We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed at the MO Singapore multiple times in 2006 & 2007 while traveling on business. The hotel is well placed for walking access around town and a quick ride from the airport. I recommend booking a car from the hotel, they pick you up just outside customs.

Booking the club level is a nice treat, but not as smart as ensuring you have a harbor view room. At the time, they were refurbished more recently than the city view rooms. Room service and staff treatment throughout the hotel was excellent. The spa is nice, but small and isn't separated from the flow of guests going to their rooms.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JonnyHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,851
    1,159
    322
    109
    68
See reviews for
1,053
2,200
320
1,273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I really enjoyed staying in this wonderful hotel. It has a perfect view to the Singapore Flyer and the ocean. surrounded by big shopping centers.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

120 pounds per night via netflights. Speechless. The service, the location, the views, the rooms, the cocktails, the afternoon tea, the restaurants....Need I go on?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We first stayed at the Oriental in 1990. It was brand-new then and its atrium lobby was quite an eye-popper and that, combined with the trademark Mandarin Oriental levels of service and fine food, made it one of the greatest hotels we had ever stayed in. Today, the views from the rooms have become more spectacular with the development of the financial district and the marina, but the hotel is showing its age. That vast lobby now looks very, very dated, with acres of empty gloom, almost like a Soviet-era convention centre. Our premium harbour view room, 1402, was a bit dated and rather small by today’s standards, with a bulky TV set-minibar unit taking up a lot of space, though the newly installed bathroom was excellent and generally speaking this was a pleasant space to occupy. Downstairs, the restaurants are inward-looking, lacking any natural light, though our two meals were truly excellent - an evening buffet offered a wonderful tour of Asian cuisines and the buffet breakfast was world-class. The pool area lacks elegance or shade - something we crave - and the crazy-paving also betrays the hotel’s age. If I ran Mandarin Oriental I’d be looking to build anew here, take their brilliant staff with them, and sell off this brutalist building. On our return visit, in two months’ time, we’ve booked the next door Ritz-Carlton Millennia after inspecting their rooms and their pool area which seem to be a notch up. And we got the same room rate as the Oriental - around S$450 for B&B with a guaranteed 5pm check-out. So four stars out of five for what is, for most people, a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location, amazing staff, food
  • Disliked — Brutalist building seems dated
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Fantastic hote. Everything is superb. A huge contrast to Bintan Lagoon Resort where we stayed the last 4 days and only had lots of troubles.

The breakfast is very delicious. The view from the rooms stunning.

Very central location.

  • Liked — The breakfast is superb
  • Disliked — Cannot think of something ... that we had to leave after just one day
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

This is the best hotel I have stayed in.
The service was fantastic - from the moment we arrived by taxi and I was greeted with 'good afternoon Mr *****.' That was a good trick. He didn't even see my luggage at that point.
The service at the pool was amazing and I am not usually a pool person. You have to experience this.
If it wasn't such a long journey from the UK I would be a regular.

  • Liked — The service especially at the pool
  • Disliked — It was a bit quiet when we were there
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank steelmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore for 3 nights on the first stop of our overseas holiday. As we pulled up to the entrance of the hotel, a herd of bellboys hurried over, opened the doors of our taxi, greeted us, took our bags out and ushered us inside. Check in staff was very welcoming and made us feel at home. The public areas of the hotel are gorgeous and spotlessly clean and the lifts which take you to your room are glass which allows you to see the massive atrium interior of the hotel. It’s beautiful. We were escorted up to our 12th floor room by a very friendly man who demonstrated all the electronic features of the room for us. Our bags were brought up shortly after.

The room itself was large and beautifully decorated in modern Asian style. The bathroom was massive and completely clad in marble with a deep bathtub and huge separate shower. The hotel provided every toiletry item you could think of such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, shavers, loofahs, combs etc as well as everything else you would expect from a 5 star hotel. They also provided two pairs of Mandarin Oriental branded slippers and bathrobes which was a nice touch. The large plasma screen built into the wall was fantastic, especially when watching it from the ultra comfortable beds. We even had our own balcony. Everything about the room was stunning.

We had breakfast every morning at MELT The World Café and it was truly fantastic. The staff greeted us politely after seating us, explained all the various and different items we could choose from. The breakfast buffet was made up of at least 5 different stations all with so many different choices of food. They had the typical American breakfast, traditional Asian breakfast, Japanese breakfast, cereal and muesli station, waffle, pancake and muffin station, an area with cakes, doughnuts and Danish pastries and a fruit and juice station with every fruit you could possibly think of. It was really an outstanding experience.

The concierge was always very helpful in organising tours or giving us directions. Every time we would return to the hotel after being out we would receive a lovely “welcome back” and smiles from every member of staff in the lobby. The staff members at this hotel were all so friendly and hospitable and it shows how much they are committed to providing fantastic service to every guest.

Staying at Mandarin Oriental Singapore was an amazing experience. Our room was gorgeous, service was fantastic and food quality was great. I’ll have no hesitation in recommending the Mandarin Oriental to anyone who is visiting Singapore. It is a true luxury hotel.

  • Liked — Service, luxury, quality of hotel overall
  • Disliked — Internet, room service and laundry facilities are a tad overpriced
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vissi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 312 in Singapore
21,813 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,240 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,816 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing