We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding! Another great stay at the Mandarin Oriental” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #16 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Oustanding! Another great stay at the Mandarin Oriental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Overall the hotel location, service, food & facilities are great! The hotel is situated within 10 min walk of Marina bay Sands & its fantastic shopping mall. It’s also close to several MRT stations. At night you can stroll around the area, there are lots of bars & restaurants within walking distance. One Fullerton is only 10 min walk.

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for a total of 6 nights during Christmas & after New Year’s. Our recent stay was our second/third visit to the hotel staying in a Club Harbor view room on the Club floor.

The service and food, especially in the club lounge is always great, the staff is very attentive. Along with the Italian and Chinese restaurants at the hotel that you would struggle in Singapore to find better restaurants for each cuisine (see my separate reviews on the restaurants).

The hotel pool is amazing; it has fantastic views of the Marina bay area. Service by the pool attendants was 5 stars, they were always there to help find a lounger/cabana, and constantly topped up glasses of ice water that was provided along with a cold towel.The gym is also well-equipped and it’s located behind the pool area.

The rooms are well maintained, extremely comfortable and come with fabulous views. So, if you can afford it, book a Club Room…It’s worth it!

Having a club room entitles you to enjoy the facilities in the Oriental Club Lounge and complementary internet throughout the property. The breakfast at the Club lounge has a great selection of a la carte items, fruits, cereals, cheeses, juices, bread, hot food & of course Champagne! Anything you want including eggs benedict, pancakes, omelets are all freshly prepared and beautifully presented.

Throughout the day the club lounge offers a variety of snacks & drinks which you can enjoy at any time. Afternoon tea is also delightful, there are scones, jams, pastries & small sandwiches on offer. And the best part…the cocktail hour from 5-7pm. The cocktail list is very extensive; there are wines, spirits & Champagne on offer. Every night has a theme (Japanese, Indian, Spanish, etc…); the chef serves small dishes to showcase the best of each cuisine. On Christmas day eve the Club Lounge presented a fantastic Christmas mini buffet, which was very tasty and beautifully presented.

This hotel is fantastic; I like everything about hence why we have stayed 3 times. We have traveled all over the world and stayed t many 5* hotels and this is definitely one of our favorites.

Room Tip: Harbour Rooms offer panoramic views of Marina Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,655
    1,100
    311
    105
    66
See reviews for
997
2,101
303
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Singapore for 2 nights on a stopover en route from Australia to the UK. If you appreciate luxury, you can't go wrong at the Mandarin Oriental. The service is courteous and attentive, the room and surroundings are extremely comfortable, the food is delicious. We were undecided whether to book here or the Marina Bay Sands Hotel. Based on Trip Advisor reviews we decided it was better to be looking at the iconic Marina Bay Sands building rather than staying there. If you can afford to push the boat out then the Mandarin Oriental is stunning and the staff make you feel special. It's one of those places where you get what you pay for (apart from free wi-fi.. more about that later!)

We found the hotel easy to get to by train from the airport, we like to try some adventure! We walked from the station to the hotel but it was a bit of an upheaval with the luggage (at my insistence we got a taxi back to the train station on our return to the airport!) The concierge seemed surprised that we were going to the airport via the rail system, I don't think many of their guests do!

The hotel is ideally situated to take in the tourist attractions of Singapore, with the hop on hop off bus on the road outside the hotel. Not far to walk are the impressively designed Gardens by the Bay, and also Raffles (on the sightseeing bus route) for a must-have Singapore Sling.

Our room had a view of the bay, which definitely adds to the experience of this hotel. We were constantly drawn to the big picture window to admire the view of the bay. Especially as daytime turns to dusk and the skyline begins to light up, with the ArtScience Museum and the Marina Bay Sands, which puts on a laser show every evening around 8pm. The huge king sized bed had a down duvet and sumptious mattress topper, you really do sink into the bed and I didn't want to get out of it!

Food... Melt restaurant served a huge selection of world foods at the breakfast buffet. It was a feast for the eyes. In the evening we ate at Dolce Vita, the fine dining Italian restaurant. We had a table al fresco by the pool, again with that view! Wine prices were a bit of a shock with the lowest priced at $80 a bottle (about £40). We don't normally select wine by the price but we had to in this restaurant.

It was a delight to laze around the pool area. I have to say the pool was a little too cold for me to go in. We were greeted at the pool side and shown to our sun-loungers where heavy quality pool towels were tucked into the loungers for us. Then we were brought pureed strawberry or mango served in shot glasses, tumblers of cucumber water and chilled flannels.

If I have one criticism of this hotel, then it is chargeable wi-fi (I think it was $10/£5 an hour or $30£15 per day). You get it free if you book their club floor. Faced with paying or doing without, then I do without, but it is a major inconvenience. Most people have iphones and ipads and so on... when will hotels learn that in this day and age, wifi is a necessity not a luxury!! As much as I loved the Mandarin Oriental and it doesn't detract from the excellent rating I give this hotel, in future I vow only to stay at hotels where free wifi is provided.

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a view of the bay, and try to get a package with breakfast included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkjan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilwinning
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Amazing hotel which says a lot for me as I have stayed in a lot of 5* hotels. As an owner of a travel company i travel all over the world and I stay in 5* hotels and this is the best I have stayed in. The attention to detail from the moment you check in to check out is brillant. The best room to try and get is the harbour view rooms and if you wnat to splash out go for the club rooms. The harbour view allows you to have the most amazing views of the city and if you leave your curtains open at night you are able to see a city at its best. The italian rest is a place to go and the food is brillant and the outside area is great to sit and have your meal.The extra touches like the breakfast in your roon with the view of the harbour def worth doing.
Happy to give out any advise direct if you contact me direct at Thorne Travel. Singapore was a fantastic city so clean and safe but remember it is expensive.

Room Tip: def the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed for two nights at this truly magnificent hotel in Singapore in early January.
Most welcoming staff at the reception, I really felt welcome. Free Wi-fi in rooms, which is an absolute plus. I had the opportunity to stay in one of the Club floor suites, and had access to the Horizon Club. They serve breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks and canapes in the evening. Plus sweet and savoury snacks and beverages are available throughout he day. An absolute haven for the travel worn traveller.
Rooms are very clean and immaculately decorated. The bed was one of best ones I've ever slept in.
I can recommend this hotel to guests who are in Singapore for business or only staying there to get a good night's sleep before for their onward flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in The Mandarin Oriental Singapore on a recent holiday. We were very lucky as we had booked a delux room but feel sure that we must have been upgraded as it was more like a suite!
We were located on the 18th floor and were lucky to have a balcony where we were able to watch the New Years Eve show and fire work display from (fantastic).
The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast buffet is exceptional. The staff were all very friendly and professional.
One tip - if you are eating or drinking around the swimming pool then order it from your sunbed. It was cheaper than going to the pool restaurant!

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed at the Mandarin for a week, was given an upgrade to a room with a view.... and WHAT a view. It was like looking at a changing professional photograph every time we looked out, whether day or night it was an awesome view. The staff were super friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The buffet breakfast had everything ... we tried things we had never even heard of:) and no matter which waitperson was there they knew who you were and sometimes remembered what you had said you were doing the morning before! The clean pool and cabanas provided a very serene atmosphere and having loungers in the pool was a very neat way to keep cool. The location could not have been better, right next to the Millenium bridge and all that the Marina Bay offered, the underground and a great little food market on the Esplanade. Next time in Singapore... I know where I will stay again:)

Room Tip: Get a room on facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharratt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

prime location , close to all shop till you drop retails and deparment stores, a great range of restaurants / cafes nearby. Several restaurants within the hotel as well, range from Chinese to western, just take your pick.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahhlili01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,765 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,537 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#16 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for five consecutive years (2012 to 2016). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing