We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #63 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Convenient location and good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

The staff were very pleasant and professional especially in the breakfast dining room. We had a harbour view room with a good view. However it did not seem as if it had been refurburished in recent years although the hotel advertises their rooms are refurburished and ours was certainly not like the advertisement pictures. Ask for a refurburshied room when booking or checking in. We had a problem with the plug not staying down in the bathroom sink and this was quickly fixed.
The internet fee in the business center seemed rather high - S$10 for 15 minutes and it was not open after 6.00pm on weekends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cebazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 13 January 2010
Dear cebazat,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore! Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

Please be assured that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding on this.

In your future trips should you need to utilize internet services after opening hours, kindly approach any of our colleagues in the lobby. We can open up the Business Centre for your usage.

We look forward to your kind patronage to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,310
    2,754
    944
    295
    166
See reviews for
2,043
2,082
461
1,975
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our 2 toddlers aged 1.5 & 2.5yrs, I was a little nervous booking this place with 2 such little ones. When we arrived we were very quickly checked in, given and upgrade and a longer checkout time, our bags were bought up quickly and overall a great first impression was made. We were upgraded to a king, corner suite which had ample space, a large bathroom and two balconies, the view was spectacular. The air conditioning was needed and did the job, the drapes blocked out the sun, great for nap times and we never heard another person walking the halls. The buffet breakfast had a large variety and staff were very patient with the my two who wanted to feed themselves!
I will be coming back to stay here, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bugs_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 13 January 2010
Dear travel_bugs_1975,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred choice of accommodation, and in taking precious time to share with us your generous compliments.

The preferred brand for discerning guests, we are elated to deliver the finest traditions of renowned Swiss hospitality - reliability, efficiency and warmth, which remain the hallmarks of Swissôtel. Most importantly, we are delighted that you take home fond memories of an unforgettable experience with us.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

I have stayed at the Stanford a number of times now when working in Singapore and overall it is a very good hotel in an excellent location. The only drawback i have found is that some of the rooms are a little dated and could do with an update. However the views, particularly on the higher levels, are amazing, the breakfast is excellent and the staff are always helpful and courteous. I would recommend it for tourists and business visitors alike.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unwired77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 13 January 2010
Dear unwired77,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendations to all.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

well its a nicely built building but looks like 2000 types. it is really huge. got around 70 floors, i liked dining at 70 floor with music and my mate with candle lit and peeping out to the whole lit up city.

u are with ur friend move right to the bar and more sophisticated dining move left to another restaurant. lifts are very fast. 70 floor to ground floor in 30 seconds flat. am sure ur ears too with feel the fall. and ya dress code is must to enter here.

and there is extra charge for city view table but worth it. stay and all are ok, maybe coz its a old structure so dont expect too much out of it.

enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank puru24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 13 January 2010
Dear puru24,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking valuable time to share your feedback and recommendations with all. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed for three nights in Dec/Jan 2010 over NYE. The view of the fireworks was great and the room was good but the Club facilities on Level 60 were very poor.

The first problem is even getting a seat in the lounge. We arrived on our first night at 8.45pm & there was just two seats free at a table of four. All the remaining chairs - about 50 - were taken & the seats & table were pushed very close together. We tried again on the second night but at 5.15PM, drinks served from 5PM, same problem. No seats & very crowded. We gave up after this and prefered to go to a proper bar and pay for our drinks & avoid people squeezing past all the time. Club floor members are meant to get special check in facilities. When we arrived they were busy and we were just given our key on the ground floor & found our own way to the room.

Unlike some other reviewers we were happy with our room. Bathroom was not large but had everything we needed although I hate having the shower over a bath tub rather than a proper walk in shower.

When we arrived in our room at 7.30PM there were two staff members still cleaning it. However they omited to check behind the curtains were we found a empty drink bottle.

The lounge had free wifi plus two internet terminals. Because of the crowding we witnessed a lound dispute between other guests over prolonged use of the internet computer. Perhaps more terminals would solve this problem or the abilioty to hire a laptop from the hotel.

Overall the extra for the Club room was not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear David_Albert_Park,

Happy New Year to you from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking precious time in letting us know how your stay went, and for the suggestions which you have made.

Please accept our apologies for the crowding of guests during arrival and the cocktail hours. With one of the best views for the magnificent fireworks, our Hotel is a hot favorite among locals and overseas guests, especially during New Year's eve/day.

Once again, our sincere apologies for your experiences. We strongly believe we have the vital components in place to provide consistent quality service and products, and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back during your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights. Having seen the rooms online we were disappointed to find ourselves in a dated room which we didn't expect in a hotel of this standard. Having said that the room was spacious and clean and had an impressive view. It would have been nice to have milk rather than dry/powdered creamer for drinks in the room. It would also have been nice to have had complimentary bottled water. On a positive note the porters were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 31 December 2009
Dear Katharine_Richard,

Happy New Year to you from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service. On a different note, your constructive comments will be shared with the Management.

We would like to assure you that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding on this.

We hope that this will not deter you from letting us host your stay again. We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Couldn't ask for a better hotel in Singapore.

The best view of Singapore, great location and efficient staff. I would rather stay here again than somewhere in the Orchard Road area. Walking distance to Clark Quay.

Didn't know that Raffles Hotel is just around the corner. Dont forget to try the legendary Singapore Sling there..

Glad we chose this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewan20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Management, Rooms Division at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 31 December 2009
Dear ewan20s,

Happy New Year to you from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased that you had enjoyed our service & the magnificent views we offer.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,528 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#55 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,262 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA and Travelbag so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing