We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hotel but a Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #37 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had 2 rooms for our extended family and stayed 3 nights. We arrived at 9pm and check in was fine, very polite although a little slow. The rooms were standard no frills but everything required was there. The rooms seemed noisy, you could hear clearly the people in adjoining rooms. Our package did not include breakfast, this was offered at $SIN 25 but there are many places to eat close to the hotel. All the staff we met were polite and helpful. The location is the selling point of this hotel, less than 5 mins to Clarke/Boat Quay with the many restaurants and bars. Also the MRT was just across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,797)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,353 - 3,359 of 4,798 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court afer a two week Southwast Asia cruise. We were sad to leave out ship but were pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We liked the location as if was very central to all that Singapore offers. There are numerous restaurants and stores in the malls and streets surrounding the hotel.

Our room was very clean and quiet with a large bathroom. We did not eat at the hotel but found many coffee shops and fast food restaurants all along the street and the river. The subway entrance is located in a mall that is less than 100 feet from the hotel entrance. The subway was cheap and very easy to use. We went to Chinatown in minutes, as it allows you access to almost anywhere in Singapore. Taxis are also easy to find so you need not worry about being getting to the airport or other shopping districts.

We were amazed when the hotel delivered a birthday cake to one of our friends. We said nothing about her birthday, they noticed that date on her passport and took the opportunity to make a guest very happy but recognizing her in this special way.

We may not get back to Singapore again but would recommend this hotel to others who are looking for a comfortable and friendly hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BZSTEPHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

En route to Australia, Swissotel recommended by trailfinders. Was a bit sceptical, having read some of the previous reviews. Hotel has a great position though.
First room, "Classic", we were given was grubby, faced onto the road and had a concrete balcony with no furniture. It was on the 4th floor. The carpet was beige and stained and the furniture was stained also. Beds were clean and comfy and bathroom was adequate with fair toiletries. Complained politely to hotel staff and was told that move may be possible the next day. Not a good start.
Enjoyed the pool, which was good (jacuzzi not heated), had a slide for my son. About 30 sunbeds for sun bathing, good supply of fluffy towels. The pool bar did a nice line in lunch time snacks and drinks.
Hotel is wonderfully located for MRT (aircon'd, cheap and efficient) and sites around town, if you like to party then Clarke Quay is on the doorstep, very vibrant at night but pretty to look at during the day as well. Complimentary water provided. No wii-fi. Starbucks around the corner for coffee and pastries.
We were moved the next day, on our return from a day out, to a much fresher, refurbished room, overlooking the quay, much to my surprise and delight. I was a bit concerned about the noise levels as single glazing appears to be the norm (as per previous reviews), but we weren't bothered by it at all. This maybe because we were not there for fri and saturday night parties but there was music and a food festival going on so it was hardly quiet. This room had a bigger bathroom, CLEAN carpet and furnishings and was much better in every way. The staff were very helpful in moving us. Lovely balcony with furniture to sit on, with a view.
Met someone who had booked into a better room with access to the club (can't remember what its called) where free snacks, drinks, canapes etc are available, this may be a better option if you are willling to pay the extra.
Without being moved to the much better room, I would have given this hotel a poor rating, I have had some difficulty in scoring the hotel as it could vary greatly, depending on which room you are given.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/quay view with a balcony if possible or upgrade to the club access rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sprinty187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

our second stay at swissotell merchant court and once again looked after by friendly and efficient staff who once again seeing my wife had a disabillity upgraded us to a room with a walk in shower which really makes you feel welcome into their hotel, the room was spacious with a large king size bed,coffee machine and work desk. this hotel is the best location for dining and night life as it is right at clarke quay, the staff are very attentive and sincere and really show concern for your you, i cannot speak too highly of this hotel and recommend you avail yourself of their hospitallity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court last year for holiday. Though it was as cheap as the other hotels, i'd say the service and the pampering I got was worth every buck. I loved the location because it was beside Clark Quey and it was situation right across the mall that had it's own subway station. The room had its own espresso machine, among others! I loved it!
There are many events and festival-related gatherings that are held near this hotel so if you want to visit Singapore for either the food festival or the grand prix, the Swissotel Merchant Court is the right choice!

Room Tip: rooms with a view come at an extra price, but those located at the back is no less different in term...
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinoy-life-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in the middle of July, 2011.
The hotel has a good standard, we had a classic room, which is roomy and comfortable. The hotel facilities, such as pool, and health centre, are also at good standard (however the pool location does not let a lot of sunshine in..). The breakfast is OK, they make you eggs at request.
The location of the hotel is brilliant. Clark Quay, is noisy, and touristy, but it's very central. We walked all around the city, and you can reach both Orchard rd, and Chinatown by foot (if you're not too lazy).

all in all, we were happy with the stay, and have no trouble recommending it to friends and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Spent 4 nights here and enjoyed it, clean, friendly staff. Considering how expensive Singapore hotels are it was ok value for money. Rooms on the small side, could be refurbished..still old style TVs. Very big hotel so if that is not your style find one of the boutique type hotels. It is very well located on Clark Quay, next to the MRT so easy to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#56 of 316 in Singapore
3,604 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#25 of 316 in Singapore
2,920 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#54 of 316 in Singapore
4,114 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#20 of 316 in Singapore
6,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £129 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing