We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

There has to be something said about walking legitimately into the "Resident's Only" section of Raffles Hotel which is pretty much the dream! And it didn't disapoint! Service from the staff was exceptional with special care taken to remember names, likes and dislikes. I certainly give Mr Nazir a a huge two thumbs up for making it a memorable stay - complete with a birthday cake to my suite!

The Palm Court Suite was exactly as pictured which was a delight. Instead of being slick and modern it had a lived-in elegance about it, homeley yet refined. And HUGE! The bed offered the best nights sleep in months and the linens were crisp yet snuggly. I covert a Raffles Robe now....the most luxurious fresh cotton to wrap around you. Lots of fluffy, big towels and amenities were plentiful.
The televisions aren't plasma/lcd which wasn't a dealbreaker in this instance because I never even thought to turn it on.

Bulter service was provided and they couldn't have been more accomodating with requests. I feel silly asking for a cup of coffee when most hotel rooms have the provision there for you, but I guess that is what the rich and famous do...and this place certainly makes you feel pretty special.

Part of the charm about this hotel is that do you feel as if you belong to a special little club and the long terraces encourage interaction with fellow guests if you wish. My room which faced onto a courtyard was so incredibly quiet which belied the fact there was a major road not 50m away, even when sitting on the terrace.

The pool wasn't anything unique however it was perfect to escape the hustle of the city, with somebody actually providing service all day. That is something you don't see alot these days! Lots of towels and well maintained changing areas.

I had been to the Long Bar several times before but being a resident does make it that extra bit special when you can charge ti to your room and the staff checking to ensure that all is ok wherever possible.

I did have to take a star off the rating as I did seem a bit jinxed when it came to the food & beverage service with something going wrong each time I ordered. I did mention this on check out and the staff did appear genuinely concerned about this and were most apologetic. They were minor things each time (but cumulatively it made me a little hesitant about ordering inhouse) however with a property of this reputation the expectation is that it is on pointe.

Overall though, I lived the dream!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Missjane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for taking the time to edit a detailed review about your stay with us and remembering even names of our colleagues. I have shared your feedback with them and can assure you that for them, knowing that they could enchant a guest with personalized service is always very motivating.

I also took note of your experience with food orders and have reviewed it with the restaurant teams. Thank you for pointing this out to us and allowing us to improve.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,698 - 2,704 of 4,256 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

This visit to SE Asia featured some wonderful hotels, and Raffles sits firmly with the best of them. A little pocket of old world colonial charm in the maelstrom of modern Singapore, it is a place to be experienced at least once in your life. We arrived in the morning expecting to drop our bags and return at a sensible time to check in, but were immediately seated with complimentary Singapore Slings to wait ten minutes while our delightful suite was prepared. We loved lunches in the Empire Café and listening to the band in the Long Bar. Staff couldn't possible be more helpful.

The very opposite of a modern chain hotel, Raffles has charm and soul. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and your appreciation of the hotel and our service. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you consider our establishment
special.

I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Expectation was high.... the beautiful building = check, nice old-time interrior in the rooms = check, good food and service = check, atmosphere is tranquil = check, and staff soooo excellent =check, check, and check....no wonder world's best....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariko-af-stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for writing us your feedback and covering various aspects of the hotel. I am very happy to hear that the best thing you remark is the staff and their attitude to care for our guests.

This is indeed one of our top priorities, to look after every single guest in a way that he feel home away from home.

The entire team looks forward to having you again among us.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Raffles hotel is everything I expected steeped in history and old world charm. Rooms are filled with antique furniture. A few mod cons eg plasma tv are not possible due to age of building however this is more than made up for in its charm. The service was amazing , the best I have come across. Staff are always at hand to look after your every need. Even if you turn your head they are concerned you are ok. The pool is lovely - very relaxing. Treatments in the Spa are amazing and a must do after a long haul flight. Sunday Brunch in the Bar and Billard room is a must do as is a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Singapore, I am grateful for your appreciation of our service and the old world charm of the property.

Raffles Spa is indeed a beautiful sanctuary for relaxing after a tiring trip and nothing is better to end the week in a lavish way than with the scrumptious Sunday Brunch at Bar & Billiard Room.

I hope to have the occasion to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Singapore nowdays is plenty of new stunning new hotel, but the Raffles still keep his head high with their beautiful hisotric building and surronding. Once in there is like going back in time.
The hi tea is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I truly enjoy staying at hotels that have a long history, as the Raffles most certainly does.

No trip to Singapore is complete without at least a visit to the hotel. Being a guest, you're treated to wonderful service and an enchanting property to take full advantage of. Everything from the great dining choices to the shoppes is an oasis within an oasis in Singapore.

The rooms are stunning beyond stunning. Wonderfully decorated and appointed, it's worth every red cent they command for these suites. The bathrooms are modern and the level of cleanliness is sublime.

If making a trip here, make sure you at least walk around this marvelous property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, I am very happy to read that we the property and the staff could make it an enchanted stay for you.

Thank you also for trying our restaurants, maybe you even tried Raffles Courtyard, our alfresco dining venue which was recently launched again with a new, Italian concept.

The entire hotel looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This has to be the best experience of all to anyone going to Singapore. The welcome and attention to detail are second to none. My Wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a Courtyard Suite which was away from the Tourists Nd very quiet. The Cousine is as good as I have ever tasted and the Table service is so attentavive as to embarrass us Brits. Expensive yes but if you can afford just one night it is money well spent. We were stopping over befor going to Sydney for a South Seas Cruise and were so glad we stayed at Raffles. we leave behind many happy memories and especial thank you to our Butler Frances and his beautiful Wife who looked after us with such passion.
We look forwards to staying again soon for much longer.. sorry Kids we've sold the House !! No not really. Ease go if you can even for just a visit to the Long Bar to chuck Monkey Nut Shells under the Table whilst drinking to famous Singapore Sling.

Room Tip: Away from the front which is always busy with Tourists
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andykcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for staying with us, I am glad to hear that we could live up to the expectations you had.

I have shared your feedback with Francis, it is always a great pleasure for our staff to make the stay of our guests even better with their personable but discreet service.

I hope the rest of your cruising holiday was as pleasant as the stay with us.

Kind regards,
Pierre Jochem
General Manager Raffles Hotel Singapore & Regional Vice President, Operations, Asia Pacific, Raffles Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,196 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £356 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Singapore will be closed for renovation on 13 December 2017 with a planned reopening in the second half of 2018. Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing