We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work trip to Singapore for 4 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #38 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Work trip to Singapore for 4 nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A central place to stay (had stayed one night four years ago) - I got my request for a quiet room away from river and traffic noise - overlooking the pool and near the spa entrance. Enjoyed the complimentary yoga class by the pool and pool was much appreciated after being out all day at appointments. Also enjoyed a massage at the spa! Only grip is no complimentary wifi - $15 Sd per 24 hour I think this is where hotels make their money! So I am writing the review on the wifi that I have paid for.
Great breakfast included in my room rate.
Would stay again once rooms are refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,774
    517
    163
    67
See reviews for
1,009
1,663
263
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very nice hotel and very courteous helpful staff.larger than normal room for Asian country. Nice selection of food for breakfast, only gripe was that tea was made far too strong for my liking. Hubby loved the gym and swimming pool.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carole Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Carol Lynne H,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our Swiss hospitality and facilities. My team and I look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A pleasant hotel to stay。Location close to many nearby amenities. Room is clean .The bed is comfortable. The experience with reservation front line staff handling the booking could be better. The reception check-in could be faster.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear J L,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and I am pleased to hear that your overall stay was pleasant. Your feedback is important to us and will allow us to constantly look into every area so as to improve our service standards. Thank you once again for choosing Swissôtel Merchant Court and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We last stayed here for 10 nights about 18 months ago and had a great time, so decided to opt for the known quantity again this time for our 9 night stay over the Easter through to the Anzac Day weekends.
Although only booking a classic room, I had requested a week before we arrived if we could be allocated our "old" room or at least one with a pool view. When we arrived at check in, we didn't have our previous room and the room we were given on the third floor looked out on a balcony (that we couldn't access) and you couldn't see the pool. However we ended up requesting a room change not because of this, but because the water in the shower/bath was so luke warm that we had to boil kettles of water for a bath. The room change could not be accommodated until two nights into our stay, so we had tepid (short!) showers. Our next room (289) did look over the pool/river and had hot water, so we were much happier here.
The location is great, the gym well equipped and the pool OK (albeit with too few lounges for the size of the hotel), but not sure we will return to the Merchants Court next time we are in Singapore.

Room Tip: Room 289 overlooks the river/pool but can be noisy at nights with the activity on Clarke Quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Rosie-holidaylover,

Thank you for your sharing your review which I am pleased to note that you and your partner enjoyed our facilities and location. At the same time, please accept my profound apologies for the disappointment felt which is with much regret that the recent experience was not up to expectations of what you have remembered us for. Please be assured that the hot water issue has been rectified immediately to prevent such incidents from occurring again. I thank you for your kind patience and understanding and my team and I sincerely hope for another opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court for the first time seven years ago for two nights while en route to Europe. We enjoyed our stay so much that we determined to return for a dedicated stay in the future. We stayed at the Swissotel Merchant Court for seven nights over Easter 2014.

The standout feature for us was the quality of the service - which was without exception superb from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The staff were consistently polite, cheerful, quick and efficient. The standouts were the concierge staff and the waiters at the Blue Potato - but really ALL the staff were excellent.

The hotel is clearly in need of a general refurbishment - I understand this is scheduled for 2015. The decor in our room (1203) was a little tired - although very clean and tidy. The public areas carried their age well. The need for refurbishment in no way materially affected our enjoyment of the stay - everything worked and the room was well appointed.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel t friends and family and would be happy to return - warranted on the quality of the service alone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas John Ru... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Nicolas John Ru... W,

Thank you for your kind review which I am truly honoured to note of the generous commendations you have of our team members. Once again, thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Big rooms, good beds, coffee/tea facility in room, wifi. Nice pool with restaurant. Perfect location in Singapore, next to Metro. Very friendly staff. Breakfast perfect. From here you can discover Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tjeerd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Tjeerd V,

Thank you for your kind review and compliments. It is truly heartening to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had the opportunity to visit the many interesting sights in Singapore as well and my team and I look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel on. 2nd and 3rd. May 2014. Ecxcellent location, very comfotable room and excellent service. Even in the middle of the night, when we wanted blanket at 2 pm they imm suppliyed. The breakfast spread was amazing including Vada , bajias, jackfruit. I wish they would serve veg dumsung.
Mridula Narasimhan

Room Tip: Poll facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mridula_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeMerchantCT, General Manager at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Mridula_4,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and I am pleased to hear that you and your family had a delightful stay with us, with special mention of the breakfast spread. We hope you had a lovely time exploring Singapore as well and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.

Warm regards,
Rainer Tenius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing