We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #67 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location & hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very convenient location - right on the public transport links, easy walking to places like Raffles / Chimes and everyone locally knows where it is, so easy for cabs etc. This place is enormous, as it's linked to the Fairmont and conference centre, so if you're looking for a quiet / boutique option this probably isn't for you.
Check-in when I arrived (about 9pm) was very quiet - seamless, professional, but the queues at about 6pm were very long, although processed efficiently Vegas style. Good-sized room on 46th floor, with fantastic view from a proper balcony. Small-ish bathroom, but good products. No free wifi. Pool area / spa are well equipped. Would stay here again, due to location / friendly staff etc. but essentially it's a professionally run business hotel, so would look for something quieter on holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor you can, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NkkLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location, seamless check-in, room size, fantastic views, amenities and the service. We take most pleasure from your comments on the friendly and professional staff. Indeed the hotel is buzzing all year round and hence we take pleasure to know that despite this you still found our service ot be professional efficient and friendly.

If you prefer somewhere quieter and yet would not sacrifice the location and quality, we would highly recommend Fairmont Singapore, our sister hotel connected to the same shopping mall but on the other side.

Still, we hope you would always come back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,332
    2,790
    954
    299
    169
See reviews for
2,064
2,105
462
1,992
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I have been staying at the Swissotel on and off for many years. When I first stayed there around 10 years ago I thought it was the best place I had ever stayed. I went back recently and was surprised and how much it felt just like any other hotel - it also felt a little like an add on to the neighbouring mall rather than a 4 star location and had lost some of its class. Having said that, it's still great - just not as memorable as it once was.

Service is very polite and helpful although there is some queing at reception for check in and check out - reception seems a little small to deal with the large amount of through traffic that there is - every time I have stayed its been fully packed. This is the same for breakfast - food on offer is fabulos but there have been quite some queues at peak hours and I found it very hard to get in and out quickly. If you have the time to invest in a full on breakfast it has everything from traditional English to Asian, to swiss, as well as a good selection of fruits and juices. I never usually go for the healthier options in hotels - preferring the luxury of a fry up instead but the swissotel healthier option looked and was so tasty that I surprised myself by choosing it day after day.

Rooms are fine although a little old fashioned now - it has everything you need, the bed is very comfortable and there is a a control panel directly at the bedside which allows you to adjust practically everything centrally. The higher level rooms obviously have a better view - the tower overlooks the marina on its front side. The bathroom was a bit disappointing for a hotel of its standard - would have preferred a more modern shower

Location is great -its right on the orchard road which has lots of restaurants and is close enough to the marina to walk it. Its also within walking distance to the famous raffles bar.
A shopping mall with food court and supermarket is within the same building which is handy.
There are also various restaurants within the hotel complex - I ate at the one on the first floor,(cope tiam?) where breakfast is also served. It had a lot of swiss dishes - such as raclette - food and service were of a good quality.There is also the equinox bar on the 38th floor - this is a great place if there is a crowd there - I enjoyed many nights of dancing here. At quieter times it acts as a nice restaurant with a view
The spa is fantastic - its worth spending some time there - the entrance is from the pool area - also good.
All in all its a pleasant hotel but it does not seem to have moved with the times. With the amount of people now packed in there, it does not feel as exclusive as it once was.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morts109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed and positive review, and thank you for coming back to stay with us over the years!

We are glad to know that we are “still great”, in-spite of the dramatic growth in hotel competition in the past 5 years. Our apologies on the queues during check-in and breakfast – as you rightly pointed out, this hotel is fully packed and buzzing all year round.

Indeed, there are 9 food & beverage outlets at Swissotel the Stamford, Kopitiam and Café Swiss serving breakfast as well as lunch and dinner. Over at our sister hotel Fairmont Singapore, there are another 7 food & beverage outlets for our guests to enjoy. We will let the chef know your compliments on the healthy and tasty options at breakfast!

We will also certainly forward your feedback to the Willow Stream Spa. As regards the room conditions, your feedback are definitely noted. You might like to know that we are currently incorporating guests’ feedback for our future refurbishment plans.

Your compliments are a great encouragement to the team, especially those relating to service delivery. Please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels, but will continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Recently returned from 3 nights at the Swissotel and we loved it. The location was amazing, you can get anywhere in Singapore without going outside (if you wanted to!). Loved the city link walk to Marina square mall. Had a great corner room on 19th floor. Amazing view, we watched the laser light show at Marina bay sands from our balcony. Breakfast at Cafe Swiss was amazing, every possible type of food you could think of. Concierge helpful with all our questions. Only complaint, no free wifi anywhere in hotel, it was $28 a day if you pais for it. Tip: head to mcdonalds at bottom of building for wifi!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Vonda,

We take pleasure to know that you loved your recent stay. You might like to know that we are currently reviewing our wifi pricing.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel recently (mid November) and the continue improvement made in upgrading the hotel facilities are amazing. Hotel guests were not inconvenient due to well organised management planning.

I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in this hotel.

My compliment to the hotel employee and management.

Room Tip: corner room and any floor room no. - - 30 onwards facing the Singapore casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adstone888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We’re glad to know that you had a very comfortable stay and were not inconvenienced by the hotel’s preventive maintenance program.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newzealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Wonderfully located, the Hotel is as anonymous and clinical as all chain hotels. 11 days staying here felt like being checked into any large institution. The constant failure of the door locking system, ( four nights in a row when you've spent ten minutes getting to your 53rd floor room gets irritating) the 45 minute wait for a bucket of ice, and then it arrives after you've canceled it and gone to bed. Perfunctory apologies.
But the biggest rip off is the internet charges. They are outlandish. There is no justification for wanting to charge over $250 for 11 nights. My data plan for a year at home costs me that.
Yes you can go to Starbucks in the mall downstairs, but there is simply no excuse for an overpriced hotel to be gouging business people with these sorts of charges.
The doormen look positively sloppy in their doc marten boots and comical hats.
The bed was awful, a joined together king bed that sloped.
And breakfast was so expensive it was silly. The mall has cheaper options so dont waste the money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Rest assured that your feedback on the keycard, ice delivery and bed comfort will be forwarded to the relevant departments for follow-up.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s great location and are currently reviewing the wifi pricing.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford.

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

My daughter and I spent three nights here on a stopover from France July 2012.
We were upgraded to the 19th floor with a magic view of Marina Bay when our original room had a plumbing glitch.
All staff were so polite and helpful at all times.
Wonderful location for shopping without having to leave the building. This suited us well, as we didn't have to face the humidity outside
There is a wonderful Italian restaurant on the ground floor off the reception area we enjoyed very much.

My other daughter is holidaying in Singapore with a mate next February and after our glowing report, they are going to stay there as well.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a view of the bay. The lights are wonderful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing review! We greatly appreciate your compliments on the magical views, helpful staff, Prego restaurant and the convenience of the location.

We can’t wait to welcome your daughter and her mate next February!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Clean and very comfortable hotel with attentive staff in a great location. My only complaint is the price of the internet. S$28 (about 23 USD) for one computer for 24 hours. A big rip off. No internet for free anywhere in the hotel. Fortunately there is a starbucks within an easy walk inside the mall.

Room Tip: Get one of the high floor rooms. I didn't see the harbor view, but I'm not sure it's wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanuarySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments on the hotel’s cleanliness, comfort and location. We are currently reviewing our wifi pricing.

Look forward to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,605 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,855 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,357 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing