We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, well equipped rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed during a Friends wedding

Service is top notch, the hotel has maintained itself well throughout the years. Very colonial looking but still retains the high end image of how a hotel should.

Small issue is the tiniest lifts I have used. They can fit only 1 big suitcase and 2 adults, I kid you not it is that small. I was hoping to find another lift in the premises but it was the similar size as well. There is probably other lifts in the hotel as well so wasnt a bother other than the time when we had to check in and check out.

Short walk away to the malls on Orchard road, there is also the Duty Free Galleria mall across the road if you are after duty free products. Very convenient location. Loved the service and everyone seemed really friendly and courteous.

Worth a try if you are looking to spend a bit during your time in Singapore

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Jack W,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback.

It’s great to know that our convenient location and the impeccable service from our team members has made your stay a memorable experience for you.

We are however sorry to hear that of your feedback about the elevators – while this is really part of the charm of our unique heritage hotel and due to the structure of the building. We do however have larger elevators located in other parts of the hotel. We will definitely look into options to enhance the guest experience whenever possible.

We do hope that there will be an opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future. Should you need assistance for your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact our reservation team at +65 6730 1811 or email us at rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
There are newer reviews for Goodwood Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed twice recently at the Goodwood Park. Both times we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is an old building , only 2 storeys, set back from the road. In spite of being only a short walk from busy Orchard Road, as soon as you come inside the doors there is tranquility.
The reception staff are excellent. They booked taxis to the airport for us twice and dealt very efficiently and pleasantly with a query on our bill (they were right and we were wrong).
There are 2 swimming pools - we used the smaller one to cool down after a day's tourism.
We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace overlooking the main pool in the evening, drink in hand.
The first time we stayed we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which had 2 shower rooms. The second time we had a standard double room with a shower over the bath. I would agree with another reviewer about the shower curtains - they are not long enough and water goes everywhere.
We did not eat at the hotel-preferring to go out to sample some of the numerous Singapore restaurants, but were always glad to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marchhare83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Marchhare83.

It’s great to have you back with us again!

I am really glad that this stay was another memorable experience. I will definitely share your compliments with our team and it will encourage them to continue working towards service excellence.

We do however apologise for the inconvenience caused in the bathroom and will look it with the Executive Housekeeper to find ways to improve on it. Pleased to assure you that we are consistently working on our maintenance programme which helps to keep our product offerings updated and fresh.

Thank you for taking time to write this review and recommending us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. If we can be of any assistance, please do contact our reservations team at rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com or visit the hotel website for exclusive packages.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Goodwood Park has retained its charm.Great service,friendly staff, great ambiance and fantastic location. We were upgraded and were delighted with the executive room was was larger than the one we had when we last stayed there. My only criticism would be the charges for use of phone and prices at bar and laundry.
Service was prompt and our queries were responded to quickly.If ordering a taxi, best contacting concierge directly as often a message at one touch was not related and each time we ordered a taxi, we had to pick up one which was not ordered, after 15 minute wait.
also entry to executive floor is via a function area and when there is a function, it is difficult to get through.
Apart from that, great stay , extremely comfortable, great amenities, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My first trip to Singapore and stayed in the Goodwood Park Hotel, mainly due to its central location. We given an upgrade to a suite upon arrival. The room overlooked the car park and Far East Plaza shopping centre, but was large and spacious, comfortable bed, coffee making facilities and most importantly, high-speed free Wifi. Two outdoor pools - not especially large, but relatively quite. Gym was clean and tidy also. Ate in the main restaurant on a couple of occasions which was very enjoyable. Overall, a nice stay in the Goodwood Park Hotel and made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve-Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We (2 adults, 16 and 7 year old) stayed at the Goodwood in April 2014.

We chose this hotel due to location, appearance and option of ground floor rooms as my wife is unable to go in elevators. For once her fear was a blessing in disguise. What a fantastic hotel.

Location:
Excellent location on Scotts Road, about a 5 minute walk from the famous Ion Shopping mall on Orchard Road. We felt very safe everywhere we went in Singapore and walked from the hotel to Orchard Road everyday. You can catch the Hop On Hop Off bus from the bus stop on the corner of Scotts and Orchard Road.

Wonderful old colonial look to the building.

Check in:
We checked in late at night and found it quick and easy. The receptionist was very helpful.

Rooms:
We stayed in 2 connecting poolside suites that opened directly onto the main pool.

We had requested a king in one and two singles in the other. When we arrived reception informed us that both rooms had king bed but they could make up the sofa bed. Given our late arrival and how tired the children were for the first night the children just shared the king bed. The next day we asked if we could have two singles made up but this was not possible so we had the sofa bed made up. Given that we had two suites and the bedrooms could be closed off from the lounge area by sliding doors this actually ended up working well. Great separate lounge area with sofa, dining table and big TV. Dimming lights, great for leaving a light on for the children.

Rooms were very quiet, you can hear people in the pool but as it was people having fun it wasn't offensive by any means nor did it continue past sundown.

The bathrooms are big, the only thing that annoyed me was that the shower is in the bath and the shower curtains do not contain the water. Water therefore goes on the bathroom floor and down a drain. It is also quite a step out of the bath which may be difficult for some people. I would suggest that the baths be replaced with showers, does anyone use baths in hotels anymore?

Rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard complete with shoes being lined neatly up against the wall.

Breakfast:
As part of our package we had breakfast everyday at the hotel and found it excellent. Basically buffet fare, the chef's do great omelette's. Wonderful attentive staff offering coffee, hot chocolate etc when you arrive. Pancakes, cereal, yoghurt and toast for fussy kids. With a fussy eater in the family we found it well worth having the breakfast package if only to avoid trying to find breakfast with hungry children in tow.

Room Service food:
We had room service on 2 nights. No problems at all from grilled cheese sandwiches and burgers to narsi goring. Great food, good quick service and reasonable prices.

Restaurants:
The hotel has a number of restaurants, however we ate out most of the time as Singapore has such great restaurants at cheaper prices.

Pools:
The main pool is very big, but patrons from the restaurants are basically seated next to this pool, which did not feel comfortable to us. We spent most of our time in the smaller pool in another area of the hotel.

Both pools were never crowded, were crystal clear and clean. Lovely landscaping around them.

Little extras
The concierge was very helpful, organised transfers and tickets to Universal studios at a moments notice.
House keeping supervisors(?) double checking that we were happy with how our room had been cleaned.
Complementary bottled water, newspaper and nespresso coffee pods replenished daily. Acknowledgment with a smile, nod or greeting by name from staff as you walk by.

Stay again?
Yes we would, in a heart beat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Dan639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi Dan639,

It’s our pleasure to have you and your family back with us again!

I am really glad to hear that your stay was a memorable experience. Our team members will be very encouraged and motivated to continue delivering high standards of services to our guests when they hear of your kind and generous compliments. However I do regret that your request was not met upon check-in. This feedback had been shared with the reservations team and they have been advised to inform guests prior to arrival if we are not able to meet their request.

With regards to the bathroom, it will be further discussed with the Executive Housekeeper and we will look into options to enhance the experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing the lovely photos and we look forward to extending another warm welcome back again soon! Please feel free to contact the reservation team at +65 6730 1811 or email rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com if you need assistance on your next visit to Singapore or visit the hotel’s website for exclusive packages.

Best Regards
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

i booked a pool suite for 2 nights in April over the easter weekend to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Overall it was a fantastic stay and i will definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel in orchard that provides good value. You will find more details below:

Location:
The hotel is located at Scotts road which is near to far east plaza and Ion. It is within walking distance to Orchard MRT so it is pretty convenient. However if you are travelling with young kids or old folks it can be tiring as the walk back to the hotel involve a gentle slope. It is also not connected directly to the MRT and can be a problem when it rains

Check in/out:
Check in was relatively fast. There was no queue and all the requests which i indicated in my booking was taken are off without me having to ask. i was able to check into my room when i arrived at 12pm ahead of the standard checkin hours which is a bonus. The only issue that i faced was that the staff was not very familiar with the terms of the suite package that i took up but apart from that i have no complaints.

Check out process was quick and hassle free. The final bill was accurate and they also gave me the complimentary parking ticket without me having to ask for it. Full marks here.

Room:
The suite that i had was large, clean, spacious and had direct access to the main swimming pool. It has all the standard ammenities including a nespresson machine for coffee lovers. sound from the corridor can be clearly heard in the living room but this wasn't a concern as the bedroom area has a seprate door which can be closed. The kids loved the direct access to the pool from the room! I also like the fact that you do not have to take a lift to reach your room as most of the rooms were on the ground floor.

Food:

Breakfast:
One of the things that we loved most about staycation is the breakfast. This is one area that goodwood park definitely needs to work on. The buffet breakfast that we had was very basic and lack variety and quality.There is only one live station for eggs so if you are looking for great breakfast like what they have in Shangrila, Ritz or pan pacific you need to look somewhere else.

Lunch/Dinner:
The hotel has various restaurants and buffets which we tried during our stay. We had lunch at Gordon Grill after having read about this restaurant in various reviews and it lived up to its reputation. the set lunch was reasonably priced and we loved the fact that we can sample the various appetizers, soups and desert that they have to offer as part of the set. We also tried the popular Taiwan porride buffet and was equally impressed with the quality of the food. If you are a fan of desserts then High tea at L Espresso is the place to go. There's always a crowd here when we walked past so i assume it must be pretty good. Unfortunately we did not have a chance to try this as we chose to have high tea at Min Jiang (so that the kids dun get high on sugar) which turn out to be rather average. Overall i loved the food here and i think they are very reasonably priced. Kids below 6 dine for free at the buffets and they have wonderful desserts at all their buffet (even the Taiwanese porridge have them). If you have a sweet tooth this is the place for u :)

Facilities:
The hotel has two pools one main pool near the restaurants and another one within the hotel near the rooms. Nothing fanciful here but my kids loved the pool here as it is not crowded and the water temperature was not too cold. The hotel also has a small gym which offers the basic treadmill, a multi station gym and free weights. I have definitely seen much better gyms out there but unless you are into serious body building this will probably not make much of a difference.

Service:
The staffs that we've met are very polite and always smilling. The house keeping was great so full marks here as well. The hotel even gave us a complementary birthday cake knowing that we are celebrating our daughter's birthday. Great service!

Overall i had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel. It is great value for money given the various freebies that comes along with the package. Would definitely consider Goodwood Park again for my next staycation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkw-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi mkw-sg,

Thank you for choosing the Goodwood Park Hotel to celebrate your daughter’s birthday and I am glad it was an enjoyable stay.

I will definitely share your generous compliments with the team and they will be delighted and motivated to continue delivering high level of service standards to all our guests.

With regards to the breakfast selections, I will share your feedback with our culinary team. Please be assured that we are consistently reviewing the selections to enhance the variety for our guests.

Once again, it was our pleasure to have you and your family with us. If we can be of any assistance for your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team or visit the hotel’s website for exclusive packages and promotions.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned home after having 6 wonderful weeks at this hotel (HUSBAND WAS WORKING IN SINGAPORE)we had a pool suite which along with the location had everything you could want.a very comfortable bed tea -coffee making facilities.Breakfast was very good with cooked to order eggs variety of fresh fruit.The staff in every department of the hotel were excellent they made our stay most enjoyable. The english high tea was fantastic with a huge variety on offer.Very handy for the main shopping area of orchard rd the mrt a short distance away.this hotel could not do enough to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allybally26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#47 of 316 in Singapore
4,431 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#36 of 316 in Singapore
2,431 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#42 of 316 in Singapore
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £140 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing