We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm oasis in the bustle of beautiful Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We chose this hotel for its Colonial charm, smaller size and location. We had a lovely spacious newly refurbished room in the Mayfair wing. The room was really great, firm but comfortable bed, lovely lighting, good fixtures and great bathroom, the only downside was that the fridge didn't really chill drinks to cold enough and the aircon was a little noisy. The staff were very helpful and attentive and all our questions were answered with a smile. We enjoyed the location, close to all amenities including MRT but a little away from the crowds. The small swimming pool was tranquil and private and really enjoyable. I didn't try the afternoon tea but it certainly looked amazing - next time perhaps!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Jozcat,

We are delighted that your found the Goodwood Park Hotel to be a calm oasis in the hustle and bustle of Singapore and you enjoyed the comforts of our newly refurbished Deluxe Mayfair rooms.

We have taken not of your feedback and will share your comments with our department heads.

Once again, it has been a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope that you will have the opportunity to savour the tasty treats at the L’Espresso on your next vsit.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
There are newer reviews for Goodwood Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Singapore is now full of ultra high-tech, high-rise modern hotels, and they have their place, but we wanted to stay somewhere with a more 'old fashioned, colonial style to it' and Raffles is just too 'touristy' for us and lacks the real tradition. The Goodwood Park fits the bill nicely, the rooms are very spacious and very clean and the amenities and restaurants within the hotel are very good.

The hotel is also only 5 minutes walk from some of the major shopping malls on the Orchard Road

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear jim2752,

Thank you for selecting us as your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

I am delighted to know that we met your needs for a colonial style hotel and also in terms of location.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.

Best Regards
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place has the facade allure of something colonial but I have been in and out of Singapore long enough now (three decades) to know it is always just a dip of the lid to their colonial history. Still, the place is quiet, service is excellent, staff attentive and sufficiently flexible (not a trait for rule bound Singaporeans) to tolerate me arriving and departing outside their posted hours. There is such a glut of good options in Singapore but this one just looks and feels sufficiently different to have me want to make the effort to come back again. Oh, and as with any real estate location is king. And this one sits on a very high throne - location just off Orchard Road and on top of the North South line gives it a whole lot of extra appeal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickledEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear PickledEel,

Thank you for taking valuable time to write this review about your stay.

I am glad that your experience from arrival to departure was pleasant and you found the hotel conveniently located. Our team members will be very encouraged that their impeccable service had left a great impression. At Goodwood Park Hotel, we do have a program for regular and on-going maintenance and refurbishment to keep our hotel relevant and fresh.

Once again, it had been our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As a frequent traveler and having stayed at numerous 4 to 5 Stars hotels around the world, my partner and I were both disappointed with our 3 nights stay recently at this hotel. Although most of the reviewers comments were positive here, I struggle to really justified this property as a truly 5 stars joint. I am writing this review based on our honest observations and experiences we had in this hotel.

There is no doubting the grand facade and historical heritage this hotel has got.We booked a junior suite for 3 nights expecting a truly luxurious stay and what the Goodwood Park brand has come to signify.

Checked in was smooth and was served by a lovely lady called Megan. The reception lobby is small but simply decorated. Our junior suite room (rm 178) was decorated nicely but I can't said that it is luxuriously done. Furnitures and carpet in the room are all very dated.Skirting around the door frames in the room are very worn. Not what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

We had a King size bed which must be the worst bed we ever slept on in our years of traveling.The bed was so hard that my partner could not sleep at all the first night and I woke up feeling extremely sore.You might as well sleep on the floor as the bed felt harder than that. After my partner had complained to the front desk, 2 housekeeping staff came back and put a layer of softer on top on it. It did help to make the bed softer but it was still a very uncomfortable bed to sleep in. Nothing worst than sleeping in a hotel with a uncomfortable bed in it.

The breakfast in this hotel must surely be one of the worst we ever had anywhere in our travel. The spread was very limited and almost all the food were always cold, and the steamers never seemed to be hot nor steaming. We did came down early the second day at 7am thinking that perhaps at that hour the food will be hot. However it was still cold. Also I noticed that the chef doesn't seem to replenish the food and often there wasn't much left in the buffet. I believe that presentation of the food is extremely important and I can't said that to be the case here. The chef that stand behind the buffet looks disinterested and bored.He never greets or smile even when we walked passed him nor did he said anything when was asked to cook a scramble eggs for us. Even the waiting staff looks bored and seem to be going through their motion without even greeting the guests. I know this comment on the restaurant overall is very harsh but that was our experiences we got here. We expected more from a hotel that claimed to be a 5 star property to provide better services.

There must be a problem with the shower system. As every 30 seconds or so, we get a burst of hot water.This in my opinion is extremely dangerous. Not very pleasant at all.

The room TV has very limited channels and the input is of low definition into HD monitors. Again you expected a 5 Stars hotel to provide a wider range of programs and of better picture quality.

Also the in room mini bar refrigerators are totally inadequate. When nothing in the mini bar fridge appeared to get colder then room temperature, we were told by the hotel technician that all the mini bars are the same in all rooms and never get colder than that. Apparently they are only 'coolers' and not refrigerators.

The room came with a Nespresso expresso coffee machine which was a very nice touch, and fresh fruit that got replenished when ever low. Another nice touch !

The hotel has an unusual central lighting system in the room, making it super complicated to simply turn on a bed side light during the night. A very annoying system.

We walked around the hotel over the 3 days of uor stay here and noticed how run down the inner part of the building is. The tiles of the main pool had mold on it and some of it has cracked. The worst was the sun bed as 9 out of 10 of it were terribly stained or had hole in them. Not a very nice sight and we decided against using the pool for this matter. The other smaller pool(Mayfair pool) had a lot of leaves flooding in it and the ambiance and surrounding the pool were very over grown and just doesn't have the appeal of what you would expect from a truly 5 Stars hotel. Even some of the concrete slaps in the garden were broken.However the pool water was extremely crystal clean I must say even if the surrounds were not.

The ground in the hotel were very over grown with lot of weeds and plants that will in need of a desperate trimming every where. Also concrete walkways that were very cracked and somewhat dangerous in some areas. I believe that the ambiance outside the hotel is just as important as those inside. Being a keen gardener myself, the ground of this hotel is in a very sorrowful stage.

Credit must be given to the Housekeeping staff who did a good job cleaning our room daily. Also to Megan who checked us in and whom later in our stay we saw working in the restaurant. She came up to us and greeted us with our surname.

We paid top dollars to stay in this property and to say the least that we were truly disappointed is an understatement.It certainly fall very short of our expectations.In my opinion, this is not the standard of a truly International 5 Stars hotel. It tried to sell as one with its' grand old building and reputation but everything else we had experience told us otherwise.We just didn't get that feel here, the warm, the hospitality and ambiance are all lacking in this joint.

If you want to stay in a historically old building, then perhaps the Goodwoodd Park is for you. However if you paying top dollars and expecting a 5 Stars place, then go some where else. There are plenty of 5 Stars hotel in Singapore to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can help it. Not worth the money for what you get.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experience and observations during your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments and certainly we will be reviewing them with the hotel team and where possible and needed we will make improvements and upgrade our product and services accordingly. The comfort and well -being of our valued guests is of utmost priority and importance to us. We have already in place a refurbishment program that has seen our Deluxe Mayfair rooms being fully refurbished and enhanced in amenities and this will continue progressively to the other areas of the hotel.

We are still glad however to hear that you had some positive encounters with our staff Megan, our housekeeping staff with their services and you also enjoyed the amenities in your suite room with the nespresso coffee and fruits being replenished daily.

Please do give us the opportunity to welcome you and your partner back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Linda Wee (Ms)
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel for sentimental reasons... Have stayed many times before and always had a good experience. This trip was an exception but only better. Firstly on arrival we were upgraded to a pool front room with Nespresso machine!!! Huge deal for us. No late check out, flight was at 1.40am all the way to the U.K with 2 kids ages 3 and 7. The hotel apologised but offered us a room at 7pm for half an hour to shower and change. We took it and will forever be truly grateful. Thank you, we will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturalcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi naturalcookie,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of accommodation during your visits to Singapore. It is great to know that we had created another memorable experience for you and you would stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First time here we normally stay at the Carlton but we decided to try the Goodwood Park and we were very impressed it really outshines the Carlton. We found the service very attentive and the rooms comfortable and spacious, breakfast offered all one could wish for and reasonable coffee.
Dinner was also good value, bar prices however like most hotels in Singapore are on the high side.
We have re-booked for our return leg and I think this will become our new stopover spot.

Room Tip: I doubt there could be a bad room I guess away from the pool perhaps but the rooms seem well sound p...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi Rick S,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred stopover hotel in Singapore.

I am glad that we had met your expectations in most ways. Our team members and chefs will be very motivated to hear that their attentiveness and culinary skills had left a positive impression on you.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us your experience. My team and I are looking forward to providing another memorable experience on your next stay. Should you need assistance for your next stay, please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Sunday Morning 23 June 2013.. Power Failure In Room Not Just 1 Time But 4 Times Around 11.30AM!! The Room Is Very (BIG).. Location Of The Hotel Is Beside Far East Plaza.. Had A Great Stay For A Night.. Me Like It!! Free Wi-Fi Is Good But The Connection Is Too Slow.. There's A Bible In The Room Too..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fedhely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Fedhely,

Thank you for staying at Goodwood Park Hotel during your recent visit to Singapore.

We are delighted that you found our room spacious and the hotel is conveniently located. However please accept my sincere apology for the unpleasant experience which we will address to avoid inconvenience to our guests. We have noted of your feedback with regards to the slow internet connection and will review them to enhance the guests’ experience.

We hope that we can welcome you back again.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#46 of 316 in Singapore
4,430 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#35 of 316 in Singapore
2,428 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#42 of 316 in Singapore
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £138 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing