We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience compared to past stay”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience compared to past stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I decided to stay at this hotel for the second time in about a year because I had such a great experience the first time. Not so much this time. The room was worn and not as clean as it should have been. The service was poor. It took forty minutes and three phone calls to have ice delivered, on two separate days. I never received a wake up call that I asked for and when I mentioned that at the front desk, I was met with a blank look; no apology or anything close to the customer service that I am used to at Mandarin Orientals. I wouldn't recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSingapore, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your recent visit and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

I truly regret to note your less than satisfactory stay with us. My sincere apologies for the shortcomings which you had encountered in reference to our overall services. It is most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion. Kindly rest assured that we appreciate your feedback and will make every effort to improve our service level.

Once again, thank you for your time and constructive feedback. I greatly appreciate your kind support towards the hotel and hope that we may one day welcome you back to the hotel for a more enjoyable visit that will meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Jess Lam
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,860
    1,159
    322
    110
    68
See reviews for
1,056
2,204
320
1,275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a harbour view room over the national day weekend. The full length window really provided an excellent view of Singapore's skyline.
Loved the soft bed and fluffy pillows.
However, upon check out, there was an error in the payment (double billing!) that would not have been discovered if my partner had not checked his bill.
One would expect more meticulous service from a hotel of this standard.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSingapore, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for your recent visit and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the check-out billing have been duly noted, and this issue has been addressed with the team. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely

Jess Lam
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family had 5 days at Mandarin Oriental Singapore before returning to Sweden - and we did have an excellent stay!

After our check-in we had a late lunch/early dinner at the MELT and we were so well taken care of the staff in the restaurant and also got some additional perks! This set the standard to the rest of our stay and we were not dissapointed!

Thank you Mandarin Oriental team for and excellent stay and for taking care of our family!

We hope to see you soon again!

Fredrik, Emma, Hanna and Stefan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Decided to give the MO another try, and was pleasantly surprised. Service was back to true 5 star level. We were addressed by name everywhere from the front door to the club. The club staff were always attentive but unobtrusive, just what you want, and Wifi was now free with online bookings.

Cherry garden was superb, from our aptly named waitress 'Joy', to the attentive sommelier, and of course spectacular Cantonese cuisine (how does this place not have a Michelin star? we eat at Ming Court HK, and various Tim Ho Wans, the food here is at least as good in every way).

We had a suite with a lounge and powder room, probably too big for us as we are not in the hotel much. The room is a little dated as some have mentioned, but still very much old world charming, and of course meticulously cleaned.

Just a short note about the club, the dress standards and over 16 policy suits us very well, but I noticed one or two of our (Australian) countrymen again struggled with the concept of 'Smart Casual'. Please fellow Aussies, if you are going to book a 5 star with club access, perhaps it is time to smarten up the wardrobe a little :)

Overall more than pleased with our stay, and will be happy recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I love staying at the Mandarin Oriental the service is always fantastic. The view from the club harbor view room is beautiful and the beds are extremely comfortable. I would recommend going to the steak house restaurant in the hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Staycation to watch Singapore's National Day Parade preview - great location.
Club rooms include afternoon tea, evening cocktails and champagne breakfast... great for people on staycation.
Staff is very friendly - very good experience except that when we requested for change in batteries of tv remote control, no action was taken until room service.

Room Tip: Habour view room has incredible view. Choose club rooms for guaranteed high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

For a place to sleep, perhaps this makes sense. From a service perspective, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Extremely disappointing service levels and uncaring staff.

The breakfast is extensive in the hotel. Rooms are ok but not exceptional. Would not return here with all the other options and alternatives available.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSingapore, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mandarin Oriental Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We have duly noted your comments regarding the service standards of our colleagues, and would like to reassure you that we will strive to meet all guests’ expectations. We will reach out to you shortly to address these concerns personally.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

We certainly look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely

Jess Lam
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#36 of 312 in Singapore
21,852 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,269 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,836 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing