We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Nearby Hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$457/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Mandarin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$496/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,087)
Filter reviews
6,088 results
Traveller rating
4,283
1,256
349
127
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,283
1,256
349
127
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina baycherry gardenmelt cafedolce vitacity suitethe club loungea harbour view roompool staffpool areabreakfast buffetour honeymoonfantastic hotelluxury hotelchinese restaurantlate checkbusiness hotelshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
4,240 - 4,245 of 6,088 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Xmas break. Whilst the room was great and had the most fantastic view over the harbour and the breakfast was outstandingly good, the service was definitely not 5 star quality in all areas.

The staff were also very variable. Some staff, for example the lady in the business centre and the concierge were excellent.

On the other hand the hair drier in the room did not work and never got repaired by the service staff (they did bring a portable one). The annoying flashing message light on the phone was imposssible to put out as noone answered the phone at reception when I rang through to try to cancel it and so on and so on.

We had booked and confirmed on a B and B basis, but the restaurant staff got confused, asked me to sign a bill anyway, thought there was only one guest (not sure who they thought my wife was!) and we had to check all this and sort it at the front desk.

When our room key stopped working the front desk did not handle it well. Checked who I was by asking for my birth date, which I understand, but they could have done it politely with an apology, rather than being so peremptory.

So the hotel has many good points, but in comparison with the Shangi La we had stayed in immediately before the service levels were at times very disappointing. Too many 'Pan Am' (false) smiles and no follow through !

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

When we arrived at 2 AM, the front desk greeted us by name as we walked to reception. After hotel failed to give us a requested wake up call, we received a note of apology and a bottle of wine! The breakfast buffet was incredible with foods from Korea, China and India along with an array of "American" favorites. Don't miss the buffet!
Accomodations were excellent and very clean. Location was good for shopping and walking to Raffles area. The Marina Mall is next door and connects to other shopping malls.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We spent two nights at the MO before going on a cruise. Upon arrival to the hotel, a gentleman escorted us directly to our room and checked us in there... no standing around at the front desk. We booked a Harbour Club level room and it was absolutely lovely with a great view of the Harbour. I booked the room on their website and indicated that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. They put a complimentary bottle of wine in our room as a gift. Use of the club lounge was included in the price of our room. This was a real bonus as the lounge provided a full champagne breakfast, mid-day "tea" (which included finger sandwiches and enough items that one could make a lunch), and cocktails and heavy hor d'oeuvres in the evening. So if you wanted, you could avoid eating out at all. We found the service very gracious, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmorgan811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed here twice; the first time was for four days with Club Access (but not on the Club floor). The second was a quick one night stay. The first stay was excellent, though not without issues. The second stay was not excellent. The problems were always with service. The hotel imagines itself to be five stars, but it is not.

The rooms are fine. We saw several. When we first arrived, at 1 am, we were taken to our harbor view room (we had reserved a City View room on recommendation of this site, and in acknowledgment of lower prices and more space). We thought the room small-ish, but settled in for the night, knowing that we would request a change the next day. We did that, showing that we had reserved a larger city room. The staff was accommodating, and moved us, though we then discovered that the air-conditioning in the new room was broken--and needed several hours of repairs. So they moved us again, this time to a nicer City View room, and sent a bottle of wine for our trouble.

The Club Lounge was wonderful; the service was fine (except for the "concierge" there, who really knew nothing--and ended up referring us to the main hotel concierge). It was not exceptional in any way.

In general, this hotel's service was lacking. There were no seats at the pool one day, and the attendants were unwilling to find any. We had to call the manager, who found some after 45 minutes. Service in the main restaurant, at breakfast, was worse: on the one morning we ate there, we were shown to our table. We placed drink orders, and then went to the buffet. When we got back, the table had been given away. They asked us to share it with the people who had taken it. We declined to do so. It took another five minutes to find a new table for us. Service in the Cherry Garden restaurant, and the spa, were both exceptional. So though we were generally pleased with the stay, we had some serious reservations about returning in five days.

But we did so, confirming our reservation with the staff when we left, triple checking it with three different people. (And we left a bag as well.) When we came back, five days later, there was no record of the reservation. The hotel staff tried to cover this up, asking for various forms of identification to see if they could find it differing ways. When we confronted them, and produced a photocopy of the reservation, they admitted they had lost it in the five days we were away. I asked for the manager, who eventually made it right--though this took far too much time and caused us a bit of stress, further diminishing our short time in the city. It was, to put it simply, not five star service.

We have stayed at the Four Seasons in Singapore, and would stay there again. The rooms at the Mandarin Oriental are the same size, or slightly bigger, but the service at the Four Seasons was, and is, head and shoulders above anything we saw at Mandarin Oriental. If service matters, there were enough irregularities and misfires at this hotel to urge travelers to approach it with caution. We like the location of Mandarin Oriental more but would not opt for it again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Price: SGD399 + tax. Breakfast SGD44 per adult.

Room: 13th floor, king bed, great size, spotlessly clean, superb bathroom (bath, shower, and two basins).

Service: friendly and helpful.

Location: across from the Marina/Esplanade. Linked by flight of stairs to Marina Square shopping centre. Less than 10 minutes walk to Raffles City shopping centre. SGD20 taxi fare from airport.

Breakfast: delicious! Friendly staff and every possible thing you could want to eat. Expensive if you only want a quick bite.

Pool & Spa: pool was very relaxing with a great view of the city. Spa was lovely but too expensive as you can get the same - if not better/longer - treatments at other top spas.

Overall: a lovely hotel that we really enjoyed but won't re-visit. We splurge on luxury hotels when we don't have much time in the city, or when we really need a break and, unfortunately, this one didn't provide us with value for money. We thought breakfast was expensive, and internet access wasn't included either. If money is no object, then we guess you'll love it. But then again, you'll probably choose a better hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews