We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Nearby Hotels
US$449
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$358
US$280
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$279
Novotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$919
US$637
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,356)
Filter reviews
5,356 results
Traveller rating
2,387
2,127
576
182
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,387
2,127
576
182
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclarke quayblue potatogreat locationcentral mallmrt stationrestaurants and barsnight lifeexecutive clubexecutive roomnespresso machinestayed here for nightsbuffet breakfastnice poolan upgradelate checklong flightmarina bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,787 - 3,792 of 5,356 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I stayed for two nights for business trip.
The room space, service, atmosphere was standard.
No trouble, nothing special both positively and negatively.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hotel details says to check in at 3pm but we arrived at 2pm. Rooms were ready though and we were checked in. The process was a little long though. They upgraded our room and I must say the upgraded room looks decent. The MBS view is good. The Central is just opposite the hotel so it's great for eating at restaurants. The lightings in the room was good too. The mini bar looks attractive but as like other hotels, the prices are ridiculous. Only one toothbrush in the bathroom so that was kind of surprising considering it's a room for two. I understand there are renovation works going on and you can forget about resting in the room during day time. The tv programs certainly did not impress me considering you need to pay for movies. I'm fine with that place but my darling was not impressed. So may consider other hotels in future.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

To encapsulate this hotel in a sentence: it was clean, simple and standardised. It basically had all the facilities and features you would expect an average international hotel to have, but it always seemed to be lacking a bit of soul.

On the positive side, you are given a friendly reception, and the rooms are nothing short of spick and span (as is the entire hotel). There is a medium size pool (great for families, but not if you are a serious swimmer), and I have to say a very well equipped gym with a spa next to it. As to the location, you are very central, and a walk into the bustling city centre is just a matter of minutes. In addition, the restaurant on the ground floor provides excellent food, both in taste and quality.

However, staying on the subject of breakfast, you do have to be quite wary when you eat outside in the mornings. Many a time did I see couples returning indoors to get something, and some large grey birds rather unashamedly flew onto the table and thoroughly gorged themselves. This happened as regularly every morning as the pellet gun you heard even earlier, meaning one or two less birds were around by the time you sat down for breakfast.

Something I still fail to understand is why the hotel does not offer free WiFi. How can any modern high quality hotel, charging a not insignificant amount per night, still proceed to charge its guests for a feature most cafés offer for free? The hotel already has an air of all-too-modern sterility and emptiness, but adding in a hint of stinginess like this results in a pretty poor mixture.

Bottom line: It's a good quality, clean hotel, but still has some way to go if they are indeed striving to achieve the excellence that Swiss hospitality boasts and mostly achieves. I would, however, still recommend this hotel to travellers

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river, and enjoy the bustling nightlife of Singapore from above
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked a cheap room through agoda and was given a room with twin beds. It wasn't particularly comfortable and they use those huge square European pillows which I have never found very comfortable either. Regardless, the pool area was a welcome respite from the hot weather and the big plus was a Nescafe Coffee machine in the room which was great. Check in seemed to take forever as did checkout. Not a big deal but they do seem to be understaffed particularly at the busy check out time 11.00am-noon.

I would stay there again as long as I got a bigger bed. The views of Marina Sands and the Singapore Wheel were great at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a stopover through Singapore.
On arrival they could not find details of our booking. The staff's command of English was very poor considering the location. Eventually booking details were located but it took over an hour to check in.
The rooms were very small and very ordinary however they were clean and everything worked.
The location is good just across from Clarke Quay and there are plenty of restaurants in the locality.
Returning to the hotel at 10.00 pm the lobby bar was completely devoid of atmosphere and unwelcoming.
Check out next day was nearly as slow as check in. There were two inadequately trained staff trying to check out a number of people most with airport connections to make. It took over 45 minutes to check out seemingly caused by inadequately trained staff .
All in all over 10% of my time at this hotel was standing waiting at reception.
A wholly unsatisfactory experience and hardly an example of Swiss efficiency.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews