We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Fairmont Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Singapore
Ranked #17 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We loved the location of the hotel, atop the Raffles City Shopping Center and the City Hall MRT station.

We had a great price by booking a package through a travel agent. However, our travel agent did not specify a non-smoking room and we were first assigned to a smoking room. The disturbing part is that the ashtray in the room had 2 cigarette butts in it.

We were moved to a non-smoking room 5 floors up, overlooking Raffles Hotel. The room was satisfactory but had a slightly musty smell. The hotel is not very new but our room had been satisfactorily upgraded.

Because of the service error, we were comped with buffet breakfast for both days in the ground floor restaurant. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,545
    1,619
    335
    110
    64
See reviews for
1,284
1,997
346
1,397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at The Fairmont Singapore over New Year and had a brilliant view of the fireworks from the pool terrace. We were impressed with both the quality of service and amenities. The bed and pillows were unbelievably comfortable, so much so we’re looking into where we can buy similar bedding from. All of the staff we encountered were very accommodating and the turn down service was a nice touch. The spa area was lovely and we were disappointed we only discovered it on our last night. The location is great as we were able to walk to most places. Our only small criticisms would be that wifi was limited to the lobby area and the air conditioning in our room was ice cold, even when turned up as warm as it would go. I’m sure we could have called upon someone to fix it but we just turned it off completely. Despite the small blips, Fairmont is a quality hotel and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Che_Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The Fairmont isn't cheap, but a good online deal convinced me to book one room for myself and my partner, and another for a couple of relatives. We all agreed it was a good choice for a week's stay in Singapore.
The rooms are nice and big, each with its own little balcony affording (in our case) a view of Raffles Hotel from the 6th floor. I would have liked something a little higher, but it was fine. The location, next to Raffles City shopping mall and City Hall MRT station (not to mention right across from the aforementioned must-see tourist trap) was superb. It was also on the hop-on, hop-off tourist bus route, which came in handy.
The pool area was nice and we used it a fair bit. Our bathroom sink could have been cleaned better, but the disposable (read : free) slippers were a nice touch. The service was pleasant and helpful; when I checked out and explained that the second in-house movie I had tried to watch hadn't worked, they cancelled the charge without a second thought.
If you can get a decent deal on the room rate, I'd recommend this as a good sightseeing base.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarshipVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont for only 1 night on our way over to the Netherlands just after Christmas ( December 27 - 28 ) and the hotel is amazing !. This was our second stay at the hotel in 2 years and again was a wonderful experience. We had an inter-connecting room and both rooms were large , well set up and have no end of amenities. The view is fantastic and the thing we love about the hotel is the doors open to a small balcony so you can get fresh air. The location is perfect for all aspects of shopping and restaurants . Cafe Swiss in the Swissotel The Stamford is THE BEST PLACE FOR BREAKFAST .. so if you're going to to Singapore don't go past the Fairmont .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank currieinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I've stayed at the Fairmont before, but waited till my second trip to review it. It was excellent both times. It is well situated for shopping, business or night life. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I've always had rooms looking south to the harbour and the view is great - day and night. The choice of restaurants is varied and good and there are other good restaurants and bars in Chijmes - just over the road. Raffles Hotel is next door as well. As an example of the service, I wanted to take flowers to a friends house and asked for a florist at the concierge's desk. Rather than telling me where to go, he took me into the adjacent shopping mall and showed me the florist - great service. This hotel is great for short or long stays. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinMacF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the Fairmont and could not have been happier.
For the price, you get a great hotel, great location (opposite Raffles) and the services was excellent.
We arrived to find our selected room level only had smoking left and so they upgraded us immediately to the next level of room without question.
The restaurant have a good range of food and the rooms are both well fitted and kept immaculately.
Only complaint, lack of a wifi in the rooms, but this is the case in many hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryLee316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I just loved my stay at the Fairmont Singapore. The hotel is located right in the heart of everything with easy access to every attraction, lots of different interesting dining areas and more. It is located within a mall complex and thus has a metro stop right underneath with easy access from the airport rather than hiring a car or expensive taxi. The hotel is very glamorous. The rooms well designed and maintained and all the amenities five star. The food was wonderful and the service friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The hotel had such a great vibe about it. I think it is due to the fact that it is right in the heart of the city with lots of guests in and out. The lobby bar was a great place to have cocktails. As well, if you on that level, the Fairmont Gold Lounge was wonderful. Great service, great food and very relaxing.
The gym is fully equipped with heaps of equipment so you never have to wait. This is a great hotel to stay at in Singapore with great, great service. Also, the famous Raffles Hotel is right across the street, so you can walk over and have a Singapore Sling! Brilliant. I loved my stay at the Fairmont Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettertogether11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,025 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Singapore

Property: Fairmont Singapore
Address: 80 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189560, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Singapore
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#17 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Singapore hotel is ideally situated at the crossroads of Singapore's business, cultural, entertainment and shopping districts. It offers 769 luxurious guestrooms and suites, a collection of 16 distinctive restaurants and bars and 70,000 square feet of prime meeting space - all supported by our Singapore hotel's award-winning service teams.In addition, guests of Fairmont Singapore have access to the Willow Stream Spa, one of the largest spa facilities in Asia, offering the best in spa and fitness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Singapore Hotel Singapore
Raffles Plaza Singapore
Singapore Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing