We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better, Left Unimpressed”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #18 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Expected Better, Left Unimpressed”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

After reading all of the glowing reviews I was expecting something special. However, the hotel I stayed in was a run of the mill hotel that was the equivalent of a basic Hilton or Sheraton property. This was not in the same quality range as other Fairmont hotels. There was nothing wrong with the hotel and it was adequate, but it was a bit of a letdown. I guess many of the people writing reviews have never stayed in other Fairmont properties, otherwise they would have been able to differentiate. On the plus side, room service was better than the typical hotel of this class and the restaurant on the ground floor (Italian theme) served a reasonable meal, although $300SGD for a basic meal and cheap bottle of wine was somewhat expensive. This was a busy hotel, so I assume it must have some regulars and it meets their needs. I was in a "deluxe" room that was a lot smaller and less impressive than the photos indicated. The rain shower was indeed nice and the bathrooms had been updated, however, the room overall was smaller than the typical Hilton/Sheraton/Fairmont. In consideration of the price and what I received, while I was not ripped off or overcharged, I don't think I got the best value for the money. I think the Pan Pacific (which is close by) may prove to be a better option for those hoping for a real Fairmont experience. What irked me the most was the way Fairmont seems to fool around with its room pricing. Although I am not a big fan of websites like Orbitz & Travelocity, the pricing from those sites was more explicit and offered better value for the same prouct as the Fairmont website.OK, so I didn't get frequent flyer miles or breakfast, but the $100 lower cost via the travel sites was more attractive than the Fairmont pricing. Fairmont is probably the last of the chains that is unable to offer a reason to book via its website because it offers zero value or savings to do so. Although I booked with "free" internet, the hotel did not deliver on that. I think that's what irked me the most. I can't believe that in this day and age of cheap wifi, that the Fairmont did not offer it to all guests. This is probably the one amenity that some hotels charge for, that costs them repeat guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TranspaciFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,691
    1,709
    357
    113
    67
See reviews for
1,370
2,078
359
1,457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My family and I stayed at the Fairmont Singapore during X'mas week for 4 nights. We
had arrived at the hotel at 1am after a long journey from USA and we were more than
exhausted. So it was really great to be greeted by courteously staff, from bellman to the
reception desk and they knew already who we were and had prepared the 2 rooms in
advance for us. Well, I guess my email to the hotel couple weeks prior helped but still
this little gesture can make a big difference esp. on our first impression of the facility.

The rooms (one with king bed and one with 2 doubles) are nicely decorated to convey
a contemporary style with grace and elegance, with just the right lighting to accentuate
the decorations. The swimming pool is not large but it's big enough as most guests
are sunbathers more than swimmers. They also have a kiddie pool for the young one.
There are 2 tennis courts also but we didn't use them. We also did not use the fitness
center but it looks very decent with more than enough new equipments for a good
workout. The fitness center also provides headsets to you which is nice touch.

The location can't be beat whether you are on foot, or use the subway, or taxi. Raffles
city is right in the complex, and the connecting underground halls will lead you to
SunTec plaza, or Esplanade area. So shopping options are plentiful and it sure beats
walking outside in the heat. We loved the food court on the 3rd floor of the Raffles
city, as well as the restaurants in the lower B1 floor. Tried the DinTaiFung place that
serves famous dumplings and chicken soup originally from Taiwan and they were very
tasty and (almost) just as good as the original ones in Taipei.

Overall, our stay at this hotel was a memorable experience. Little details such
as the lobby staff opening doors for you, to giving us umbrellas without asking
when it seemed to start raining one day, to proactively helping us to take
family pictures, etc. I believe the Fairmont Singapore does indeed deserve
it's 5* classification.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Our friends have blessed us with a night stay in this suite room 2520 on 20 December 2009.

The living room, bedroom and bathroom were spacious and all necessary toiletries were provided too! Excellent!

The location of this hotel is very convenient, next door to the Raffles City Shopping Centre and the City Hall MRT station is just underground! Walking distance to many shopping centres too!

We had complimentary breakfast the next morning and the buffet spread at Prego was superb, with many different kinds of cereals, cold and hot food, desserts and fruits! The only thing was we had to pay for the kids as the complimentary was limited to 2 persons, not sure the cost as it was all paid by our friends!

Overall, this hotel is excellent!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc_myinitial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We spent 7 nights over Christmas at the Fairmont in a Raffles Inc Room which was spacious and comfortable with a great view over the Marina Bay and CBD. Staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and efficient. Our rate included breakfast which could be taken at three different locations within the hotel (recommend Prego) and free Moet or other drinks and nibbles between 5pm and 8pm each evening in the Raffles lounge on 23rd floor - also free use of the internet in the lounge if needed. Location is great, right in the middle of Singapore with a MRT below and a good shopping centre with lots of eating options attached. Would recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable central location. Have previously stayed in Exec room at Marina Mandarin but would return to the Fairmont.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at this excellent hotel for two nights on our journey to Australia, and for two nights on our return journey. We chose the Fairmont having stayed there previously on two occasions in 2007 when it was named Raffles the Plaza. At that time we were so impressed we decided that on any future visit to Singapore we would return to the same hotel.

The hotel really does live up to its 5 star rating, and is well situated in an established part of Singapore directly across the road from the original Raffles Hotel and directly above the excellent Raffles City Shopping Centre and adjacent train station.

The entrance to the hotel is impressive and from the moment you arrive, porters are there with a warm greeting to help with your luggage. We booked a “Raffles Inc” room which had its own reception on the 23rd floor of the hotel, and check in was fast and efficient. We requested and were given a deluxe room in the South Tower overlooking the harbour – the views from the balcony were stunning particularly at night.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and very well equipped and furnished, down to bedside remote control units for curtains, lighting, air-conditioning etc. The rooms have safes (complimentary), bath robes, slippers, tea / coffee and a well stocked reasonably priced mini bar. The bathrooms are excellent with white marble tiles and glass fittings, including a bath and adjacent wet shower area incorporating a rainforest shower. The Raffles Inc rooms included a nightly turn down service, with orchid flowers being left on the bed, and the ice bucket filled. We also had the use of the Raffles Inc. Executive Lounge on the 23rd floor where breakfast was served between 6.30am and 10.30am and also where cocktails and canapés were served between 5.00pm and 8.00pm - a very nice start to the evening! We chose to have breakfast in the Alligator Pear Restaurant on the 8th Floor overlooking the outdoor Pool and there was an excellent choice of hot and cold food.

The hotel has several good restaurants and it is also possible to take meals in the original Raffles Hotel and charge them to your room (reservations needed) – we enjoyed a meal in the Raffles Long Bar Steak House.

The hotel also included the Willowstream Spa which has excellent facilities and a wide range of treatments.

What really makes this hotel stand out is the friendly and efficient service provided by the hotel staff all of whom go out of their way to make your stay special. In particular, we can’t praise highly enough the Duty Manager of Raffle Inc., Sandra Moses and her team who really do provide an excellent service which makes a real difference.

It is fair to say that this is our favourite hotel in the world and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Hotel is located at Raffles City and directly above the City hall subway stop (not to be confused with Raffles Place stop...)
We were upgraded since we arrived very late, and the staff were all very helpful. Room was spacious, and rooms in the south tower have a fantastic view of the Esplanade, water and the Merlion. Beds are very comfortable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeannaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

A flawless stay. The staff combine Fairmont training with Singaporean hospitality, the hotel facilities are excellent, and the rooms are of the highest standard. The hotel is well located near Chinatown, Little India and the east end of Orchard Road, and right opposite Raffles.

The hotel is part of the Swissotel complex and is right on top of a mall, so it's easy to find breakfast if you oversleep the restaurant or want something a little lighter. It's convenient for buses and the MRT, and of course taxis are everywhere, so it's also easy to get around.

If I had one niggle (other than the high cost of internet access) it's that the pools - which are shared with the Swissotel, I think - are circular and small-ish and while ideal for lounging around and for playing with the kids in, are not a lot of use if you want to swim as a form of exercise. But other than that, it's a really good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 314 in Singapore
7,394 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 314 in Singapore
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 314 in Singapore
22,075 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Property: Fairmont Singapore
Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#18 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing