We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #69 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is in a great location and thats why I would stay here again. The hotel is built onto raffles city shopping mall and MRT station.

We found the best price was to book through the hotel website directly and not via asiarooms/agoda, etc.

The place is so large that it has a very impersonal feel. Staff wear black suits and all have an ear piece (think FBI agents).

Check in and out took ages for no discernable reason (there weren't many people in front of us). Luckily Serj walked up and down the queue of people and made some chit chat to pass the time. If you don't have much luggage just take it to your room yourself to save the wait.

The view was lovely, providing your room is on the marina bay side. It's not easy to sit on the balcony though because it is so narrow. The tea provided in the room was really nice. The shower pressure was amazing.The gym / pool is shared with the fairmont hotel and is very good.

Food and drink available at crazy prices in the hotel and from your minibar.
Sushi Tei located in the mall downstairs is good place for dinner/lunch
There is a supermarket in the basement of the mall where you can pick up some food/drinks for your room.

This is not the place for young families or honeymooners.

If you want to eat at the equinox restaurant they surcharge you $20 to sit at the window. Unbelievable ! It should simply be on first-come-first-served basis.

No 1 Complaint : NO FREE WIFI AT ALL, NOT EVEN IN THE LOBBY !!! In this day an age, that is really mean. You'll have to go to nearby starbucks for free wifi. For this reason and the slow check in / out I rate it average.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view towards marina bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_Traveller_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on the hotel’s great location, view and amenities. At the same time, we note your feedback on the check-in and check-out.

At the Equinox Restaurant, all our hotel guests enjoy a waiver of the $20 charge for window seats. We are also pleased to inform that with effect from 1 Jan 2013, all Swissotel Circle members will enjoy complimentary internet. Registration to Swissotel Circle program is itself complimentary and can be completed quickly at www.swissotel.com/circle/ .

We hope you will be able to enjoy these benefits the next time you stay with us at Swissotel the Stamford.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,213 - 5,219 of 8,116 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here December 2010 for two nights. The room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were early but the staff at reception offered us a roomto shower and took our cases. The room was huge and had every modern convenience you could ask for but the best bit was the view....wow.having stayed in singapore before I still don't get tired of the view of marina bay and the flyer. Breakfast wasn't included but there is a mall just around the corner with plenty of eating places and the mrt is there as well. The rates at weekend seemed to be cheaper as less business people staying. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickandrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the many positive comments such as the arrival experience, room size, view and the location. Please rest assured that we will not rest on our laurels and will continue our pursuit for excellence in service as our credo is having a Passion For Perfection.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A nice hotel in the center of Singapore near the metro station with an excellent view of the city. The stuff of the hotel was very kind and gentle. The major minus is that the room was not very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoutsodontisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re glad to hear that you had a great stay, especially your compliments on the staff. At the same time, your feedback on the cleanliness will be directed to the housekeeping department for follow-up. Thank you for choosing Swissotel the Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My partner and myself stayed a total of 4 nights in the Swissotel. Given the apparent good reputation of the hotel, we cannot but feel disappointed at the service we received. We found the front desk staff particularly to be abrupt, rude and not very friendly. For the price we paying, this hotel really didn't make you feel special and poor staff attitude did not help. The rooms were quite average, breakfast was not included and you had to pay $28 (sing dollar) for wifi each day should you want it.

On a more positive note, the gym facilities was great and location of the hotel is rather central to shopping and transportation.

If we were to visit Singapore again, we'll be sure to choose a different hotel that matches the value of what we will be paying.

B & T

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Ben,

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. The issues you mentioned are certainly not acceptable for our hotel. Rest assured that we will direct your feedback to the front desk for follow-up.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s amenities and the convenience of the location. With effect from 1 January 2013, complimentary internet access is extended to all Swissotel Circle members. Registration for the membership itself is complimentary and can be completed quickly at www.swissotel.com/circle/.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel the Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

There are positives and negatives about this hotel. On the negative it is extremely busy with multiple airlines staying here arriving and departing day and night. It's pretty impersonal although we got good service from the concierge who recommended somewhere to have Christmas lunch which turned out to be excellent. The lift for the lower floors didn't stop at the pool deck due to maintenance which was a major inconvenience during this very busy season. The buffet is overpriced as are all the food outlets within the hotel. However, the view makes up for everything! It's all about location and this hotel has it. Need a cheap alternative for food go to the terrific food court downstairs for anything you could wish for at any price range, take it to your room and soak up that view. It's our third trip to Singapore and third time in this hotel and that view continues to impress.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you stay in a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Sonia,

Thank you for your yearly patronage! We’re glad that you enjoyed the Christmas lunch and the view from your room. At the same time, we note your feedback on the elevators and buffet pricing.

We look forward to your 4th visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at swisshotel Stamford for five nights in dec 2012.
Overall we were happy with our stay - the location is terrific, the range of food choices brilliant and the gym is first class- however there were a couple of things that could have been better with the hotel and service. Check in was crowded and inefficient and we did not receive our luggage from porter until 10pm that evening (we checked in at 3pm). Was an inconvenience as we wanted to go out and needed some of our luggage contents.
The breakfasts at the Swiss cafe here are terrific and plentiful (there are often queues but only for five-10mins). The Singaporean restaurant , (forgotten the name, starts with 'K'..), food was just above average but the service was terrific . The only other gripe we had was the very hard beds and huge pillows. Made for uncomfortable sleep and that wasn't ideal for a holiday.
We found the people of Singapore and the staff at Swisshotel to be mostly friendly. Many of them were warm and generous in giving directions or a smile.
We loved that we could access the department stores without leaving the building . This would probably be good enough reason to come and stay here again, although we will probably stay at out the adjoining Fairmont next time.
I advise everyone , when they come to Singapore to make sure you see the REAL Singapore, not just the department stores. While you can pick up a great bargain now and then, we got such joy from exploring the sights sounds and smells of Little India and the Chinese and Arab quarters. So much culture and so many unique experiences. Arab st and Haji lane were our highlights.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choops3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We take pleasure to know you had a great stay and greatly appreciate your compliments, but most of all that our staff were warm and engaging. The staff at Kopitiam will be very motivated by your comment that their service was terrific.

At the same time, we note your feedback on the front desk, luggage delivery and bed comfort and will direct them to the relevant departments for follow up.

Indeed, there are a lot more uniquely Singapore experiences than just the department stores!

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed at the Swissotel for 3 nights at the beginning of December.
I arrived at 6pm and was told my room was not ready. This was a little frustrating, as I needed to go out again quickly to make sure I met with dinner plans. The front desk staff were helpful and apologetic and gave me free breakfast and wifi for my stay and I used the shower in the spa. However, the time delay meant that I missed dinner with friends, and this was not great.
When I did return, I was shown up to my room. It was quite boring and smelt like smoke combined with bad cleaning products. I couldn't stay in it, the smell was horrible. I was upgraded to a room with a harbour view that didn't smell like smoke. The whole time the staff were amazing, super helpful and so friendly!
The view was fantastic! The balcony was a lovely surprise. It was amazing. The majority of the time I was back in the room, I was out on the balcony admiring the view. The room itself was OK. Many people have commented on the outdated decor, and I agree. Much in need of a refurb! The carpet just looks sad. It was really difficult to find power points. The bathroom was OK. The bed was great though - really comfortable. The pillows made for a great night's sleep.
The pool area is quite dull. I went intending for a nice swim, but I headed for the spa instead. The little pools in the spa are great! Much better and so relaxing. Excellent way to spend an afternoon - really gorgeous.
In terms of the location, it would be hard to get better. It's right on top of Raffles City and the MRT, opposite Raffles hotel, and so easy to grab a taxi at any time of day or night.
The concierge staff, the front desk staff (Ain and JY) - all amazing. Nothing bothered them and nothing was too much trouble. Polite and professional at all time, and aside from that, they were so friendly. They were interested, interesting and smiled, and just made the stay a lot more personal. It was such a nice change from other hotels!
The breakfast staff (especially Peter) were probably the best I have encountered. They were attentive, again so friendly, and anything that wasn't there they were only too happy to try and find. It was such a great way to start each day. The variety was great.
Overall it was a really good stay. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the decor - otherwise it would be perfect! The staff make it - just amazing.

Room Tip: You must get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybeetler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review! We’re glad that you had an amazing stay and greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s service, staff, great view, bed conditions and the convenience of the location. We will definitely convey your compliments to Ain, JY and the team as an inspiration to continue their great work! At the same time, we apologise for your arrival experience, the room smell and missing your dinner – we will be sure to follow up with the relevant departments.

Regarding the room decor, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a refurbishment of guestrooms in the near future.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 317 in Singapore
6,268 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 317 in Singapore
4,057 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#45 of 317 in Singapore
6,196 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#63 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £133 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing