We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There are so many positives about this hotel. Great location with amazing views of the bay. My husband and I loved Morton's, which served the most amazing lemon drop martinis. The level of service was superb (of particular note were the staff in the gym, both the concierge that we spoke to and the staff on the door). That said, we felt that there was just something missing, with the interior of the hotel feeling a little soulless.

The breakfast buffet was great, but it always felt a little chaotic with so many people in the restaurant.

This is a however, a great hotel and Singapore is such a fun place. A visit to Gardens by the Bay is a must as is dinner in China Town. We also enjoyed our trip to Little India. Reports on the Long Bar at Raffles are mixed, but we decided to give it a go and throughly enjoyed it. The service was exceptional as were the cocktails.

We took a trip up to Orchard Road for dinner one evening and were rather disappointed by the choice of restaurants. We ended up in a tapas bar called 'Esmirada', where we ended up having some of the best food of our three week trip. The tapas was truly superb, followed by a slightly bizarre (but such good fun) musical interlude, with plates being smashed to Zorba the Greek. We would massively recommend this restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 5,684 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've stayed (and lived) in Singapore many times, and I have to admit this wasn't our first choice hotel for our Easter weekend getaway. However, having now stayed here, I am a "fan" and would readily recommend for similar type trips.

Overall
As Mandarin Orientals go, it does come across as a slightly dated hotel, however, the details in delivering a great hospitality experience do not go neglected, not least of which is the attentive service.

Location
With all of the more recent developments around Marina Bay (MBS, Gardens by the Bay, 1 Fullerton), I feel like the Marina area is a more a compelling place to stay for leisure trip than ever before which is why we were willing to consider it over the Orchard Road options. We have previously stayed at Marina Bay Sands, and the value for money is just not very good.

Rooms
Plush beds sport deluxe linens that even our 14 month old noticed - she just loved falling face first into the sheets.

F&B
One of the best breakfast buffet spreads across any Asian 5-star hotel - that's saying a lot. Huge spread and huge variety. Our toddler loved the yogurt station with multiple flavored yogurts to choose from, as well as an assortment of fresh fruit toppings, all nicely diced. The Indian food, of course, is always a treat in Singapore. However, it is the basic waffle where the culinary team really shone -- excellent batter, excellent texture, perfect maple syrup and perfect freshly whipped cream. I'm not sure I've ever eaten a simple waffle this good.

Pool
We were also pleasantly surprised the pool area had enough variety (kids pool, fountains, etc.) for an urban hotel to keep toddler happy and entertained for an afternoon. All-in-all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We (group of three) stayed at a suite for three during World Cup period. However we can't find extra bed and extra set of amenities in the room until we called the house keeping, on the first day and even on our third night! And the concierge kept giving us wrong direction. I believe the concierge team is quite green and seems not familiar with the neighbourhood. Quite disappointed with the stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank antibombardment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSingapore, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your recent visit and sharing your comments with us.

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our housekeeping and concierge services. Please be assured that these issues have been addressed with the team, as we strive to continually improve and provide better service to all guests.

We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely

Jess Lam
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My parents and I took a city view suite which was spacious (900 sq ft) but the furniture and facilities were liked what you would find in hotel rooms in the 1980's. My mother who has a problem with walking found the twin bed very difficult to get in and out of. To be fair, we got this suite on a special offer (4 nights for the price of 3) so I suppose you get what you pay for. I would have willingly pay the full price for one of the newly refurbished suite if I have known.

I find the interior of the hotel a bit oppressive and dark. It is also not as convenient as other hotels in the vicinity to get to the shopping mall next door (as my mum is wheelchair bound, I was hoping that I could push her to the mall via a connecting walkway but was told that it was closed permanently).

However, the breakfast buffet was excellent with an overwhelming variety of food to choose from. The Chinese restaurant was very good and Morton's was a good restaurant if you want steak and you want a break from Asian cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSingapore, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.

While we are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experiences at the hotel, we regret to learn that the suite was not up to your expectations. We would like to assure that we will be addressing the reflected observations in our future planned changes.

We will strive to create many more moments of delight as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Jess Lam
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I am huge mandarin oriental fan and love the hotel in NYC! But this in Singapore is really a class of it own. Outstanding service from the first second. Well trained and polite stuff and awesome food experience. The location is perfectly central and the rooms are large compared to other Singapore hotels. Sure it's not cheap but the price service value is very high. I would recommend it to any one who want style, classic high class hospitality and Asian charm. Thanks for the wonderful days!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank citywalker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is what you expect of this brand. It compares favourably with HK and certainly better than Geneva. Rooms well priced with a magnificent view. The "club" on the 19th floor very convenient and useful for business. Swimming pool excellent and the Italian restaurant next to (the pool) also very enjoyable. Certainly reflects the era of its build (80s?) but I did not find this particularly oppressive. My only thought is that the bars just don't seem to work for social or business meetings. One is just "bizarre" architecturally (the floating mushroom bar - go there and see) and another (more lounge like) is just very low key. Both relatively empty and I stayed there several days. I think a little more thought could go into these. But having said that service etc. super and they are great team working hard.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank themisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is in a prime Marina Bay location close to other 5 star hotels.

Firstly, as a member of BA executive club I expected flowers and fruit placed complementary in my room, I expected express checkout - None of these were delivered on arrival and there was no recognition of my booking via exec club. My room level was correctly assigned however. On asking via a phone call, the fruit was brought instantly - service is always good at Mandarin but not pre-emptive in this case.

This hotel is also tired looking, some of the decor is decidedly 1970s and it is a dark place. Furnishings are up to usual Mandarin standards, as are the amenities provided in the rooms. My bay view room did have a spectacular panorama.

The pool and spa area is nice, and the pool cabanas are particularly comfortable, with an ability to plug in a device and play personal music but mine was visibly broken - more evidence that this hotel needs a refurb.

I always enjoy the buffets at Mandarins and this one was exceptionally good with worldwide breakfast selection and as much of it as you can pack away.

In conclusion: Yes, it has the hallmarks of a Mandarin Oriental but not nearly as good as other newer hotels. The KL branch remains the benchmark for me.

Room Tip: Marina Bay view is nice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtmf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,677 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,658 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 317 in Singapore
6,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £242 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Mandarin Oriental, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing