We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy With the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

the hotel is close to city and most of the tourist points can be reached easily. but im not very happy with service. we checked in early, even our rooms were ready we were not given rooms. there was no free wi-fi.we would have to pay $26 per 24 hrs for wi fi or $12 for one hour of use.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaBkoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 5,777 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

The location is superb walking distance to the marina Bay Sands hotel and mall and many other atractions but I found the rooms rather small and the whole property a bit dated. The staff were all very helpful and courteous especialy the concierge who helped me organize a tour of Singapore and get reservations at restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CayenneSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently had a three night stay at this hotel on a stopover whilst heading home from New Zealand. From the moment we arrived the level of service was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room which had a marina view was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The buffet breakfast on offer at the hotel was nothing short of superb and catered to all tastes. We also dined at Morton's steak house within the hotel and although it was pretty pricey again the food and service was excellent. The facilities at the pool on the fourth floor included beds, towels, sunscreen and chilled glasses of water, so all you required to do was turn up in your swimwear. All in all an excellent stay from start to finish.

Room Tip: Request a marina view as the outlook is spectacular in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have been around the world and this hotel really stands out for service and pure luxury. Rooms have amazing views, fresh crisp linen and very, very good staff. I will recommend this hotel on the highest level. Close to malls, good in hotel restaurants and great area at the pool with attentive waiters constantly bringing iced water. Mind the check in time of 15h00, this is not really flexible. If you have early flights, try and fill the day or you can relax beside the pool.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is nicely placed close to the city bay and the Singapore river with great view on the surrounding buildings. Most touristic points can be easily reached by walking, or if the weather is not suitable by bus. Easy to join hundereds of other jogging around the bay in the morning or evening - coming back to the hotel you are welcome with towel and water - great!
Rooms are excellent - spacious, nice and modern, and the comfort of the bed is fantistic!
The large breakfast buffet offers something for any taste - whether eastern or western styles are prefered.
Meeting facilities are good - large windows allow to observe the days weather conditions or activities along the bay walk.
The stuff is absolutely service minded without overdoing it.
Definitively, the hotel is a excellent place to stay in Snngapore!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed at this MO property in July 2013 with my husband and two sons. The service level was excellent, in line with other MO hotels we have stayed with previously. Our suite was very comfortable and our younger son slept on the sofa while the older one was given a free rollaway bed. We had a huge terrace which was very useful for smoking. Breakfasts were superb, with a large variety of Asian and western cuisine. We would definitely stay here again on an adults only trip, however the Hotel seems to be geared towards business travellers rather than families. The kids amenities provided such as slippers and books were geared towards much younger kids. Also the pool was not particularly child friendly, had sharp corners, couple of chipped tiles and a rather formal atmosphere. The views were brilliant though. The location is good. It's attached to a small mall which has a food court and drugstore amongst others. The hotel is a short cab drive away from the marina bay sands development which houses the art science museum, a mall and nightly light and sound shows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karachimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is so dark upon entering that it sucked the energy right out of me! We learned that the property is around 30 years old and it feels it: old-fashioned atrium design, acres of black marble, no lobby for congregating, no lively bar, nothing cheery or welcoming. We had a room facing the harbor, which offered a great view, but during our visit, they were repainting the exterior so there were ropes hanging in front of our view and we had to close the drapes during the day. Room was small with one uncomfortable wicker chair and one work chair. Bathroom was adequate with one sink only, but countertops were low. Pool area was very small - seemed like an after thought. Breakfast restaurant was fine if you ate outdoors, otherwise dark. Oddest thing was that this hotel had no entrance into the adjacent mall! If you wanted to shop or use the mall as a pass through, you had to go outside, up two flights of stairs then down a narrow corridor. Or worse, go through a smelly garage! Very strange. Otherwise good location for walking outdoors to the Gardens by the Bay and the Marina Sands complex. Would not recommend as there are SO many other wonderful hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,169 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,123 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £219 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing