We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #36 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel is locate just next to Clark Quay where is possible to find nearly any sort of entertainment. The hotel and the room were cleaned and tidy. The room was quite spacious even with the extra bed added to my son. The parking and internet wi-fi were included in the rate.
The swimming pool is nice but probably not big enough for those that wish to practice proper swimming. It is anyway more than enough for families with kids.
The breakfast is very good with a wide selection of food and there is the possibility to sit outside in the morning just alongside the river.
From the hotel it is possible to walk to Boat quay or further to Marina Bay. Otherwise there are a number of water taxi available for mini cruise on the canal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Dadde74,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your family and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location and breakfast selections in general.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,844
    1,801
    521
    163
    68
See reviews for
1,032
1,709
271
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This Hotel is in a fantastic location and is a stunning hotel. All the staff were fantastic. I would suggest checking on when you room will be ready as I couldn't check into until an hour after the scheduled check in time which left me sweaty from the flight with 2 hours to kill and some friends had to wait til 6pm that night to get their room. I would suggest the housekeeping time frames need to be addressed but this would not deter me from attending here again as everything else was great! Food was beautiful rooms were clean and an overall great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shemar1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Shemar1_12,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are heartened that you had a pleasant stay with us in general during your business trip in October 2012.

Please note that we value your feedback and it is important for us in improving and upkeeping of our level of service.

We hope to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit to Singapore that we can do much better. Thank you once again for taking time to post your comments.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We could not find fault with this hotel. From the moment we walked in, our experience was great. We (my husband & I, and our 4 year old son) had booked a classic room, and were prepared to share a king size bed between us. The lovely girl at reception upgraded us to a family room at no extra charge, which had 2 double beds plus a single fold out, and was a larger room. We were checking in 2 hours early and fully expected just to leave our bags at reception, but instead we were treated to a free drink by the poolside while we waited for our room!

Our room was overlooking the pool (no balcony, but it was so warm I don't imagine we would have used it much anyway), with a lovely view of part of Clarke Quay. The room was roomy, very clean, and was even more immaculate after the housekeeping staff had visited each day.

The pool is only quite small when taking in to account the amount of rooms at the hotel, and is usually quite busy. There is also a toddler pool, both with a water slide, and a spa/jacuzzi.

The location was perfect - it is right next door to Clarke Quay MRT (train) and within easy walking distance to China Town. Clarke Quay itself is a lovely spot to wander in the late afternoon/evening, and the perfect place to jump on a bumboat or Hippo River Cruise.

A lovely hotel, would happily recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammymc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear sammymc74,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and your family and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel location.

Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Best location, close to everything. A very nice hotel with the best emploiers so friendly and always very helpfull. Good food and drinks and they serve you with a great smile. My 3 friends and I spent a week here and we had a fantastic time and will for sure return and we realy recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose this and you are close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berikaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear berikaSweden,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you and your friends liked the hotel location and our food and drinks. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed at Swissotel for the second time at the end of September for 6 nights. This is a fantastic hotel in a really great location by Clarke Quay and only 10 minute walk from Chinatown where we spend a lof of our time. Room had a brilliant view of the river and was spotlessly clean. Staff are really helpful. Breakfast in the club lounge was plentiful and very tasty. Enjoyed the nibbles and alcohol in the club lounge in the evening also. Did not use the pool, only because we were too busy sightseeing but looked clean and plenty of sunloungers available. Also did not eat in any of the restaurants but food looked good. Check in and check out very efficient. Singapore is the most amazing city and we are planning to go back for our fourth time next year as we still did not get everything done we planned. Will definately be staying at Swissotel Merchant Court and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan48_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Susan48_8,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and your partner. We are happy to learn that you liked the hotel club lounge and location.

Your positive feedback is important to us, which serves as an encouragement for us to constantly improve our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is lovely. It has wonderful staff in all areas. Our room had a lovely view and the cleaners did an amazing job. The breakfast included was delightful,such a variety to suit everyone. The hotel has the best location with a nice shopping complex across the road and Clarke Quay, which is spectacular at night with all its great restaurants and bars. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room facing Clarke Quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear 201fay,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court.

We are heartened to learn that you and your family liked the hotel location and our breakfast. Your positive feedback will help us in further upkeeping our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great hotel. Perfect location as it's right in the action of Clarke Quay yet not noisy at all. Located right next to the Clarke Quay mrt as well. Fantastic places to eat nearby. Great staff, I would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask to get a room as high as possible as this will enable you to get a better view of the quay and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppa_holic_zn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear shoppa_holic_zn,

Thank you for your feedback for Swissôtel Merchant Court. We are glad to be of service to you and your friends and we are glad to learn that you liked the hotel location.

Your positive feedback is important to us and will help us in constantly improving our level of service and products.

Once again, thank you for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court as your preferred accommodation and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest Regards
Swissôtel Merchant Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,425 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 312 in Singapore
5,723 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 312 in Singapore
3,829 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing