We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to show its age.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Starting to show its age.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You can help but compare it with the Ritz Carlton a 100m away both 5 star hotels.
I am big fan of the Mandarin Orient Group though the quality of hotel varies from country to country.

First the Room, while its nice and ticks all the right boxes it certainly did not have that wow factor the moment you walk in. Its down to the age of the hotel and its starting to show in the layouts. The room has been refurbished but from the looks of it the original tiles in the bathroom have remained and they still have those horrible beige telephones. The shower and bath are so small only one person can fit in.

I would guess the room sizes of both the Ritz and MO are about the same but the design of the MO means 25% of it is wasted corridor space. So if you like nice rooms with electric blinds etc go for the Ritz. Though MO has a small balcony but in the tropics no one sits out on an open balcony its ether to hot or too wet, and being next to a main road too noisy.

Bathroom: Again age is against the MO the Ritz has one of the most amazing bath with a view type set ups and a shower 3 people can fit into. So if you like bathrooms go for the Ritz.

Views: With huge windows the Ritz wins even the cheap side of the Ritz you get a nice view.

Pools now here the MO wins while the pool is small compared to the size of the hotel so you have to be quick to snag the best cabanas. The pool side is very nice and as it on the top of the podium you get a nice breeze and view. Ritz pool feels like a municipal pool, below ground level so no breeze.

Service was as expected, though upset with the poolside restaurant for trying to fob off mozzarella as burrata cheese in a dish, when it was pointed out the waiter said they had no stock of burrata.

So if you like to laze by a pool and don’t mind the below average rooms ( for the price) , then go for the MO. If you like lovely rooms with a great bathroom then go for the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you go for the cheap rooms ie facing away from the water get a high floor as the smell from all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,901
    1,168
    325
    111
    69
See reviews for
1,078
2,221
323
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Let me start by saying Mandarin hotels are on the nicer end, I have stayed at about 50 % of their properties, so I know them well. This hotel is clean and comfortable but beyond that it lacks charm and personality. It's bland, dated and dark.

The out-door pool is wonderful and provides great views of the skyline.

Morton's restaurant is excellent. Great lead Bartender and very friendly staff at the bar location in middle of lobby space. You can eat in the bar which provides a unique experience under the umbrella.

The Mandarin Spa (facility) is a loser for this caliber of hotel. No facilities, just a shower and steam room for one person at a time. A major let down however we thought we'd just get a massage and forgo the amenities but spa was sold out.. Spa products are good however and I bought plenty. Staff was helpful and friendly at the spa shop.

We ended up booking the spa at Fairmont Hotel, which was very nice.

Check out service at 6am - AWFUL, took far too long to print folio and go through a process that felt as though I had been there for 60 days, not 2 nights.

Finally, I called the front desk on the eve prior to my departure to schedule a hotel limo to airport. Upon arrival to check out and find the car we were told we did not book a car. After explaining that we did call we were made to feel we were wrong. It was not until I saw the 150.00 charge on my bill that I could prove I called. They charged me for the car but never set it up. This was another let down and by this time we had already spent too much time at the desk and I just wanted to leave. They put us in a taxi and sent us away. No thank you for staying just an I am sorry we will investigate and email you. I thought, why email me, it's over and my impression is already set.

I am not sure I'd stay at this Mandarin when I come back this fall, I will see what other fine hotels and resorts that centurion/plat travel offer. Mandarin is usually my first choice but this one let me down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in MO for a week early Jan this year. Chose this place by chance, but probably well chosen!

Here are a few cents from my end:

1) Great location; overlooks the bay and the SGP eye and has great views from the room. You can walk into the Marina shopping mall and also to a tube station. Boat Quay is just 10 mins walk. Its an uncongested straight line drive from the airport as well.

2) Excellent rooms, well done, good baths and stunning views. Relaxing for a business traveller to work in. Wi-fi works, secure accesses to floors, and the swimming pool was good as well.

3) Good food, huge breakfast spread (but was same day after day) and fresh fruits...in room dining also was nice.

4) Excellent and courteous staff...check-in, check-outs, hailing a cab, helping get the door unlocked....all scenarios played out, all had the same result...great staff.

So, overall excellent place to recommend, especially business travelers...Will I come back? Anyday...

Room Tip: Choose the Bay facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From the moment we checked in until we checked out, we were completely pampered by the friendliest staff we have come across. Always looking to be helpful we could not have asked for more. The room on the 18th floor overlooked Marina Bay and the business district. Everything in our room was superb. Could not fault a single thing in our three night stay. Well done Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights.

Pros:
(1) The location is excellent. It is walking distance to Singapore Flyer, Mariana Bays, Esplandade, Subtec city, etc.
(2) As it is next to the Marina Square, there is a wide variety of dining options.
(3) On our arrival, my 3-year old received a kids pack that contains bath robe, slippers and a storybook. Very thoughtful.
(4) There is complimentary shuttle bus service to Sentosa (depart at Marina Mandarin).

Cons:
(1) We have breakfast at 'Melt' restaurant. The bakery was good. Croissant is a must try. Unfortunately, dim sum and fish ball noodle are poor.
(2) The housekeeping service is very slow in response.
(3) On our check-out morning, we found there was water dripping from the ceiling of the bathroom. There was no problem for the previous few days. The drawer that contains the hair dryer turned out filled up with the water. It was very dangerous. The hotel need to look into this issue.

Though there was minor problems, we have a good time staying at Mandarin Oriental Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwf1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-Les-Pins, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great food. Special room for kids. Good service. You can sit inside or outside. We were seated inside, like 95%, but it got to cold in the a/c after while. Moved outside, not problem with the staff, all very professional and helpful. Oh yes, make sure you try the wagu burgers..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotedazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We booked this place for our friend's hens night and were very delighted by the great service of the staff and awesome views of our room. We stayed at level 21 and our room was facing the flyer and marina Bay Area. Staff service was great, they attended to us promptly within 15 mins whenever we called for room service. Not to forget the pool area, the staff were attentive and the sheltered beds were so comfortable to chill in. The breakfast at melt cafe was yummy with many choices to spoil you with. All in all, great hotel with wonderful service. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannieYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 315 in Singapore
22,122 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,417 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing