We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #69 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is well-located for all the activities of Singapore - shopping, eating, casino, Little India, and so on. The train is downstairs, taxis are plentiful and the area has lots of places to eat and drink. The top floors have fabulous views from the bars and functions rooms.

Check-in was magnificent. I had a hotel limo, and on arrival was greeted by name and taken directly to the room and check-in was done there. The room I had was clean, well-presented and very functional. The bathroom was a bit tired, and in need of updating. But whose hair was that on the floor?

Didn't get my morning newspaper, and when I asked again, still didn't get it. Not a big deal, but the only let down on some very good service. Breakfast was average and very busy as the hotel is big and busy, meaning lines waiting to get in and at the buffet.

Check-out was efficient and quick.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Kevin,

It makes us happy to know that you had a good stay and enjoyed the hotel’s efficient service, seamless check-in/out, fabulous views, wide variety of shops and restaurants in the vicinity, well appointed and clean room, good service and the convenient location. We have noted your feedback on the newspaper and bathroom cleanliness. Regarding the bathroom conditions, we are glad to inform that plans are underway for refurbishment in the near future.

We look forward to your next visit to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,253 - 4,259 of 8,116 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the Stamford while on a business trip across Asia. This is a good property well located in Singapore. Nice large rooms with good views but furniture is a bit dated. Good room service and decent breakfast amenities although air conditioned room has very old furniture. Overall this property offers good value for money but nothing very special or unique about the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear saadb,

Thank you for the many compliments especially the spacious room, good views, great service and the convenience of the location.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is perfectly situated for a walk around the city as well as close MRT stations. Beautiful view over the Singapore river, Boat Quay and city areas

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Shelley,

Thank you for the review. Your feedback has also been noted and followed-up through our Market Metrix guest survey. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Once again a great period with attentive staff, comfortable accommodation and great location for our needs. Some consideration could be given to some "included / free" internet connection time for non-business travelers depending on the level of accommodation chosen.

Room Tip: For additional space if you have friends or family visiting whilst in Singapore - choose a corner Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Easy to reach by a S$20 taxi ride from the airport or by MRT to City Hall station that is connected with the hotel.

Room was good size with fair range of amenities that were acceptable but dated. I would have expected centrally controlled electric curtains and lighting. As it was everything was functional rather than impressive.

However, 2 x 330ml bottles of water each day is a nice extra touch as was the extensive range of guest toiletries.

My most significant complaint was the lack of access to the balcony. Balconies are listed as key features on their website and yet all are now locked to guests. In my case this meant that the harbour view, that I paid extra for,was only half a view.

Consequently, two money saving tips are:-

1) Without access to the balcony the Harbour views are not much better than the basic view so don't waste money on the premium.

2)Room wifi costs US$22 per gadget per night i.e. smartphone + tablet = US$44 per night. However if you join Swissotel Circle before check-in the wifi free and of a very high standard.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay again but the property could do with some refurbishment to make it sparkle.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the harbour view - you won't see it now that the balcony is locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Givemelegroom,

We’re glad to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s spacious room, bathroom amenities and the great location. At the same time we note your feedback and will revert it to the relevant department for follow up.

Regarding the wifi issue, you might like to know that effective from 1 January 2013, all Swissotel Circle members are given complimentary internet access as one of the host of benefits. Registration itself is hassle-free and can be quickly completed at www.swissotel.com/circle.
We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were booked at the hotel for 2 nights in a harbour view room and were upgraded to one of the Crest Suites on level 66. One word - wow. Service was amazing, room service food was delicious. Location was excellent - pretty much on top of the city hall MRT station and in close walking distance to a number of attractions. Will stay here again next time we are in Singapore.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank samjr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed on the 21/11/13 to the 23/11/13 before a cruise. On check in we were told the room we had booked (Harbour View with King sized bed) was not available only had room with 2 single beds, not good for a honeymoon. Staff were very efficient and handled the problem very well with an upgrade and a lovely bottle of red wine in our room. Location is great with a shopping mall and food market underneath which was useful and also your right opposite Raffles and a bus stop for the city tour.
We would probably say that the view from the hotel( which had 2 balconys ) of the city and harbour was the highlight of our stay because if you not into shopping or eating things to do are limited.The only fault was that I felt there could be a/c in the lifts and lobby of the hotel as its very humid and hot but the room a/c was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelTheStamford, Quality Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Andy,

Thank you for spending your memorable occasion with us. It makes us happy to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your compliments on the hotel’s efficient staff, great service, wide variety of shops and restaurants in the area and the great location are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Yash Bhanage
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 317 in Singapore
6,266 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#57 of 317 in Singapore
4,057 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#45 of 317 in Singapore
6,196 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#63 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £133 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing