We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Nearby Hotels
US$449
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$901
US$637
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$271
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$342
US$309
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$456
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,293)
Filter reviews
4,293 results
Traveller rating
3,269
767
161
54
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,269
767
161
54
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiffin roombilliard roomcourtyard suitemonkey nutsfamous long barwriters barthe palm courtpeanut shells on the floorcourtyard barhigh teapersonal butlerbucket listbutler servicecolonial stylemain buildingrooftop poolmarina bay sands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,937 - 2,942 of 4,293 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What to add about this mythical hotel? This is a different kind of place, something that any Hilton or Mariott will never compare to! Of course the service is perfect, of course the staff is friendly, almost embarrassingly so! Of course the room, sorry the suite, is fantastic (yes even the "cheap" ones), but the best is the incredible charm and sense of history that you can feel everywhere in the hotel. Highly recommended.... although this comes to a very serious price unfortunately... I guess this is not a problem for the "royalty and nobility" patrons supposed to frequent the Raffles, but certainly one for the rest of us! Nevertheless definitely worth a least a short stay if in Singapore.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Let's get this out of the way first. It IS expensive. If you want to go, then you just have to pay! First impressions were of the way we were escorted in by a uniformed member of staff and welcomed by desk staff. The whole place smells fantastic, it is an essential oil and it stays in your memory long after you have left. The check in procedure was efficient and we were offered a complimentary drink in the Writer's Bar, where we sat and watched the world go by for a while. Our luggage was whisked off to our suite while we relaxed. When we were ready we were shown to the suite by our butler, a very enthusiastic young woman who explained how everything worked. The Palm Court Suite is a parlour area with sofa, dining table and chairs, mini bar and tray set out with named brand gins/bourbons etc. The bedroom is huge, the ceiling must be 15 to 18 feet high, two double beds (twin room) which had luxury bedding and a pillow menu. The thread count on the bed was amazing, you could feel the difference. There is ample storage in the large wardrobes and other furniture, all of which is in dark wood which reflects the colonial style of Raffles, it is all in keeping with the whole building, so don't go expecting modern stylish, boutique, contemporary stuff! The bathroom is done in tiles which also reflect the era, a deep bath, a separate shower and a dressing area with two basins. Sound proofing in the room was superb, as you close the front door you can hear the silence. The pool area is a real surprise, peaceful and comfortable and with a bar where you can get food and drinks, either sitting at the tables or brought to your sunbed by Rasty, who works tirelessly to make sure everyone has everything they need.

Of course, we did the obligatory Singapore Sling thing in The Long Bar, the martini menu is much better, lots of fun with dramatic presentation and for a better Sling go to the Courtyard Bar or the Bar and Billiard Room where they are mixed for you, rather than being poured from a ready made jug. We had dinner at the Courtyard Restaurant, it was lovely because of where it was, service was excellent, the food good, but not outstanding and therefore a little overpriced.

If you get the chance to experience Raffles, just go! It is not a modern hotel, it is an institution and that's what you go for. A little piece of history for you to step into and embrace.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at Raffles, Palm Court Suites look out over the garden.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diandcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Raffles is a very nice hotel. The breakfast is great. The personnel is very nice and helpful. The rooms are huge! They are also very child-friendly. We had a wonderful time there!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Kwik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Arrived enroute to Thailand, whisked straight to the Cathay Suite. Charming suite and very comfortable. Verandah very spacious, but unfortunately not used much. Food and wine in the restaurant excellent, service impeccable while understated. Private City tour very good and recommendation for Harbour restaurant spot on. The driver of the car arranged to take us there went beyond his remit to extend the evening making it even more enjoyable. Walking around the Hotel the staff go out of their way to help. The Long Bar Restaurant again first class. The Long Bar - the entertainment excellent, staff can't be any more attentive. Unfortunately should have left that last drink on the bar!! but hey ho we were on holiday. Daimler to the airport. Seamless enjoyment, what was booked was provided, what was expected was exceeded. No wonder ex Raffles staff pop up at the best hotels around the world.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank wardy-gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

2011 was about to end and we thought of spending the remaining days of 2011 with great memories. We compared our notes on the best hotels in the Lion City and my recommendation got the most favor - the raffles hotel. Excitement started burning after Singapore airlines touched down with a commanding grace and confidence. But it took us almost an hour waiting for the hotel van and decided to hire another van. Later we found out that there was a miscommunication with our travel agent. With all the apologies, the management refunded us and treated us like kings and queens with 2 bottles of wine during dinner. The food is great except for their spicy crabs. The service is superbly awesome and i had my own personal staff to attend to my needs- even at 3am when i went home drunk and politely asked for a hot coffee. I took the room fronting the garden and i had the easiest access of coming home late. Non guests are not allowed in the vicinity and guests are assured of perfect private moments -err privacy. A botique hotel, the place has an array of nice shops. And if you happen to pack your swimsuits or that dream dress, panic no more. The staff are well trained. In the morning, you can have a good dose of filipino service and communication is not a problem. They can even tell you where to buy a good bargain or that naughty shop. The rooms are spacious and has a distinct smell of an old world. The bath tub is well beyond my birth year and soaking your tired body seemed like taking a cleopatra mode. No matter how old this hotel is, the experience just compensated the rate.

Room Tip: Get a room fronting the garden. You will love Singapor mornings with wet grasses.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for writing this detailed & personal review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at Raffles Hotel Singapore.

Warm regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews