We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel restaurant like not other” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #16 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel restaurant like not other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I had dinner with friends at the Mandarin Oriental, Italian restaurant: Dolce Vita.
Beautiful set up outdoor by the pool, great Italian food and good wine selection.
The hotel staff through out look very professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealmyers360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,649
    1,100
    311
    105
    66
See reviews for
995
2,098
303
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Well where do you start to describe this Hotel. The view from the bedroom on the 17th floor over the bay was breathtaking. Beds and furnishings are excellent. The breakfast was so good from Chinese, curry, American, cold cooked meats, yogurts, fresh fruits and of course English egg bacon etc. The staff were very polite and helpful. The only downside to the holiday was the cost of the meals, especially the steakhouse. I would visit this Hotel again if I traveled to Singapore, perhaps with a bit more pocket money!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Mandaron Oriental in Singapore, is a great hotel with great location and service, and does not have to fear the big "new comers" like the Marina Bay Sands etc at all. As the name suggests, the hotel is under great management and the service from checkin to checkout very good. The rooms have fantastic views of the harbout / Marina Bay Sands etc, so make sure you make a reservation for the "Ocean facing rooms", the others are facing inwards to the city. The view is still nice, but not as magnificent. The hotel itself is clean, elegant and I never had any issues with room service, Wifi etc, all worked very good.

The hotel is located right above City Hall MRT station, so you have a hub to go with the subway into all corners of the Singapore island. You can walk to the Marina Bay Sands / Harbour area in approx 15-20 minutes. Suntec City, the Singapore convention center is right around the corner too (5mins walk).

However with 500 SGD ( 400USD) per night for a Sea View Room, it's not on the cheap side and rather expensive, you get equally good service and rooms just opposite (100meters) with the Pan Pacific, that's my insider tip.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 5 Nights
When: October 2013
Room: Premier Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
Price: 500 SGD (400 USD)
Breakfast included - NO

Room Tip: Get a "Ocean View" Room, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Mandarin Oriental hotel was where we held our wedding. IT was a wonderful experience 1 yr back during our wedding dinner and our stay after the dinner so we decided to return to the hotel for our first year wedding anniversary. We liaised with our wedding banquet coordinator, Eve, and she had very patiently assisted us with our booking dates even though we had to change the date a couple of times due to our schedule changes. Eve had kindly helped us book the dates and requested for an upgrade of rooms if available, and had arranged for our dinner reservations as well.

AT the reception we were greeted by the very friendly reception team. On checking in, we were lucky to have an available upgrade to a harbour view room. We were ushered to our room promptly and the view is magnificent with the whole harbour and a large part of the Singapore river captured in the full height window. We can just feast on the view, splendid and unparalleled view really.

The room are nicely done up, with fully equipped amenities. The rooms are not huge, but comfortable enough. The TV, if you wait for a while for the screen saver to pop up, features a spa music with graphics that makes you feel like you are in a spa or something, very relaxing with a touch of zen-ness. A large area is dedicated to the bathroom which is gorgeously done up. I actually like the bathroom a lot.
We requested for firm pillows as the ones provided are too soft. The bed is a little too soft for us, would have preferred a firmer mattress.
Everyday the room was cleaned and toiletries were replenished adequately, cleanliness was never an issue.

A surprised came slightly after checking in. MO was very personalised in its service and had delivered us some chocolates, a cake and a bottle of wine for our wedding anniversary, that a very pleasant surprise for us and this kind gesture touches our hearts.

Dinner at the Melt buffet was adequate, seafood section was delightful as there are amply fresh seafood with a wide selection. We do think that the cooked food section could be done up a with more special dishes but on general the dinner buffet was a satisfying one.
Breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection of internation, western, chinese, india cuisine and lots of healthy snacks/ fruits/ yoghurts to choose from. We enjoyed breakfast very much.

The pool at MO, albeit not huge, was a cosy, comfortable and enjoyable place to be at. We spend almost half a day at the pool each day, enjoying the brilliant view offered, and the tranquillity not normally found in the central district. We would sincerely recommend all hotel guests to pop by the pool and indulge in the sterling service from the pool side staff. Each guests would get to pick an area of choice (by the pool or in the private cabana) and the seat would be reserved for you until you leave the place. There would be constant supply of face towel, water and you can order a variety of (very very fresh and yummy) juices/ shakes and snacks. The pool side staff are very attentive, they would take note of your needs and always try their best to address your concerns. Thanks to them our experience at the pool was even more memorable.
PS if you didn't bring your sunscreen don't worry, there is a whole range of sunscreens for adult and children and even aloe vera gel for you if your skin is dehydrated. You can request for facial mist or spectacle cleaning solution as well and the staff would promptly bring it over for you.

The only issue with MO is perhaps the room service. The hotel provides great services generally, except sometimes when the room service is activated, it takes longer for the room service team to respond. Perhaps the hotel would neaten this part up.

All and all, this is one of the best hotels we have stayed so far, and we are so glad to have chosen this hotel for our wedding and our anniversary! Thanks MO for the satisfying stay for our wedding and anniversary so far!

Room Tip: Rooms facing marina offers excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WangYuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Would have given the hotel 5 stars but when we booked the hotel months ago it said in the brochure that if we booked it 60 days in advance we would get a room upgrade.....nothing offered, conned again!!
Been in the room 30 minutes, dying for a shower but no luggage, rang down and they had forgotten them. My wife in the shower and an electrician arrived to change a light bulb, not a good start.
The hotel other than that was fabulous, view from our room of the marina was stunning. Went for a drink in the bar( not sure the name of it) had a drink overlooking the marina. Came back to the bar after a meal and they remembered my name...nice touch.
Room spotless and cleaned everyday
There were a couple of weddings on but they did not impose onto the guests.
When we left they were very helpful in sorting out our airport transfer.
Except for the first hour it was good, just left a bit of a nasty taste in my mouth....they say first impressions count.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkieDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I had two nights at the Mandarin Oriental recently. The lobby / reception is a bit dark and dingy. Aside from that the rooms are very nice and modern. The service is very good with the exception that they do seem to have a lot of trainees floating about that don't have all the relevant answers a guest might ask. All in all good property. At the time of travel they seemed to a bit on the pricey side compared to other hotels of similar standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Mrs treated me for my birthday to a weekend at the Mandarin Oriental. It was perfect; started with (one of Singapore's only) Saturday Champagne brunch at Dolce Vita overlooking the pool. Service was great, champagne was free flowing and the food was lovely. Checked in thereafter and had a very nice room with huge window over looking Marina Bay and the famous Singapore skyline. A 2 hour spa treatment to finish of the day was bliss. Good spread for breakfast the next day and a late checkout of 6pm so chilled by the pool (service was great), until it started to rain and spend the rest of the day festering in the hotel room enjoying the view of the storm from our window.

Surprisingly this hotel did not feel quite as luxurious as the Hong Kong branch. But as always, great service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pay for the Bay view and get high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,753 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,534 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#1 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#16 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for five consecutive years (2012 to 2016). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Destinology, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing