We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lush & cool retreat in sweaty Singapore....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent just a few hours in Singapore the other week but could not have wished for more than I received at the Mandarin. Check-in was flawless, the room was complete with nice linens, comfly slippers and a luxurious bathroom gnerously filled with nice toiletries.
What makes the hotel special is the Spa / Pool area on Floor 5. One could be on a Tropical island with green palms discreet rock pools surrounding the pool area. The gym is well equipped with courteous staff. Check out and storing of luggage was also easily achieved.

This is a great hotel and while there on business, I arrived on an overnight flight from Tokyo, it was made very pleasant. Would certainly return with wife / family on a vacation trip.

Room Tip: One of the higher floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,637 - 2,643 of 5,683 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Large hotel, well run, staff extremely friendly and efficient, in house coffee shop very good. The only point of criticism was the fine dining option in house Italian restaurant which was well over priced and minuscule portions. This had the smallest glass of wine I have ever had. The only down side of the stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I really love it when a hotel really makes you feel like they are happy you are there and go overboard to make sure you have all your needs met! From checkin to checkout, the best! All the employees have a calm attentiveness that puts you at ease. Smiles everywhere that seemed sincere. We had never been to Singapore before and wanted a tour introduction. The concierge arranged it. We took the hotel Mercedes sedan with driver and the tour guide met us in the lobby. The car, driver and guide were 5 star! Every time we got back into the car there was fresh ice cold towels on a tray between the seats, nice touch! The driver, Tony, had a great sense of humor even though our tour guide kept calling him Micheal. We felt like we were with friends. Fun day. We will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

From the moment that we arrived at the Mandarin Oriental, halfway through a homeward bound journey from Oz, we felt like we were starting our holiday all over again.
From the welcome at the front desk, the quality of our suite and the facilities throughout the hotel, we knew that we had made the right choice.
The range and quality of the breakfast left no room for improvement, this standard and quality was matched by everything from high tea to the excellent meal we had in the hotels Cantonese restaurant.
The gym and pool facilities were excellent, as were all the amenities in the hotel. In short, though we consider ourselves as seasoned travellers, this was without doubt one of the most relaxing and enjoyable hotel stays that we have ever had.
Despite the fact that we were only in Singapore for 3 days we left feeling relaxed and ready for the next leg of our journey home and more than a little reluctant to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We arrived @ 7.30pm on the Friday 15th to a very smooth check in process that showed us to a harbour view room on the top floor that was outstanding in all respects.
The team members were attentative & genuinely tried hard to make the whole experience special - nothing was too much trouble throughout the whole stay from any department.
Food & drink choice was of an international standard with the quality of food @ breakfast / lunch + dinner remaining very high on every occasion. Value for money was as you expect in a 5 * establishment ..... not cheap , but good value overall without doubt.
Leisure facilities great - swimming pool exceptional but get down early ( before 9.00am ) or be prepared to wait a few minutes for a bed as we did !. Service from the guards & waiters was A1.
Overall a fantastic venue - perfect for a 3 night stay with late check out available if necessary , central location with easy access to anything you want to do in an exciting , vibrant city. we will return to the Mandarin oriental singapore & will more than likely look elsewhere around the World @ where they operate similar hotels with similar service & ammenities.
Good luck.

Room Tip: If it is a leisurely special occasion - try to get a harbour view with the club facilities. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok for the past 30 years, I had high expectations about staying at the Singapore Mandarin Oriental. Unfortunately, there is no comparison. The style in Singapore is high rise atrium like the old Hyatt Hotels. There is tremendous wasted lobby space with no style, just open areas with water flowing through, as if the humidity in Singapore wasn't enough.
For our arrival, we had booked an airport pickup and after ten minutes of searching for someone, a fellow in a rumpled white shirt, sleeves rolled up, carrying an Ipad showed up and basically we found each other by accident while I was looking for a phone to call the hotel. No orange blazer, no fan sign, nothing to indicate he was from the Oriental as my confirmation email had indicated he would have.
The harbor suite with 1 bathroom ( with only one sink) and one powder room had a nice view, but the decor is tired, the lighting is horrendous and the bedroom closet doors never stayed closed unless you slam them. The rooms are not gracious or stylish, just generic business style. There isn't any place in the bedroom or bathroom to sit down while doing makeup or drying your hair, nor is there an electrical outlet in the bathroom for your hairdryer if you bring your own. And the lighting in there is just as bad. There is only one outlet on each side of the bed for a charging station for ipads, and phones and ipods. We brought our own power strip which was a big help. The windows are not as soundproof as consistently advertised, especially the door to the small balcony area. The cable TV stations are horrible, mostly sports.
Melt, the breakfast restaurant if you are not part of the club floor, has a great variety of foods and they were very tasty. Unfortunately poor planning in the Chinese dim sum area meant that they ran out of the same pork dumplings every morning. The south Asia section had delicious food and the servers in Melt although very very busy, were quite good. The lighting in Melt is horrendous and we had to make sure we found a table under a light or forget about reading the newspaper.
The Club floor lounge is nicely decorated with ethnographic pieces on the walls. The service there however is inconsistent. We were never given the menu and until I asked if eggs were available, they were oblivious. It is difficult to get a server's attention for orders, they never come over and see if everything is to your liking or if more coffee is wanted, and when they do take your order, it comes back incorrectly. For example, my spouse ordered an egg white omelet. Nothing was written down and what came back was a regular omelet. We would order two of something and only one would show up. It is as though they don't listen or if they do listen and simply don't understand, they don't ask it to be repeated. Some retraining is necessary.
The good news is that the hotel is across the street from a terrific hawker food court, Makansutra. I am going to try a different hotel for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: Get a high floor so no traffic noise. The shopping mall, although not connected to the hotel, has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durgaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We got married and have chosen the hotel to hold our wedding banquet. And the hotel is perfect from start of checkin in the valet staff and the entire stay. During the banquet, our parents had an emergency and had to be rushed to the hospital, and the hotel managers handled that impeccably without disturbing our guests. Every single of of 350 guests were so impressed with the food and they mentioned that it was an extraordinary menu. We were pleasantly surprised from the onset that we were given 2 extra rooms for friends and relatives on that day. We were given our bridal suite for 2 additional nights after our wedding and room service voucher and a spa treatment as well. There was a little miscommunication within the hotel about our spa appt. Although we were not unhappy about it, we were pleasantly surprised that in "compensation", not only were we given an extra 30 minutes on the spa the day after; we were also given a complimentary buffet dinner at the melt cafe! The food was fantastic in all meals, from breakfast to room service to lunch and dinner.
The spa was also the best that we've ever had
Every staff in the hotel greets you warmly, and they have no qualms about assisting you or giving you a more at the hotels own cost.
We are frequent travelers but because of this few days experience, we are longer considering another hotel going forward and will be staying in this hotel worldwide for many years to come!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,669 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,651 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 317 in Singapore
6,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#16 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £241 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing