We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms with spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #72 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The Stamford is a great hotel located next to the historic Raffles hotel. The building is a 72-storey high riser offering spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown areas. A shopping mall is integrated in the building and a large number of restaurants and shops are available without having to leave the building. Please make sure you visit the Equinox Restaurant on the 71st floor. It will be hard to beat this view from your dinner table!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunFunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2009

Dear FunFunction,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for your great recommendation to others about us. We appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience.

Looking forward to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,197 - 6,203 of 7,971 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

After 3 years we went backto our favorite Singapore hotel fora week. We decided to go to Singapore becauseConrad was runninga special for an excecutive suite but when it came time to book we just couldn't do itit. Although a bit more expensive, we decided to stick with our old favorite the Stamford Swisshotel and were not disappointed.

We stayed on the executive floor and as reviewers havenoted the view is magnificent. Our pre-check-in requests of earlycheck-in and special newspaper were granted immediately.
Yes, the roomsare a bit old style but this does not mean tired. For me it means comfortable. THe espresso maker and daily teas from Singapore's new luxury tea brand are a nice touch and the daily selection of appetizers in the lounge were as varied as they were tasty. Excellent selection of cheeses.
Big kudos go to Ms. Ang who manages the Alligator Pear the poolside restaurant. Most guests don't seem to know breakfast outsideisan option-wonderful cheeses, breads and fresh and dried fruit and nut selectionas wellas smoked salmon and meats. She and her staff never failed to address every guest by name. They are gems and greatly responsiblefor the wonderful guest experience. Alligator Pear also serves great and HEALTHY poolside fare.
My partner suggested with just stay in Tokyo for the week and save money-real recession mode.I said that I didn't want to cook, Ididn't want toclean, I didn't want to think!!!Swisshotel delivered. Our room was cleaned at least twice a day!!! I got exactly what I wanted!!! Housekeeping was way beyond what one expects. Too bad it is only for vacation.
The gym as always which opens super early-530 AM, was a big part of our trip and the new amenities in the shower/spa area were ones that one would want to take home. Even showering felt like vacation.
The locationis unbeatable.Downstairs to the metro in the same building and you can go anywhere.
Of course with oneweekthere will be a few hiccups. Restaurants are shared with the Fairmount (we stayed one night and it is very nice too but our heart is at Swisshotel) so ifyou are a Swisshotel guest the restaurant charge may say Fairmount-I didn't know this and called AMEX to dispute the charge but this was quicly ironed out.
So the bottom line. Yes, perhaps not the newest rooms in Singapore but if you want to feel like you are special, want everything at your fingertips and want quick responese to any issue that does come up-this is the place. THe staff and management know how to build brand loyalty. Yes, it may seem a bit expensive butit is worth every penny.
One hint. Went tothe new DEmpsey Road restaurants. If you are from Tokyo don't bother. They are expensive even by Tokyo standards and service is spotty.As in most high-end Singapore restaurants food quality ise exaggererated.In particular I am talking about my experiences at Senso and Indochine Club Strret(bathrooms filthy and ashtrays never cleaned as well). Stick to realSingapore experiences-Little India, the newly restored(or gentrified, take your pick) Arab Street area, the satay food stalls downtown or a picnic from Jason's in the basementof the shopping center below the hotel. As usual the Jo Chiat area was good as well.
It seems Expedia offers the best prices consistly for Swisshotel Stamford.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2009

Dear PeterRipley,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you loads for your support all these years and the great recommendation you put forth here to share with all. We are very pleased to learn that we have exceeded your expectations again and again.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Since my wife made the booking i knew it''ll be good, but it was great. the check in was swift and fast no waiting at all. the room were big and views were great. staff are well trained for any question. and location is great for shopping distsance to msquare to suntech city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kinjalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Dear tintin32,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are very pleased that you had such a memorable stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with all. Knowing that we had exceeded your expectations is truly a wonderful feeling.

Do stay with us again soon as we will be looking forward to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I've just returned from a stay at this hotel.
This hotel boasts rooms with the best views in Singapore.
After a day spent inside in air-con meetings it was a reall joy to be able to open my room windows for some fresh, albeit humid air.
The location is very convenient to the subway and is a brief walk to the river and historical district.
The rooms themselves are fine, relatively spacious and the cleaning staff very accomodating. Oddly however, the hotel does not have wifi in the rooms unlike many other asian hotels.
I cannot say enough good things about the executive floor staff who were the epitomy of professionalism.
I do have a few issues with the hotel though.
1. The elevators were quite slow. It was not uncommon to wait up to 5 minutes for an elevator in the morning. I quickly learned to allow myself extra time if I wanted to get to my meetings on time!
2. After a busy day it was quite nice to decompress and relax in the executive lounge. Relax that is UNTIL the children arrive! Unlike most other hotels I've stayed in, the Stamford allows children into their executive lounge area rendering it less 'executive' and more 'kindergarden'! How relaxing is it to watch a 10 yr old sneeze all over the canapes or a toddler careen into hapless staff or listen to a nearby temper tantrum????
3. Not enough tables/chairs in the executive lounge. In the mornings and evenings there was a real shortage of tables and chairs. The problem could have been rectified by converting the meeting room into an expension of the lounge by opening the glass door and breaking the large table into smaller tables. Management should consider looking into this during peak periods.
4. Executive lounge implies executive work which these days requires wifi. No wifi.

In summary, I recommend the hotel highly but if you are expecting the executive lounge to be an oasis of calm you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2009

Dear SuzanneDevon,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore. We are honoured and privileged to have you stay with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

Thank you for your inspiring compliments about our colleagues on the Executive Club floor, they were elated when this was shared with them.

We are very grateful for your valuable feedback and on a different note, would like to express our sincere regrets for any inconveniences caused during your stay. Please be assured that we have taken note of your comments.

We strongly believe we have the vital components in place to provide consistent quality service and products, and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back during your next visit to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband and I spent a week at the Swissotel The Stamford and couldn't have been happier with our experience. We stayed here for our second week in Singapore as we were in the process of relocating. Our first week was spent at the Copthorne Kings hotel - which was so bad that we ended up moving to the Swissotel.

We arrived around 10:00 am (since we just wanted to get out of the other hotel) and they we were able to check in immediately. The service was great and the bellmen with our 8 suitcases were waiting for us when we got there. When we opened the door to our room - we were very surprised at how large it was. Our 8 huge suitcases fit in there and we barely even noticed them. We had a nice large balcony overlooking the Singapore Flyer which was great. The room was so quiet - I never heard any of our neighbors.

The location was great. Very close to the City Hall MRT and connected to the Raffles City mall. There are tons of restaurants around where you can get a cheap meal (or and expensive meal if you want). We went to the New Asia bar one night during Happy hour and the view was amazing. And prices weren't too bad. We ordered food there too which was great. We'll definitely be taking visitors there for happy hour!

The gym was really nice - new machines and lots of TVs. The pools were nice - not great, but we weren't really spending that much time there.

All in all - we definitely enjoyed the week that we spent here before moving into our condo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed for three nights as part of a SIA stopover holiday. We arrived at 6am, our room wasn't available but they let us use their courtesy room. The room we eventually received was very large (more than enough room to lay two suitcases open on the ground and had a great view of the harbour and the Singapore flyer, but was a bit dated (CRT tv, lot's of wood panel). Never had breakfast at the hotel so can't comment - but we did have a buffet breakfast with the orang utans at the zoo which was definitely worth it.

We didn't spend that much time at the hotel, sightseeing (Orchard Rd, Orchid Garden, Zoo, Sentosa) but the location and shopping centre attached are really convenient. In terms of service, the room was cleaned well, but the concierge and desk staff were not overly friendly or helpful - couldn't get a late check out even though our flight wasn't till 11pm and I had a terrible cold. We may have been better off choosing a cheaper hotel on the SIA list.

Our top tips would be Equinox (top of the hotel) for a drink - good happy hour prices, New Quay for a beer and pepper crab, Newton Circus for hawker food (open till 2am) and the yum cha place on the fourth floor of the Isetan building - authentic if not overly attentive.

Our biggest disappointment was probably the Raffles where we went for the obligatory Singapore Sling - it was very touristy and they had the drinks premade and lined up ready to go. It gave you a glimpse of what colonial Singapore may have been like, but it was just a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanner_sash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

Dear tanner_sash,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred venue of accommodation and in investing valuable time to share with us your constructive feedback.

At Swissôtel The Stamford, we place a strong emphasis in providing exceptional service displayed with heartfelt passion. Please accept our apologies for we did not make you feel as such in this case.

Rest assured we will look into your feedback and carry out corrective measures to attain unsurpassed personalised and attentive service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have just returned from a nine night stay at Swissotel the Stamford Singapore. We chose to take two rooms as we were a party of two adults and two children and we had a long stay, however for a short stay, a family could comfortably fit in one room. The views were lovely - we overlooked the Supreme Court & Clarke Quay.

We couldn't have been happier with the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the location was absolutely perfect. The service as as you would hope for from a hotel of this standard. We had a few drinks around the pool, but otherwise avoided the in-house restaurants and bars as they were out of our price range.

We ate takeaway food from Din Tai Fung (basement level) several times, and the food court on level 3 also offered some great choices. I can also recommend Ya Kun Kaya Toast. It was an easy 10 minute walk to Suntec City via the underpasses where there was a Carrefour for any supplies we needed.

The MRT is easily accessible and we used that for most of our tourist activities. Towards the end of our stay I purchased a book called Fun Sinagpore by Mighty Minds Publishing Pte Ltd and I wish I'd had it earlier. I found it at the book store on the ground level at Funan Digital Life mall which is only a couple of minutes walk from the Swissotel.

Overall, I would be very happy to recommend Swissotel the Stamford and would stay there again on future visits to Singapore.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2009

Dear Sandielicious,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred choice of accommodation, and in taking precious time to share with us your generous compliments.

We are delighted that every part of your stay with us was a success and we look forward to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 317 in Singapore
6,143 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#59 of 317 in Singapore
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,668 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#17 of 317 in Singapore
2,305 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#50 of 317 in Singapore
6,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#66 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £154 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing