We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not excellent but book with confidence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Mandarin is a good hotel but not as good as others in this hotel group, so don't expect the 'wow' factor, but expect a good quality and pretty reliable hotel. Great position for getting around Singapore with excellent bell hops who rustle up taxis in seconds! Check in was a bit tardy, we observed a lot of staff busy doing nothing! The hotel reception is dark and a bit miserable looking because there is hardly any natural light (due to a dated design fault...) and it seriously lacks a lobby area (unless you count the water around the central lift shaft which smells of chlorine, not pleasant). No nice morning coffees or afternoon tea here. Great buffet breakfasts with masses of choice although the staff struggle when it's busy - what it needs is someone in charge and working the floor! Didn't eat in the restaurants at all. Excellent room with a great view with a fantastically comfortable bed, pillows and linen. Nice bathroom with good quality toiletries, towels, fab shower and a bath tub. Well stocked mini bar, good tv and a good working area if on business. Free water, tea / coffee, iron, decent hair dryer all appreciated! Oh, and an excellent laundry service (flight attendant spilt coffee on my cream lacy top and it was restored to new!). Lovely outdoor pool with soft towels, iced water, papers / magazines and sun lotion provided. It was busy when we went up there but with a bit of shuffling two loungers were arranged in the sun where we wanted them. We were travelling with a school sports swimming team (as parents) and one miserable guest looked disparagingly at our students (who were immaculately behaved) poolside, but some people are only happy when they're miserable! Full marks to the pool attendant for keeping a keen eye on them whilst in the pool even though they were just as qualified as he was probably! Quick word of warning - this hotel seems to be permanently hosting weddings which is a bit tiresome for us 'Terry Tourists' and I think staff are diverted to look after wedding guests leaving the hotel a bit short elsewhere? Just an observation. Just one major gripe - I really resent paying for wifi no matter how fast and efficient it may be!

Room Tip: We had a good rate allegedly for the the Asian market, so if you're an expat in Asia send off yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,377 - 2,383 of 5,936 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for new year eve... Amazing view on the firework. Club Lounge is great and they serving ruinart Champagne :-) as much as you like... Breakfast buffet is amazing.
Rooms are okay but not as nice as in other MO. Service is okay but not more... We even had to wait for check-in at 4pm.
Nevertheless, we would return to this place :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We got upgraded to a mini suite, it was beautiful! Fabulous view of the habour!! Daily replenish of fresh fruit was greatly appreciated,
the location of the hotel is good, lots of food option close by, hawker food centre across the road,
Housekeeping was wonderful, attention to detail, they even bookmarked my magazine! We didnt have much interaction with staff, but everything we requested was dealt with swiftly.
We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank princesslala88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Top Asian hotels are leading the way and this hotel is one of them . Superb location and views of the water add to the simply excellent service ,rooms,amenities and facilities . The range of food at breakfast is vast and caters for all tastes . Conference facilities are top class and the bar is a nice retreat after an exhausting days work or shopping .

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Have just had a high tea for two at the Axis Lounge. For my mums 70th birthday, I treated both of us to a four course high tea for $80 for the double. The view was lovely looking over the bay. The wonderful staff at Axis had planned a special birthday cake and song for her to celebrate her special day. Service was exemplary especially by our host Junel. Would recommend this high tea to anyone visiting Singapore

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Flying152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

very good location in marina square,comfortable rooms and excellant hospitality,contemporary amenities and in-room entertainment. Each room features cable TV, wireless Internet access and coffeemaker.The wi fi is very effective in terms of speed .Pleasing view of the harbour front specially in the night .value for money though expensive which is in line with singapore hotels

Room Tip: choose harbour view above 18th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Fantastic location with stunning views. Facilities are excellent, the pool and terrace are the nicest we have ever visited with views of the harbour that are breathtaking especially at night.
The Club Lounge is very good with lovely staff, indeed the staff throughout the hotel are really wonderful. We would certainly stay here again.
Singapore is pretty expensive anyway, but I was still a little taken aback by the prices in the hotel bar and restaurants. You do get what you pay for though. My one real complaint is the prices in the spa. A manicure is a manicure where ever you are and the spa prices were double what I have paid elsewhere. Little surprise that there were lots of appointment times available.

Room Tip: we had a top floor room. Huge with great views - quite stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 319 in Singapore
23,873 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,160 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,252 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £225 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing