issues are - firstly the room lighting is inadequate and too dark to read anywhere except at the desk and secondly the Concierge is too quick to pass you off to get you away from the desk (I was directed to a city bus tour that did not arrive for an hour as he failed to point out the start time). Overall a very solid business hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Overall a comfortable hotel with typically polite Singaporean hospitality and clean, well kept rooms.

Lobby: B. Clean, spartan, contained, and well kept. Unlike a lot of hotels with an open and spacious lobby this one is a bit more contained. The lifts are nearby - what's interesting is the space opens up on the 4t and 5th floors where the meetings rooms, restaurants, and exit to the pool and gym facilities are. So, a bit of an odd configuration but it works. Lobby staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room: B. Clean, well decorated, good space, desk with internet, separate shower and bath. In rooms mini-bar was well stocked. Hotel provides daily water bottles at no charge. I had a bit of trouble figuring out the lights but honestly didn't put a lot of work into it. Used the master switch at the entrance all the time rather than attempting to figure out out to turn off lighting individually.

Gym/Pool: A-. About 8 treadmills, 4 bikes, a set of weight machines and a squat rack. Well equipped, well kept, very clean. Staff was friendly and knowledgable; handed you a towel and water bottle when checking in. Additional water bottles and fruit available. On the pool, while I didn't use it you'll see I did take a photo. Very beautiful and well used with cozy cabana's all around. Wish I'd had the time to enjoy it!!!

Restaurants: A - Only restaurant I used was "The Melt" for Breakfast. Very nice buffet with everything you could want. Two omelet stations, belgian waffles, and more. Full American, Indian, European, and Japanese style stations. They had it all. Service was amazing. After the first day the staff remembered not only where we sat the day prior but also greeted us by name. Amazing! Note there are other restaurants on-site, including a Morton's Steakhouse. I can't comment on these other venues since I didn't use them.

Location: B - 10 minute walk to the Marina Bay Sands Hotel, Mall, and Convention Center and right on Marina Bay. Everything is close in Singapore so location is typically not an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Great hotel, expensive but worth it. Amazing panoramic view at Marina Bay Sands, Merlion & Singapore flyer, both awesome day and night. Good in-room dining service, fast and delicious. Best bed I ever sleep at :-) soft & comfortable like cloud.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asleptsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

At the beginning of our 2 week Singapore/Bali trip we spent 3 nights at the mandarin oriental and in the end of the journey we spent 1 night at the marina bay sands... because of their pool. having seen both i have to say that they are both great. the MBS pool is definitely unique.. the pool area of the mandarin oriental is beautiful. you have a wonderful view over the whole marina including marina bay sands hotel, the egg-shell like museum, fullerton hotel etc. etc. The staff around the pool is very very kind, the italian restaurant at the pool side is delicious. well and the rest of the hotel; it's a good 5* hotel. For that price you find a few of those. but not with this location, not with this pool. i am sure there are some hotels that are slightly nicer, maybe a bit more modern, design or stylish in singapore.. but i'm quite certain that the MO has the best pool and the best view.. ups.. almost forgot... the breakfast buffet is not cheap.. but it's the probably the best with the most variety i've ever seen... absolutely amazing (and; normally i do NOT eat breakfast except at MO Singapore).

Room Tip: a room with view over the marina is more expensive but worth it... the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilibern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

It is one of the best and value for money, It is in heart of the town and good in all respects. Basically best for frequent travellers.I had been to this hotel several times and it sounds very nice to be there.

Room Tip: Should prefer it for busienss travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,572 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,114 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,723 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing