We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great service - terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #70 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great service - terrible restaurant”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

After two weeks in Italy, the contrast with Italian hotels was dramatic, with a brilliant welcome and sense of arrival, both in terms of service and the facilities. Room was excellent in every sense - everything you would expect in a five star hotel in a great location with great service. Our only mistake was to stay in the hotel for lunch, we found the Schezuan Court Restaurant to be a real disappointment, friendly service staff let down by really terrible (and I mean terrible!) food. This isn't an issue for other travellers, just make sure you seek out one of the many other restaurants surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandQuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear PortlandQuay,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. On another hand, we are disappointed that the food at Szechuan court is not to your taste. Your feedback has been shared with our Food & Beverage section.

We do hope to be of service to you again & do return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,439
    2,903
    986
    310
    179
See reviews for
2,147
2,184
480
2,054
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

It is unfortunate that trusted websites such as booking.com and tripadvisor, etc were all flooded with rosy but bizarre reviews of this property in Singapore. The majority gave this property 4-5 out of 5 which I took for granted. Too late, trying to write an honest review of my own, I read some of the "rosy" reviews and actually between the lines you can see the same issues are coming up again and again. However, the reviewers, for one reason or another; neglected all the bad things and only scored for the good points (mostly location or something to do with the location of the hotel). The management of the hotel is actually very good in reply to every single reviewer with thanks and offer promises of even better service they come back to the Swissotel.

Here is my recent experience with this hotel. I booked it basically because of the location (just 5 minute walk to Suntec City). I have to admit that I also booked it because of the high scores from reviewers. I Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The lobby is large and welcoming but the service is slow despite 2 front desks. The doorman takes your bags and give you a ticket while you check in. Then the bags go up to your room (he takes them up if you are willing to wait for few hours for your bags) or just refuse the ticket and hang on to your bags! There were hordes of people in the lobby (feels like you’re in an airport terminal rather than a comfy hotel lobby). These people are not necessarily hotel guests (I was told). They can be easily people walking in and out of the connected shopping mall or metro stations.

The room I stayed in was on the 14th floor (not much of a view really!). Outdated wooden furniture The bed is uncomfortable (spring). The linen, bed sheets, etc were worn out. The bathroom has been renovated but I guess it is the drainage system that did not work well and thus the rooms smelled of stagnant sewage. The TV is and LCD but there are only 20 some channels half of them were Chinese! Wireless internet was available in the lobby and being tested in the guestrooms. The internet is slow and periodically disconnects (wireless or wired). For this "service" you pay additional S$28 plus taxes per day regardless!

My deal did not include breakfast. I wanted to try it, however, I dismissed the idea when I was faced a long line up. Instead, walked 3 minutes, sat and eat breakfast at a nearby place and paid a fraction of what I was going to pay at the hotel!!

There is a large and well-appointed swimming pool. The gym is at the Fairmont Hotel (connected to the hotel). The gym is reasonably stocked with cardio machines as well as weights, etc. Very crowded for 2 hotels to share one gym and therefore you should know that you may have to take turns sometimes with waiting times that what your schedule may allow.

The location (which gives this property all the stars) is good. There is a connected shopping complex with lots of eateries, coffee shops, etc. The hotel is also within walking distance from Suntec City, Marine bay, etc.

In summary, there is nothing new I wrote here today. These points were raised before. Logically if you're cost-effective, you won't be staying at the Swissotel the Stamford again given the current situation of this property and the unmatched "room only" rates. There are plenty of choices within walking distance of this hotel. Most of the so called business friendly or business hotels provide services such as free internet, business center services and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated ones if you really have to stay here (there are better hotels within walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelkit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Travelkit2011,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.

Thank you very much for taking the time to detail your thoughts & most importantly, for sharing it with us. We are very appreciative of your feedback, & we view it constructively. It is always good to 'voice' your experiences because it is a learning opportunity for us to turn things around.

We will work towards gaining your trust again & once more, thank you for giving us a chance to do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed again in “The Stamford” for 5 nights. Tallest building of Singapore with more than 70 floors. We had an executive-club room on the 59th floor, Marina Bay View, which is simply great.
Take the the long bank in front of your bed, put it outside on the small balcony and enjoy the the buzzing and humming of the night and the illuminated view of the town.
On our last day they had started the preparations for the F1 and we could see the racing course illuminated – whow!.
The hotel is not really 5 stars, but the room is big enough, the bathroom could be renovated, there are no towelholders, the scales in both rooms we stayed in showed 5 kg less than at home and made me happy, but acually they were totally rusty and useless.
The entrance of the hotel is 100 footsteps from the MRT station CityHall which is a great advantage.
Often long queues at reception. For the club rooms you ask some of the staff to let you up to the 60th floor so you can check-in there(elevators require your keycard to function and give access only to certain floors).
Breakfast and snacks in the evening in the executive lounge is good, the service is friendly and attentive.
The prices are rather on the high side.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear voyager-liese,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are happy that you loved our spectacular views. Thank you very much for the feedback on the room faciliities, we have shared with everyone accordingly.

We do hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,335 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,051 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The Swissotel Stamford is a well located hotel in Singapore.

It's near the Raffles Place shopping center and the MRT station.

The rooms are modern, comfortable and well appointed.

The rooms on the Marina Bay side of the hotel building offer a great view of the Marina Bay, including the Sands casino, the cricket ground, and the city skyline.

It's a good place to staty for viewing the F1 car race, as the race can be viewed from the balcony.

Highly recommended as a good base will staying in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear AdelaidianTraveller,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are glad that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights in september to coincide with our wedding anniversary. This is a large hotel and home for many airline crews including ba and qantas. Spite the hotel being large and busy the efficiency at checking was superb. I was recognised by name at the door and whisked straight to a checking desk and helped by a gentleman named Daniel who had noted that this was a stay for my wedding anniversary and gave us a lovel room on floor 39 (there are 70 floors) overlooking the harbour.

The rom was not especially modern but was in excellent condition with fabulous views and is of a good size. The location of the hotel is superb right next to city hall mrt and a short walk from clark quay.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear p750777,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore! Happy Anniversary!

We are thrilled to learn that your stay was a success. We are honored to be part of your memory on such a special occasion.

We hope to be a part of your celebrations from now & see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have written a previous review about this hotel and have since stayed there numerous times and feel that I have to update my view. The location is great, right in the middle of Singapore above raffles place mall with fantastic views from most rooms and the service has improved slowly but surely.
My last stay here was during the GP where the hotel was absolutely full, I noticed that in the lobby quietly sitting on the couches were seven scantily dressed asian prostitutes waiting for customers! I was shocked! I thought to myself that maybe they are there waiting for a party upstairs and gave them the benefit of the doubt but then saw one of them being propositioned by a customer and whisked of to a room. It's as if during GP week the Swissotel turns into a high class version of Patong.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracenjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear tracenjimmy,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore.

We want to assure all of our guests that our hotel certainly does not condone prostitution. Our Hotel is very family friendly and guest oriented, and we take pride in assuring customer satisfaction. We take all feedback very seriously, and this has been brought to the attention of our Director Of Security.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Swisshotel Stamford is rated as a 5 star hotel however if you are looking for luxury in S ingapore I would recommend  other properties I have visited before such as The Raffles, the Ritz Carlton or The Marina Bay Sands (the latter only if you are prepared to queue for hours to have your breakfast). I have selected Swisshotel because during Grand Prix week the rooms were reasonably priced compared to the ones offered by the above hotels and I was looking for a hotel conveniently located by the race track. My room was a suite on the 58th floor with a spectacular view of the circuit and club access. The club lounge was very good offering a wide array of drinks and food plus free internet (same in the lobby area but no free wireless in the room). Room service was decent although portions were very small. Had a minor problem in my room which was sorted promptly.Tried the Willow Spa which is shared with the Fairmont and although oldish the treatments were professionally carried out (and very highly priced...). The hotel is connected to a huge shopping mall and two metro lines so overall it is  very convenient for that too.Overall I would go back during race period but otherwise I would stay at The Raffles if with my significant other.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDIvoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear JDIvoire,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred choice of accommodation during F1, and in taking precious time to share your comments with all.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#18 of 315 in Singapore
5,948 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 315 in Singapore
7,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 315 in Singapore
3,889 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,229 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 315 in Singapore
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing