We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Singapore Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice Singapore Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had booked a Premier Harbour Room and as we particularly wanted a harbour view were a bit unsure about accepting a free upgrade (for booking early) to an Ocean Grand room. The upgraded room on the 18th floor was fantastic with double windows and a small balcony and we could see the best parts of the harbour (Marina Bay complex). The views from this room are breathtaking.
The service at the Hotel was really good, staff always friendly and helpful. Wide choice for breakfast in the Melt Restaurant with food of a high standard we also had a meal in the Dolce Vita restaurant, which although expensive was first class and great for a special occasion.
The Hotel location is good as there are so many things to see and do in the Marina Bay Area and getting further afield is easy by either taxi or Metro (10 minute walk). Buses also stop outside and if you have not been to Singapore before a good idea is to do an open top bus tour of the city to get your bearings.
We really enjoyed our stay this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,862
    1,159
    322
    111
    68
See reviews for
1,058
2,204
320
1,276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect.

Where the hotel is situated is excellent, with nothing too far away. We were lucky to be there over the New Lunar Year celebrations and the buzz was phenomenal.

The staff are excellent, so helpful and pleasant. We were looked after by a young lady who was quite new there but you would never have known she was new as she was so professional.

Our room was spacious and tidy with all the mod cons. The room service was first class and I really could go on promoting this place but I don't want to bore you.

We used the bar next to the pool as well as the gym which both continued the superb experience.

This is the place you must stay in if your are in Singapore.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have decided that we can't go wrong staying at any Manderin Oriental. As usual excellent service, clean, quiet and peaceful . Excellent location. Amazing breakfast and a member of staff made sure that we were aware that breakfast stations would soon be closing if we needed something else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMiltonKeynesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We selected this hotel for our recent three day stay in Singapore as a stopover back from vietnam to Australia. We booked it through American Express. The room was ok, it was clean, the view is amazing but it did smell of cigarette smoke a little despite being a non smoking floor...we asked for some softer pillows and the pillows we were given had holes in the cases, quite poor for such a hotel. The next morning we went to talk to the front desk lady regarding wi fi in the hotel. She said we would have to pay $26 per 24 hrs for wi fi or $12 for one hour of use. We were astonished that this was so especially having just come from vietnam where both our hotels which were considerably cheaper than the mandarin had free wi fi. We asked the girl if she could discount the wi if say $26 for our entire three day stay but she flatly refused... Bemused we walked off.One hour later we had a call from the duty manager. He offered us 25% off the internet...something but not great. We went back downstairs to change money, we checked the fine details for our room as American Express had said in their booking email that we would have a $250 food or massage voucher included. The duty manager checked and said we didn't have this. We told him to ring American Express after showing him our email. After ringing he said there was nothing they could as American Express had booked it incorrectly. We were fairly disappointed. It was then that I said I wanted to speak to the general manager, he said the gm was off as it was Sunday. I said I would see him Monday morning, he tried to persuade me to talk to his front desk manager, I said no I want the gm ( I said his name for extra effect Christian haansig) that was when he became rude and I told him to stop arguing with me and be quiet as I am the customer(no manners at all). It was only after we said we wanted to leave and that we would be ringing the general manager the next morning that they offered us a free upgrade to a suite... Too late.My wife had witnessed all this and decided to go to the ritz Carlton next door where we got a suite for cheaper and free wi fi. Lots to learn at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in Mandarin Oriental for 4 nights in Feb 2014. I have never received such incredible service from a hotel anywhere in the world. The staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We had a harbour view room which was spectacular. The facilities in the room were excellent. Breakfast at Melt Café was incredible the choice was enormous. We particularly loved the Axis Bar. On arrival had a late night snack in this bar and would have to say it was the best meal I had on the entire trip. The piano player and singer were spot on what a great first night. Every member of staff at this hotel was amazing from front desk to waiters in café and bar to doorman all extremely helpful. Location fantastic with shopping centres next door and a nice walk to the Gardens By the Bay. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely book a harbour view it will make your stay perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just spent 2 days at this hotel. Nice bay view room, although you have to look sideways to see the Marina bay Casino. Just to note though, everything at the hotel is VERY expensive. Internet $30, a beer $20, breakfast $50. Fairly standard room $500. So wont leave there with much change from $750 for an average stay. Could stay in Geneva for that :)

Breakfast was excellent, so was check in.

Room Tip: Select a bay view room when booking, chances are you will be offered an upgrade to a higher level no...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for four days and wished it had been more! From the moment we arrived at the Airport we were whisked away in a Mercedes Limo to the Hotel. no checking in we just were escorted to our room overlooking the Pool and marina Bay, quite stunning.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the the City (for the Bankers) but more importantly walking distance to Raffles Place, Little India the famous Marina Bay Gardens and of course if you are around in March the Singapore Grand Prix! The hotel is truly a perfect place to relax and of course to sample the delights of the Restaurants : dolceVita is an elegant Italian restaurant by the swimming pool, the cuisine is outstanding, Morton's Steakhouse, cherry Garden all serving wonderful meals. A great stay but I would suggest that the hotel provides Chest of Drawers for clothes which we had to keep in our suitcases, not very good for such a good hotel. The hotel has no Mandarin Oriental loyalty card which is a pity, it would encourage more visitors to try out a variety of their hotels in the Orient, North America and Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th Floor overlooking the Swimming Pool and Marina Bay and on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#36 of 312 in Singapore
21,861 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,276 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,013 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing