We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for the Rooms, Expensive F&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #63 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Rooms, Expensive F&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Location is great for both tourists and business travellers. Rooms are fairly big and have all amenities needed. Views are magnificent. The rooms offer very good value.

Do not expect any level of charm or cosiness.

The hotel seems to make up for its fairly priced rooms by charging an arm and a leg for all other services. The fact that there is not a single place in the hotel that offers free wifi is very annoying when the alternative is purchasing access for as much as $30 a day.

Room Tip: Choose a High Floor, Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank User124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,313
    2,759
    945
    295
    166
See reviews for
2,043
2,084
462
1,978
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Hotel is nice at a fantastic location, but its getting old. Forniture, bathroom and colors look very old shool. I imagine it was a great hotel at the time it was build, but these days its just a regular hotel at a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Ivan,

Thank you for the feedback and compliments! Regarding the room conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a Singapore Air stop-over package, so it included vouchers to may of the leading attractions in Singapore and a 50% discount on food eaten in the cheapest hotel restaurant which was worth having. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room on the 42nd floor had a fabulous view over Singapore. The buffet breakfast was great but expensive at $44, but as we only had to pay half it was ok. The room was large, clean and quiet and they offered us the use of their hospitality room on the last day as we had a late flight, so we could shower and wait comfortably at no extra cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steyningtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting the many positive points of your recent stay such as the service, staff, great buffet spread, fabulous city view and the large & clean room.

We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Swissotel the Stamford is a great place to stay in Singapore. Service was great. We stayed there twice in 2 weeks. First stay, the rooms were not prepared with ekstrabeds for our kids, but the staff was friendly and quickly fixed it. Second stay we were upgraded to an absolutely divine suite on the 64th floor - absolutey georgous with spectacular view of the city. Great experience.
Location is great - easy to acces Orchard Road by metro, taxi or by walking. Can definitely recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Henry,

We take pleasure to hear about your fantastic stay and appreciate your many positive comments such as the spectacular city view, great experience and the fantastic location.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

The best thing about Swissotel the Stamford is the location; it's in the Raffles Complex, adjacent to the mall, easily accessible...it's an excellent base for sight seeing around Singapore. Plenty of shops, restaurants and some tourist spots are walking distance from the hotel.

The rooms are nothing fancy, and not too big...but comfortable and well kept.

The Equinox restaurant on Level 70 is worth a visit, although be prepared to pay good money more for the wonderful view than the food. The food wasn't bad at all -- perhaps, some dishes were even good. But for the price, we expected it to be more impressive and memorable. Would go again though, because it does give one of the best views of SIngapore...probably for cocktails and a snack!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chimenebelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re elated to hear about your great stay. Your compliments will only spur us to continue seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience. Regarding your feedback on the food, we will follow it up with the chef. You might like to know that Equinox Restaurant serves a semi-buffet lunch, buffet high tea as well as a la carte dinner – any of these meal periods will present our diners the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular Singapore skyline.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We only stayed one night as a stop over. It suited our needs perfectly. It is very close to the MRT and was very easy to find which was a priority for us as we were travelling with a 7 year old who had just arrived after an 8 hour flight. The rooms were on the smallish side, but it is singapore and we weren't spending much time there. We specifically asked for a room fairly high with a view of the bay, they were very great in ensureing that we received it. They even upgraded our room for free to ensure we had the view we wanted.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the bay as high as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive comments. We take pleasure to know that you had a great stay and that we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Attached restaurants and shopping, good location central to many city sites, little pricey, top floor bar has good views, pleasant staff at reception desk. Hotel seems a little out of date with decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sue,

We’re glad to hear about your recent stay. Regarding the hotel decor, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for a refurbishment in the future.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,534 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,722 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,268 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing