We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Arrived enroute to Thailand, whisked straight to the Cathay Suite. Charming suite and very comfortable. Verandah very spacious, but unfortunately not used much. Food and wine in the restaurant excellent, service impeccable while understated. Private City tour very good and recommendation for Harbour restaurant spot on. The driver of the car arranged to take us there went beyond his remit to extend the evening making it even more enjoyable. Walking around the Hotel the staff go out of their way to help. The Long Bar Restaurant again first class. The Long Bar - the entertainment excellent, staff can't be any more attentive. Unfortunately should have left that last drink on the bar!! but hey ho we were on holiday. Daimler to the airport. Seamless enjoyment, what was booked was provided, what was expected was exceeded. No wonder ex Raffles staff pop up at the best hotels around the world.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wardy-gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,878
    633
    151
    47
    38
See reviews for
680
1,845
258
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

2011 was about to end and we thought of spending the remaining days of 2011 with great memories. We compared our notes on the best hotels in the Lion City and my recommendation got the most favor - the raffles hotel. Excitement started burning after Singapore airlines touched down with a commanding grace and confidence. But it took us almost an hour waiting for the hotel van and decided to hire another van. Later we found out that there was a miscommunication with our travel agent. With all the apologies, the management refunded us and treated us like kings and queens with 2 bottles of wine during dinner. The food is great except for their spicy crabs. The service is superbly awesome and i had my own personal staff to attend to my needs- even at 3am when i went home drunk and politely asked for a hot coffee. I took the room fronting the garden and i had the easiest access of coming home late. Non guests are not allowed in the vicinity and guests are assured of perfect private moments -err privacy. A botique hotel, the place has an array of nice shops. And if you happen to pack your swimsuits or that dream dress, panic no more. The staff are well trained. In the morning, you can have a good dose of filipino service and communication is not a problem. They can even tell you where to buy a good bargain or that naughty shop. The rooms are spacious and has a distinct smell of an old world. The bath tub is well beyond my birth year and soaking your tired body seemed like taking a cleopatra mode. No matter how old this hotel is, the experience just compensated the rate.

Room Tip: Get a room fronting the garden. You will love Singapor mornings with wet grasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for writing this detailed & personal review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Warm regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Raffles for 3 nights in mid-March at the end of a 5 weeks vacation in SE Asia. We had stayed in some nice hotels, but none compared to the high level of Raffles. Although the hotel building, the décor, such as the huge arrangements of orchids, and the rooms were impressive, it was the staff that made the place. The service was impeccable, with all the employees going out of their way to make sure our stay went smoothly.

We stayed in a Palm Court suite, which had a sitting room with sofa and breakfast table, a large bedroom, and a bathroom with double vanity and separate bath/shower/toilet. The high ceiling made the rooms look even bigger. Everywhere was super clean and well maintained. The butler service was a great - ordered tea and coffee, and they came with home-baked chocolate chip cookies - small things like that added to the experience. The wi-fi was fast and reliable.

The shopping arcade and hotel museum were fun places to explore, followed by the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling and peanuts.

Our stay was expensive, but the bang-for-the-buck exceeds any other hotel we have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Two2bThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Did the high tea- the tea, hot food & dessert buffet. Nice but think it was more about the location. Went to the long bar after which is a tourist trap at $30 for a sling & to chuck nuts on the floor. Good to tick off the list but if u don't want to spend the money then alot of people were just looking round the scenic hotel courtyards.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have travelled through Singapore and stayed five times over the last six years but never stayed at the old Raffles Hotel before (previous hotels Mandarin, Orchard etc.) This Hotels welcome and it's ambience in not just public areas but rooms as well, has spoilt all future hotels to some extent for me.
From front desk through to turn down service nothing but courtesy and the feeling that they want you to be comfortable.
Although frequented by lots of tourists the Long Bar is fantastic. breakfast buffet I could not have wished for a larger or fresher selection. The pool and bar service is a great place to relax on a hot afternoon.
The hotels location is walking distance to many attractions. Its easy to catch a taxi from front or side entrance at all times of the day. Yes it's expensive in a city where hotels are of a good standard with many very reasonably priced but if cost is not a major concern I recommend it.
If I can continue to afford it, this will be the Hotel I choose in Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I decided to stay here with only one day notice. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful regarding transportation, tours, shopping.. during the entire stay. Free drinks during check in, beautiful historical hotel, large well equipped room, and a personal valet only a phone call away. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
I am pleased that you had a pleasant experience at Raffles Hotel and that our colleagues could make you feel cared for, making your stay enjoyable.

I have shared your encouraging comments with the team and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raffles in the near future.

Best regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I have been fortunate to visit Raffles Singapore on several occasions and we never tire of staying there.

We recently enjoyed a 4 night break here with friends before embarking on an Far East cruise. The service was as always, wonderful. Our personal butler staff were such a delight and went out of their way to ensure that our arrangements for our post cruise stay at Raffles Beijing and transport there, were all in order and confirmed before we left to join our cruise. Once again, we cannot fault the superb experience enjoyed here and thank the hotel for such a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We love the Palm Court suites which overlook the side elevation of the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridavillabookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for staying regularly at different properties of the Raffles brand and sharing your pleasant experience with us. We look forward to your return visit, to one of our Palm Court suites overlooking the side elevation of the main building.

Best regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,765 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,731 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Travelbag so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing