We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but not really Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

When we made the reservation, we thought, based on the photos and descriptions, that we were going to be staying at an older, historic hotel in the midst of all the chaos on Orchard Road. Upon arrival, the first thing you see is the historic façade and the hotel grounds which are lovely and surrounded by trees, lawn and gardens so it is removed from the busy Orchard Road corridor, a couple of blocks away. We drove up and flew right past the historic looking façade that is in the brochures and pulled up to a modern glass entry to reception. Nice, but not what we expected!

We had requested a king in the reservation but reception indicated that they did not have any....it was 1pm and after checkout so we were a bit surprised. We had also made the reservation 8 months prior to arriving. They offered us two beds and thinking it would be 2 queens or fullsize beds, we accepted the offer. We got to the room and it was two twins! So, back to reception and 20 minutes later we had a king. The room was very small but did have a little balcony that overlooked the pool. It had a small refrigerator but it didn't work. We had maintenance up twice and they could not get it to work.

Overall, it was a comfortable room and the bath was well appointed but nothing special for close to $200 per night.

We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel and wandered down the street. We usually don't eat at the hotels and prefer to check out the local eateries. The breakfast buffet was $35 per person which seems a bit steep for eggs, bacon and toast! There are ample restaurants within a 10 minute walk as well as the ION Mall on the corner of Scotts Rd. and Orchard. The selection is overwhelming!

We did not really use any of the services offered at the hotel so I can't comment on them. The pools seemed to be very nice and well attended to and the WIFI in the rooms worked well. There was little on the TV to watch expect for your typical CNN International.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneTropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear gonetropo,

Thank you for selecting the Goodwood Park Hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the hotel’s convenient location and the comfort in our rooms. However it is concerning to hear about your check in experience and we do apologise that your expectations were not met. Please be assured that we do try our very best to meet all guest’s request whenever room availability permits and I have personally briefed our Front Office team to take note of this. I have also shared your comments with the Chief Engineer to look into the refrigerator and to ensure that they should all be in working condition.

With regards to the variety of TV channels, we do provide a selection of complimentary cable TV channels with free entertainment and movies besides the local TV channels and pay for movie channels as options for our guests to choose from. We do appreciate your feedback and we will review them to implement necessary improvements where possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope that we may have the pleasure of having you as our guest again on your next visit to Singapore. If we can be of any assistance for your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact our team at +65 6730 1811 or email to rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Goodwood Park early November,it looked very colonial from outside but upon entering the wow factor disappeared,temporarily.The reception and adjacent bar area were dull.
From there things improved,staff at all levels were exceptional,rooms five star,food amazing (fish curry must try), pool area in garden very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwisemann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Strategically located, quiet, private, exclusive & good service. Look our for deals. Nicely decorated. Staffs are friendly. We arrived late at night and although the check in process a bit slow considering I was the only guest. I took 3 rooms for weekend retreat for me and family. Good surprise to find that Goodwood Park Hotel have Muslim prayer mats for Muslim guest and they have it for us late at night during check in.

Will consider staying here next time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Muhammad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have visited Singapore on many occasions but always used to stay at Elizabeth hotel due to its proximity to Orchard and Scott road. Since we always used to admire the beauty of Goodwood, which looks like a mini castle, we decided to stay here. Looks wise, everything works for it as in the rooms are spacious, clean, well- light. However the problems come with the attitude of the staff, more particularly in the
breakfast room, who are ill- tempered and downright rude.. during the breakfast timings they are more interested in setting the tables for lunch, leaving the breakfast tables without proper cutlery, napkins, side plates. Some of the staff even felt it below their dignity to greet us, coz probably we were Indian s. However a lady, ms betty proved to be a lifesaver and made the last few days of our stay more manageable. ThiS hotel has everything working for it but in order to attain loyal followers it really needs to teach its staff a thing or two. They could definately learn from
the staff at Crossroad cafe, marriot as we spent more time there rather than the hotel's various restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adv Radhika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Adv Radhika M,

Thank you for taking time to share with us this constructive feedback.

I am delighted to learn that the room accorded has met your expectation and Betty has made an impression with her attentive service. I am, however, very concerned to hear of your experience at the restaurant giving you the misconception that you were not welcomed. This is not what Goodwood Park Hotel is about and what it stands for. Please be assured that we do not condone nor practice any forms of discrimination on our guests and this feedback will be seriously dealt with the highest importance to ensure respect, courtesy, sensitivity and consistent service standards are rendered to all our guests irregardless of where they come from.

We hope that you will consider staying with the Goodwood Park Hotel again and to give us the opportunity to regain your trust.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Even though the Goodwood Park hotel is a short stroll to the shopping centers of Orchard Road it feels miles away from the chaos. The old colonial feel with plenty of greenery is very relaxing, and the two pools gives one options for swimming and sunning. (If you want to actually swim however it may be difficult as the pool length is short. The larger square shaped pool is ok for laps. Also the weight machine in the gym needs to be replaced with something from this century.)
The staff are excellent. Great value for the location and comfort.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ngemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Beautiful poolside suite. All staff were extremely helpful. We had stayed regularly in 1970s and the standard was even better than remembered. Breakfast was very good as were other meals in restaurants The Singapore Sling is to be recommended. Shopping in Orchard Rd just around the corner. The attractions near the harbour are a taxi drive away In a place where practically everything is really modern this is an oasis where a traditional hotel has all the necessary modern trimmings. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Goodwood park hotel is a lovely colonial hotel just off the heart of Orchard road.

Location - Fantastic location!! Approximately 400 m away from ION on Orchard. Easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants on Orchard.

Room - We booked a 'refurbished' room. Upon entry into our room, my husband and I were instantly disappointed. The room was still outdated and rather small. Although we were upgraded to a 'pool side room', we only used this access once. The room was extremely clean, so we can not fault house keeping. I contemplated checking into the Hilton next door, but decided that I would just have to spend more time out shopping to compensate for the tiny room.

Front of house staff were good - although always appeared rushed and flustered.

I acknowledge that I have whinged about the room, but all in all, the Goodwood Park Hotel was in a great location and was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear roxcochrane,

Thank you for staying with the Goodwood Park Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location but regret to hear that our poolside room had fallen short of your expectations. The poolside room is a very popular choice with our guests who enjoy being close to the pool as it allows a direct access to our Mayfair pool. We have however taken note of your feedback and will certainly review with the hotel team and where possible, improvements to be made to further upgrade our product and services to better serve all our guest’s different expectations and needs.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Goodwood Park Hotel.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#38 of 317 in Singapore
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fort Canning
#34 of 317 in Singapore
1,316 reviews
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,122 reviews
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#43 of 317 in Singapore
4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £132 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing