We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Probably the only right way to get to Raffles Hotel is by a Limo with tinted windows. Well, I took a shuttle service bus that dropped people at several locations. Normally I would not rate such a place as a 5 star hotel, but The Raffles Hotel is a whole different experience. Upon entrance you feel like you would enter a time machine and move to the colonial times. Everything, the décor, furniture and even the outfit of staff makes you think that you moved in time. The check-in went very well, with the hotel boy helping us with luggage. We were given a two single bed room with a garden view. Even though the hotel is in the middle of downtown, you could not hear much noise. The décor of the rooms and furniture is also colonial and seems that it has been there for a while. Rooms and bathrooms are large and you get all the amenities you would need in a five star hotel. The swimming pool is stuck with people in peak time. Once in the hotel, you have to try the bar with peanut shells being thrown on the ground. The breakfast was superb during our stay, with cook to order possibilities. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the City Hall underground station and a 10 minute walk to the Clarke Quay which gets busy at night.

Room Tip: Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,975 - 2,981 of 4,278 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

Lives up to all its expectations, a truly wonderful experience to treasure - from when we were picked up by the Raffles Classic Daimler at the Airport, to our departure.
Clean comfortable rooms, great service and amenities (pool and spa especially frequented), professional caring staff, great food especially the afternoon tea.
Been meaning to stay here for a long time and glad to say did not disappoint, was well worth the wait. Look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on your visit to Raffles Hotel. I am happy that you had a wonderful stay and found our service, amenities and afternoon tea to be delightful.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and delighting you with yet another memorable experience.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Raffles for two nights at the end of a three week visit to Singapore and found it a great way to finish our Singapore experience. The ambience of the hotel is very old world and we got a great appreciation for the history of the place. It is not cheap, but as the saying goes, 'you get what you pay for'. Service was excellent, pool area and staff there were great for us, high tea was nice to experience (as a guest, we had it upstairs and avoided the crowds) and the breakfast was excellent. Room, although a bit dated, was still very comfortable and did not detract from our visit. Would recommend a short stay to experience the ambience of the place.

Room Tip: better to be away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharltonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for recommending Raffles Hotel Singapore.

I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and found our service and ambience to be delightful. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A wonderful place to stay when visiting Singapore. The hotel manages to keep a true Far Eastern charm whilst still having most of the modern facilities you would expect. Our courtyard suite was very spacious with traditional furnishings. So many modern 5star hotels are more or less the same once you are inside but Raffles still feels like a Colonial outpost. If you are very keen on high tech rooms it may not be for you..it didn't have flat screen TVs or a power shower, no iPod docks or in room coffee making facilities. However you really felt you were staying in a part of Singapore,s history. Service was exceptional from the concierge to the pool attendants.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the colonial charm of the hotel and that our services at the concierge and swimming pool contributed to making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in the future.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Class, style, service, elegance......this place has it all. Simple the best.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Only stayed here for 2 nights, but I wish it could of been longer. After days touring Singapore in the humidity walking into the hotel was like a Colonial Oasis. I loved the hotel it has such character and charm. Our rooms were large with such high ceilings and we had a huge terrace overlooking the lovely courtyard. Our Butlers Adie & another guy who's name I can't remember, were fantastic and even escorted us around the hotel when we couldn't find places. The Indian buffet in the Tiffin Room was exquisite, I've never tasted anything like it. There is something about the hotel that when you walk through the courtyards & past the fountains etc you can't help but imagine what it used to be like when it first opened over 100 years ago. The pool is also really cute and the pool attendants are waiter are very attentive coming around with fruit kebabs, blueberry smoothies, and water throughout the day. The only downside was the restaurant we chose one night for dinner Royal China, was very disappointing. It was nothing like the standard of the Royal China in England and it was empty, A local we were with says the Red Cherry in the Mandarin Oriental hotel is the best around if you are looking for chinese food. However the hotel is probably one of the best I have stayed in and only wish I could've stayed a little longer.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor think it was called the temask suite it was literally opposite the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonjourLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for your detailed review. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience at the hotel and enjoyed the atmosphere and style of your suite.

Your comments provide opportunities for us in which to improve and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Pierre Jochem, General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations , Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I've stayed there for only 2 nights but were enough to appreciate the warm welcome of an old colonial style hotel , perfectly preserved with the full of scent and atmosphere from the old singapore.
extremely kind service, personal touch, nice food.
did not have time to try the pool and fitness facility so I don't judge it.
My experience was really 5*. would I go back and suggest this place to friends? definitely

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,823 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £551 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing