We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2009

When we arrived at 2 AM, the front desk greeted us by name as we walked to reception. After hotel failed to give us a requested wake up call, we received a note of apology and a bottle of wine! The breakfast buffet was incredible with foods from Korea, China and India along with an array of "American" favorites. Don't miss the buffet!
Accomodations were excellent and very clean. Location was good for shopping and walking to Raffles area. The Marina Mall is next door and connects to other shopping malls.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,646)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,900 - 3,906 of 5,646 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

We spent two nights at the MO before going on a cruise. Upon arrival to the hotel, a gentleman escorted us directly to our room and checked us in there... no standing around at the front desk. We booked a Harbour Club level room and it was absolutely lovely with a great view of the Harbour. I booked the room on their website and indicated that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. They put a complimentary bottle of wine in our room as a gift. Use of the club lounge was included in the price of our room. This was a real bonus as the lounge provided a full champagne breakfast, mid-day "tea" (which included finger sandwiches and enough items that one could make a lunch), and cocktails and heavy hor d'oeuvres in the evening. So if you wanted, you could avoid eating out at all. We found the service very gracious, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmorgan811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed here twice; the first time was for four days with Club Access (but not on the Club floor). The second was a quick one night stay. The first stay was excellent, though not without issues. The second stay was not excellent. The problems were always with service. The hotel imagines itself to be five stars, but it is not.

The rooms are fine. We saw several. When we first arrived, at 1 am, we were taken to our harbor view room (we had reserved a City View room on recommendation of this site, and in acknowledgment of lower prices and more space). We thought the room small-ish, but settled in for the night, knowing that we would request a change the next day. We did that, showing that we had reserved a larger city room. The staff was accommodating, and moved us, though we then discovered that the air-conditioning in the new room was broken--and needed several hours of repairs. So they moved us again, this time to a nicer City View room, and sent a bottle of wine for our trouble.

The Club Lounge was wonderful; the service was fine (except for the "concierge" there, who really knew nothing--and ended up referring us to the main hotel concierge). It was not exceptional in any way.

In general, this hotel's service was lacking. There were no seats at the pool one day, and the attendants were unwilling to find any. We had to call the manager, who found some after 45 minutes. Service in the main restaurant, at breakfast, was worse: on the one morning we ate there, we were shown to our table. We placed drink orders, and then went to the buffet. When we got back, the table had been given away. They asked us to share it with the people who had taken it. We declined to do so. It took another five minutes to find a new table for us. Service in the Cherry Garden restaurant, and the spa, were both exceptional. So though we were generally pleased with the stay, we had some serious reservations about returning in five days.

But we did so, confirming our reservation with the staff when we left, triple checking it with three different people. (And we left a bag as well.) When we came back, five days later, there was no record of the reservation. The hotel staff tried to cover this up, asking for various forms of identification to see if they could find it differing ways. When we confronted them, and produced a photocopy of the reservation, they admitted they had lost it in the five days we were away. I asked for the manager, who eventually made it right--though this took far too much time and caused us a bit of stress, further diminishing our short time in the city. It was, to put it simply, not five star service.

We have stayed at the Four Seasons in Singapore, and would stay there again. The rooms at the Mandarin Oriental are the same size, or slightly bigger, but the service at the Four Seasons was, and is, head and shoulders above anything we saw at Mandarin Oriental. If service matters, there were enough irregularities and misfires at this hotel to urge travelers to approach it with caution. We like the location of Mandarin Oriental more but would not opt for it again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Price: SGD399 + tax. Breakfast SGD44 per adult.

Room: 13th floor, king bed, great size, spotlessly clean, superb bathroom (bath, shower, and two basins).

Service: friendly and helpful.

Location: across from the Marina/Esplanade. Linked by flight of stairs to Marina Square shopping centre. Less than 10 minutes walk to Raffles City shopping centre. SGD20 taxi fare from airport.

Breakfast: delicious! Friendly staff and every possible thing you could want to eat. Expensive if you only want a quick bite.

Pool & Spa: pool was very relaxing with a great view of the city. Spa was lovely but too expensive as you can get the same - if not better/longer - treatments at other top spas.

Overall: a lovely hotel that we really enjoyed but won't re-visit. We splurge on luxury hotels when we don't have much time in the city, or when we really need a break and, unfortunately, this one didn't provide us with value for money. We thought breakfast was expensive, and internet access wasn't included either. If money is no object, then we guess you'll love it. But then again, you'll probably choose a better hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary, so we decided to end our trip in the lap of luxury by staying at the Mandarin Oriental during our stop in Singapore.

The hotel's exterior is unimpressive and not indicative of the modern interiors and stunning rooms. We were trying to decide between the Ritz Carlton and Mandarin Oriental (incidentally right next to each other with almost a shared courtyard), but chose the MO due to its floor-to-ceiling windows and high reviews.

Overall, we were not as satisfied with the property as we'd like for the following reasons:

- For the price charged and the kind of brand, service was extremely disappointing to say the least:

1. God help you if you try to order a DVD...according to their in-room directory, you are supposed to call guest services if you would like to order a DVD after 11pm. When I called Guest Services, the lady was first surprised by my request and then transferred me to the concierge desk. No one answered the phone at the concierge desk, so I called guest services back and explained no one was answering the phone. Her response? 'Oh! Let me transfer you again' and before I could say anything, I'd been transferred again.

Finally after a good amount of waiting, the concierge deigned to answer the call. When I tried to explain the situation and that I only wanted to rent a DVD, he cut me off in the middle of the explanation and said 'I will have a colleague bring up the list of DVDs to your room'. Of course, the colleague, much less the DVD menu, never showed up.

2. I called Baggage Services to have our luggage picked up before 4pm as we were in a bit of hurry to catch our flight. The attendant asked for number of bags and confirmed someone would be at our door by 3:55. Of course, no one showed up. When I called at about 4:05pm, the attendant had no clue about the request and asked me for number of bags again and said someone would be up immediately...finally showed up at about 4:15pm.

- Overpriced: the in-room dining rates are exorbitant for the kind of food. For 2 Penne Arrabiatta and 1 dessert, we were charged SGD 105. Though the pasta was nice, it was not worth the price. Dessert was great though.

- Rigid: Breakfast stays open till 10:30, which is fine. If you happen to come at 10:28 like me and try to order omelette at 10:31, too bad. They will no longer serve from the buffet and you will have to order from the a la carte menu. As the staff is extremely busy cleaning up the buffet after the stroke of 10:30, service is extremely slow. At one point, it took the waiter 15 mins to get toast, by which time the rest of my husband's breakfast had gone cold.

That said, the room was stunning with floor-to-ceiling window that faced the harbour and the Singapore Eye. Lit up at night, it was truly lovely.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Tsunami_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Arrived very late one evening - around 1 a.m. Staff immediately jumped to attend to luggage and check me in. Took almost no time.

Had to be at conference next morning at 8 a.m. -- luckily could walk there from hotel after receiving directions from staff.

Room was excellent - as was bathroom. Separate shower & tub. Toilet in a partially walled off area, but without a door. Bath amenities were also pretty nice including more than the usual.

Despite open air atmosphere of hotel, it always seemed hushed.

Swimming pool was excellent for early morning workouts. Was much longer than traditional hotel pools. Upon exiting pool, found that hotel staff had left cool wet washcloth and glass of water next to my belongings. Fitness center was also excellent with same attentiveness.

Had breakfast at hotel only one morning -- buffet at main restaurant. Very extensive and excellent quality. Needed to really pace myself.

Assortment of newspapers offered.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed at MO for 4 nights in December and very happy and totally impressed at the hotel.
Check in was very smooth, only took 5 mins and the lady ushered us right away to available front desk. The staff was very polite, kind, courteous and no request is too hard for them, who always answer with sincere smile.

Our room is in 15th floor with FABULOUS VIEW!! The harbour view is really to die for, our booking was only for city view, but they upgrade us to Harbour view in the high floor. Very happy indeed. The Singapore Flyer is directly opposite our window and it is very cool to watch the flyer at night as the change colours and the view of the ship going in and out the harbour was awesome.

Upon our arrival there are a soothing music greeting us at the door and a set of Chinese tea in very unique basket, cheese plater, fruit plater and a bottle of france red wine. All complimentary. Talk about the service of this hotel really deserve it’s five star.

The room itself was very elegance, with glass top study desk, very comfy king size beds and pillow, plenty of space for luggage. The bathroom was very luxurious black marble. Overall very neat, clean and perfect, not one speck of dirt in the carpet, chair and curtain. There is one orchid plants full of beautiful white flower and another stem of orchid in the bathroom, which the housekeeping take very good care of them for the guest. This kind gestures show that they really care about looking after the guest and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

The pool is very good, there are one big pool and a kiddy one. The pool staffs are very attentive and friendly. The second we walk into the pool area they are ready with towel and setting up our lounge chair straight away. They provide our 3yo daughter with balls and toys to play in the kiddy pool, while giving her attention by talking to her. To make the experience even better, they give us mango sorbet in a chilled glass complimentary. Our daughter was ecstatic, so do we, it is very refreshing in humid weather of Singapore.

Location is great, Marina Shopping Centre is just next door to the lobby. The centre got a good and cheap food court at the top level. Walking to city hall mrt is about 15 mins (undercover all the way), although it feels like 5 mins because all of the interesting shops on the way. Suntec shopping centre is about 10 mins walk and it’s got everything. Taxi is very easy to get and cheap too.

We stayed at MO last year and given an upgrade to a suite with separate living room and huge bedroom. Again very happy and well above our expectation. Magnificent breakfast at the Melt café, plenty of option to choose from.

In summary, MO is really deserve it’s reputation as 5 star. Truly 5 star service, room and hotel. Will definitely stay in MO again next time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Purplemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 316 in Singapore
22,469 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 316 in Singapore
7,542 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 316 in Singapore
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £237 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing