We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place for the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #67 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place for the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed here for almost 9 nights during Aug 2010. We checked in at 9.00 pm and our room was on the 45th floor. I was taken by surprise when I saw the view from the room and more so to find a PRIVATE BALCONY. The view from the balcony is exceptional. If you are scared of heights, don't even bother to open the balcony door. It was a bit scary in the beginning but once you spend 5 minutes, you will be fine. I still felt it was a bit unsafe though.
The proximity to MRT is the most advantageous thing about staying here if you are planning to roam around the city. The Raffles City shopping place is also attached to the hotel which makes it very convenient.
The breakfast spread was excellent with good variety of fruits though most of the other things remained unchanged during the 9 days. I could have liked to try something other than the same chocolate chip muffin everyday. At the same time, it would have been nice to have some South Indian food also for breakfast, being the city which has lot of Tamilians. An average Singaporean has imbibed the Tamil influence very well yet here they seemed to totally ignore it.
A must try is the Equinox on the top most floor at least for the view.
A bit disappointing aspect was the usage of Business Center being chargeable at atrocious rates. Thankfully I found a nice Internet cafe right across the road which charges just $S3 for an hour.
The service overall was very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 23 October 2010
Dear RemaS3,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore and thank you for taking valuable time to share with us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the views we offer, location, breakfast spread and quality, and most importantly, our service.

On another note, we have shared your comments with our Management on the breakfast selections and Business Centre pricing concerns.

We thank you again and look forward to your continual patronage at Swissôtel The Stamford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,332
    2,790
    954
    299
    169
See reviews for
2,064
2,105
462
1,992
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

I guess this hotel was the best of all I've stayed in so far. the warm welcome at the check-in, the lovely room with a fantastic city view (the bay view must be even better though), location unbeatable right above the City Hall subway station and all the attractions within walking distance. will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziggWaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 23 October 2010
Dear ziggWaW,

Warmest greetings from from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore! Your thoughts are important to us so thank you for letting us know how your stay went.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Compared to its standard stars, I did not find it very exiting as such. Even the services I felt are at par. Nothing extraordinary to attract you. The best part is its location. Located is right in the place accessible at your ease. This adds to your stay bit comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aghazali346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear aghazali346,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. At Swissôtel The Stamford, we constantly strive to provide the highest standards of personalised service to our guests. Though we are glad that we met your expectations during your stay, we believe we could have exceeded them instead.

Your opinion matters and it keeps us on our toes. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again, so that we can make your stay a more memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

My wife and I have really enjoyed our stay in the Swissotel The Stamford.
Usually, for our trips to Singapore, we stay at the Intercontinental. But this time, because of a promotion we decided to test the Swissotel Stamford and the view.
Believe me, we have not been disappointed!
The service is nearly perfect:
- check-in was fast and flawless
- the room was even better that what we expected
- the house keeping made us welcome, she was friendly, helping and, very honest. We inadvertently forgot some cash on the desk. When the housekeeping lady realized that, she called the supervisor (I guess it is their standard procedure) to inform about this and to count the cash so that if, when we come back something is missing, the security can testify. Interesting, no ?
- Check-out was fast and efficient
- we used the concierge service to help us to find the address of a restaurant we had booked. She was more than helpful since she not only provided us with the address, the direction and even the floor
- we used some other services and it was near perfection

Location wise, the hotel is really well situated, just on top of the MRT. It is walking distance from China town, Singapore flyer, Funan electronic mall, Bugis street, Orchard road and even Little India.

Nevertheless, I have few comments:
- we were at the 63rd floor and we had to wait a quite long time to get hot water in the shower.
- Internet was painfully slow. I call the internet hotline. They were quite good and helpful. I have appreciated that they said they will call me back and they really did it!.
But they did not succeed in increasing the speed. Therefore I have cancelled my purchase. They have provided me with a cancellation number but I have been charged anyway.

Now if we talk about the other facilities, I would recommend the Equinox bar, situated on the top floor. The atmosphere there is nice and friendly and they have good Champagne. And, the view is, for city lovers as us, wonderful. For the restaurant, we have only been to the Jaan and you can read my specific review about it.
The Introbar, situated at the ground floor is welcoming, the service is good. But it is on the expensive side so I recommend to go there only during the happy hours (1500-2100 if I am not mistaken).
We did not test their breakfast so I cannot comment on that part.

My wife has loved their fitness center. She thinks it is one of the best she has ever used, definitely better than the Intercontinental's one.
We did not try the swimming pool, but it seems quite nice.
Last I want to mention the accessible balcony, which add to your enjoyment of the view

Erick

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinha_et_Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Dear Dinha_et_Erick,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore! We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your visit to the lion city.

We are very grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that your stay with us has been a success.

On a different note, we have located your reservation and will look into making changes to your bill on the internet charges. We should always honor our promises and please allow us to make amends. Do give us about 3 weeks to credit the amount back to your credit card.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Never again the reception where so so so rude. Over priced for an outdated room......loved Singapore hated Swissotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Shellynel,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our gratitude to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred venue of accommodation and in investing valuable time to share with us your constructive feedback.

Please give us a chance to extend our sincere apologies for the poor service rendered by our Reception. You may wish to know that we have since shared your comments with our colleagues. At Swissôtel The Stamford, we place a strong emphasis in providing exceptional service displayed with heartfelt passion. Rest assured we will look into your feedback and carry out corrective measures to attain unsurpassed personalised and attentive service.

We hope to have another chance to change the unfavorable impression you had of us and be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antarctica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed 3 nights here and 2 nights at Marina Bay Sands (MBS), as I was attending a conference at the MBS convention centre. It's only S$1 to catch a bus (#106 or 133) from the hotel to MBS. I noticed previous negative reviews about the check-in process, but when we arrived around 5pm, the doorman took our bags, a "greeter" escorted us to reception and even though we were next in line at the check-in queue, arranged for a counter to be opened and staffed so we could be checked-in immediately; so it seems they have positively responded to previous criticisms - well done!
I also noticed previous reviews suggesting a request for a renovated room. Alas, we were told none were available, but were offered an upgrade to a harbour view room on the 62nd floor -spectacular (and even higher than the 49th floor we had at MBS). Yes, the unrenovated rooms are slightly tired, but the old carpet was surprisingly non-sticky or grubby to walk on in bare feet - so I presume they regularly shampoo the carpet (not like many hotels I've stayed at), the bathroom still clean and functional and there is a big flatscreen TV. Free (slowish) cable internet was part of the corporate package, otherwise one can go to Starbucks or McDonalds around the corner.
If you don't have to be near orchard Rd then this is a great location; Robinsons dept store downstairs, Funan mall (for IT gear), Raffles Hotel & Bugis St nearby.
Yes, it is a big and bustling hotel, as many aircrew stay here, but it's a great location, good value, decent amenities and importantly, a hotel that seems to positively respond to constructive criticism.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear iancc,

Greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Your thoughts are important to us, but we are especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We strive to provide the best to our guests in terms of service and facilities, and your satisfaction is our reward. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are doing something right.

On another note, please be assured that the hotel is continuously refurbishing our guestrooms as well as furnishings to deliver the best lifestyle experience possible. However, due to the enormous magnitude of this 73-storey deluxe hotel, these upgrades are currently being carried out in stages. We seek your kind understanding in this,

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The refurbed rooms are good, views are good, staff helpful. I still don't know why hotels have to charge so much for food though. Food in Singapore is generally good value outside the hotels but certainly not in them. Luckily this hotel sits on top of a shopping mall with a good food court and a lot of good restaurants in the basement.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdearlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Dear mdearlove,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred venue of accommodation and in providing us with the opportunity to be of service to you. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

Strategically located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford’s pricing at its collection of 16 restaurants and bars are highly competitive amongst Singapore’s five-star hotels. To enhance the dining experience of our guests whilst remaining competitive, we review our pricing strategies quarterly.

We thank you and look forward to your continual patronage at Swissôtel The Stamford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,605 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,357 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing