We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #36 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The hotel is situated just opposite Clarke Quay and is a great base from which you can explore most of downtown Singapore fairly easily. The hotel staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We asked for a change of room (were given a twin instead of a double) and there wasn't any problem with this. The pool area was lovely and a welcome refresher after going out exploring for the day. The MRT is really close to the hotel and really good value so we found ourselves using it a lot to get around (it's also air conditioned). The hotel is also within walking distance of the Boat Quay, the UOB plaza, Chinatown and Raffles (although this depends on how hot it is). The only downside to the hotel was the prize of drinks - it was incredibly expensive as it was over in Clarke Quay (unless you're there for happy hour in some of the bars) so we choose to head down to Chinatown for cheaper drinks and better value food. Above anything else though this hotel is in a fantastic location in what has now become one of my favourite cities so would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojoflamingsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,703 - 3,709 of 5,046 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

For me who just visited Singapore for the first time, the Swissotel Merchart Court was a perfect choice. It was right next to a subway station which I used a lot everyday. The hotel was by the side of Singapore River and the Quay, which was one of the hottest spots for tourists with so many restaurants, bars and entertainments. The nightlife over there was unbelieveable. The hotel was very clean and elegant with courteous staff who always answered my request promptly. The breakfast buffet was so good with so much food and so may varieties of fresh fruit. I even tried their seafood buffet dinner too, and it was packed with people every night. In fact, I like the hotel so much that I join the Club SwissGold right away at the end of my stay. I will definitely come back with my family next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swift_Cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I think location is the hotel's highlight. In Clarke Quay, very touristy area with lots of shops, restaraunts, and bars which in itself is not the highlight. However it's very central to almost everything you want to see and do. Clarke Quay subway stop is out the front door. Chinatown is within walking distance even in the brutal Singapore heat. For those who like to walk, Little India, the colonial quarter, and Orchard Rd are within walking distance but are a little further.

The Hotel is nice and slightly upscale but lacks anything above and beyond what you'd expect. The rooms are large and very clean, but a little worn around the edges. The king size bed was firm, but cozy and came with four pillows of varying softness to appease your preference. Bathrooms are big with more than enough room for two people to get ready at once. Carpet a tiny bit worn(but clean), had a bedside remote control that told time, acted as alarm clock, and turned off some of the lights around the room. Those who care about big flat screen tv's in rooms will be disappointed to find small outdated tv's, though they did have a fairly impressive selection of channels(wasn't there to watch tv anyway so minor detail to me). Walls were a little thin and hall noise might be a problem for the extremely light sleeper. Inserting your card into elevator to get to rooms was a bit annoying, especially considering my card had to be reprogrammed at two different times to allow me access to my floor.

The staff is warm and friendly but no more than at most hotels of this caliber. Concierge was helpful in making some dinner reservations but lacked the general knowledge of restarsaunts in the area. They were there basically to help you book tours and other activities, which they did an ample job of.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel, especially for those who don't demand alot out of a hotel. Delta deems the hotel good enough for their pilots because we saw ours on the day of departure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed at the swissotel as part of our honeymoon, we had read mixed reviews but as hotels are so expensive in Singapore we decided to book it regardless. The hotel is clean and has all the things you need but the decor is dated and we expected more for a 4* hotel. When we arrived they didn't have a double room (even though we had booked one) and so we had to spend the first night in single beds! However, the staff were friendly and helpful and moved our things to a double room the next day. They also sent us a complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates and fruit as a honeymoon gift. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is opposite Clarke Quay which is full of bars, cafes and restaurants. It is only a 5 minute walk from China Town and a 2 min walk from the nearset tube station. I would stay here again for those reasons but it is not a great hotel for honeymooners as it isn't luxurious enough!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalieHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This hotel was one of the few we pre-booked for 2 nights before a long trip to Malaysia and Singapore, so we researched. Seemed nice and classy on the pictures with a good location, but did not live up to it. Had we known then about the Marina Bay Sands hotel, and that the room price was almost the same, we would no doubt had chosen that hotel instead. This Swissotel hotel is a rather old hotel in need of refurbishment and the architecture is dull, which makes the pool experience a bit like sunbathing at a charter hotel at Mallorca. Personnel was not overly informative about what was included and not, and our room was not ready for check-in when we arrived. We demanded that they'd solve it, which they did fortunately after some insisting, by giving us an "executive room" instead which was of course just fine! (Same room but with a desk basically, and possibly on a higher floor). And some of the staff was very nice indeed, but it was a dissapointment compared to several other hotels we've stayd at. Location is good with close approximity to Clarke's Quay and Boat Quay. Of course, there are other (and in my opinion, nicer) night spots to visit in Singapore though, like Club Street and Chijmes for example! And of course, Marina Bay Sands. The other Swissotel hotel in Singapore has a great skybar though, The Stamford, can recommend that one!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina_Cybergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We got off to a rocky start--apparently no evidence of booking --after a half hour it was sorted and we were probably upgraded for it? Our room for 2 adults, 2 kids 9 and 12 -is on the 5 th floor, and spacious room which was appreciated, and we got a very comfortable fold away bed --all beds v. comfortable. pool great, warmer than others and with 2 little slides which were a hit--ok for us but on our last day the area was 'swimming' with kids and babies so not everyone would love that, and there was a shortage of loungers. Pretty garden landscaping. Buffet breakfast -good but lacked 'great' as lacked the wow factor -ie not a great selection of fresh fruit, 2 fresh juices-celery and others packaged, yoghurt in plastic containers -however crispy bacon, good pancakes, fresh made to order omlettes and gf toast and pancakes. Expensive for what it is but breakfast not easy to get in singapore! Ok shopping centre next door-ok meals but good spa business on third floor in centre - reasonable prices for massage and great ones. We thought Quay was a bit over rated. Back to swissotel--didnt use their spa treatments as quite expensive but has a wet steam room open free to guests which was great. Staff overall very friendly !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I've stayed in the Merchant Court several times in the last couple of years, and this was another great stay. The staff are always helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The room was fine - I did notice that the financial crisis was biting - no more complementary bottled water in the classic room. I enjoy being able to have breakfast outside, and love the pool area with its outlook over the quay. On my way back through Singapore, I tried another hotel to get some variety - but wished I'd gone back to the Merchant Court. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#26 of 317 in Singapore
3,107 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#62 of 317 in Singapore
3,813 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Family Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £117 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing