We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Centre Far East break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raffles Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“3 Centre Far East break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Arrived in the 17/03/13 after being at Hong Kong & Borneo. Very smooth check in and surprised to find we had a butler ( Nikki ), who walked us to our room. Nice room with separate sitting room. We went to the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling. We had breakfast in the Tiffin Room on the first morning which was very enjoyable. On the second morning we went to the little bakery shop which was very nice, we also had a sandwich and cake which were really nice.
We paid to keep the room on on the last day until 6.00pm but was a little surprised the room was not serviced early and when they came at 4.00pm to service the room we were trying to have a rest.
We went to see the gardens by the bay which was really nice, however only one of the domes was open which was a little disappointing.
Recommend you go to the top of the Marine Sands Hotel about 58 floors high for spectacular views

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and upload photos of your stay in Singapore.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your suite and our restaurants. I have also shared your feedback with our butler Nikki who was thrilled that she could contribute to make your stay a most memorable one.

The Raffles Hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier

Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,821
    612
    147
    48
    38
See reviews for
675
1,789
254
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Juvignac, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent 4 days in december and were very disappointed by the hotel, except the nice swimming pool. Room was very noisy: we had to change room because of too much noise from neighbors upstairs. There was a small TV with few channels, correct bathroom, good bed, minimalist and very sober decoration. But the worst of all is service: we are supposed to have excellent majordomo service but we rang the bell many times and ... still waiting for someone to help us ! We then arranged our change of room with reception and an angry steward came to show our new room and didn't help us with luggage: incredible !
Breakfast is good, the bar is excellent and it seems that Raffles believe more in their restaurants, bars and the shops of their mall rather than in the hotel.
Then better for you just to taste the bar and take pictures in the hall...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank banyuls034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback about your experience during your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to express my regret that your stay was not flawless all the way through. I have noted your comments on some of the service issues you highlighted and discussed them with the Front Office and Concierge team.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed at the Raffle's last December, it was my second stay there in two years. Everything is just perfect there: the location, the room, the service, the atmosphere, the staff...
Do not miss the Sunday brunch in the Billiard Room. It's a unique , exquisite experience.

Room Tip: The Courtyard Suites are just unbelievable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

What a wonderful review, thank you very much.

Thank you for your appreciation of our service and highlighting in particular the Sunday Brunch at Bar & Billiard Room which is indeed a special treat.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at your "home" in Singapore, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at Raffles on the night of the 18th and while it is a lovely colonial building with a lot of history it seemed to lack some very simple yet important touches like complimentary water in the rooms on arrival, ours were put in the room at turn down, which was well after we had decided to buy our own. We found the service to be more welcoming and warm at other places we have stayed. If you are looking for a modern 5 star experience then think about booking elsewhere as you will not get it staying at Raffles it is a colonial hotel of an era well past and is in need of a cosmetic lift to keep it relevant to people beyond a novelty or a vanity stay. Personally we wont be staying again as the price did not justify what was on offer but in saying that I do wish to see Raffles update and stay in touch with the times while not being overcome with them in the future.

Room Tip: Order the crab fried rice from room service. Look elsewhere if you would like modern comfort/looks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wheretogofromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback, further to your recent stay at Raffles Hotel. We appreciate every comment from our guests allowing us to constantly improve our service.

As you pointed out, bottled water is placed with turn-down service in all our suites and our butlers are available to refresh that whenever requested.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Raffles Hotel Singapore one of these days again, allowing you to enjoy the colonial feeling of our Grande Dame.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We're here for four nights, arriving yesterday. We'd researched the hotel via tripadvisor and are very glad we chose to come. It's beautiful. The staff are very friendly. We'd read about the bedrooms needing an update. Yes ours is rather old fashioned and the tv is from a bygone era, but the room is very spacious, colonial and comfortable. The butler, Alvaro, is very helpful and welcoming. Sitting outside our room, drinking complimentary tea, connected to the wifi, it's a very calm and beautiful place to stay. We had dinner at the grill last night. Special thanks to the restaurant manager Stephen who made it possible for us to have dinner there even though the restaurant was fully booked. Plus he had excellent recommendations - try the truffle ravioli. It's one of the best dishes we've ever had! My husband and I wanted to try the Omaha steak but were worried it would be too much, to which Stephen said he'd split one portion in to two. Perfect suggestion and symbolic of the can-do service here. Stefan, the director of Wine, was passionate about the wines and not at all snobby when we wanted a wine from the lowest price level. This morning we had breakfast in the Tiffin room. I asked the waiter what he would recommend and ordered the Raffles omelette following his advice. I am so glad I listened to him as it was delicious. We're here for work and are still at the beginning of the trip but so far everything has been wonderful and we are so glad we chose Raffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you so much for posting your fantastic review already while you are still enjoying your stay, I appreciate that your choice fell on the Grande Dame of Singapore.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy the colonial style of your suite and that colleagues from various departments looked after you in the Raffles way, like a gentle summer breeze.

I have shared your positive feedback with Alvaro, Stephen and Stephane, as it is always motivating for colleagues to know that they could contribute to make a guest’s stay remarkable.

I wish you a pleasant stay with us for the coming days and look forward to the pleasure of having you with us in the near future again.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stopped at the Raffles to "experience it" on the way back to North America. It was a hot day, and there was no bottled water provided in the room. The room was nice, but long of tooth. The famous Long Bar had the signature Singapore Sling at $26 and highballs at $20. No water was offered poolside. NOT A FIVE STAR and definitely not worth $600 per night. Maybe $250. FOUR SEASONS HERE I COME.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ziggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_M1887, Vice President Operations at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stopover to North America, let me tell you how disappointed we are to hear that we did not succeed in impressing you on the occasion of your first stay with us.

Bottled mineral water is provided both at our pool and in our suites and I am sorry that at two occasions this service was neglected. Your comments have been shared with the respective departments and we would be grateful to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and to have you experience the legendary Raffles service.

Kind regards,

Thomas Meier
Vice President Operations
Raffles Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Indulgent, yes.
From the moment one alights from the vehicle ( the British-Indian welcoming attire is a debate for another domain) to when one sadly leaves, this hotel is a haven within an intense metropolis.
To the person/s in charge of staff training they are to be highly commended, some of the best staff I have experienced in decades of traveling. Looking the guest in the eye with a smile is incredibly welcoming.

British colonial architecture at its best and as a guest one joins an illustrious guest book register.
Go for a walk and see the drawings of its development along with a 'celebrity' wall or two..

Respectfully renovated, allows the guest to ponder the grandeur of its history, even if you feel in some parts of the hotel as if one is on set for 'Antiques Roadshow'.

Breakfast is a feast which one should allow time to relish...the collection of tiffin boxes is a bonus when re visiting the array presented.
One drink in the infamous Long bar is all one needs...it is just a pub.

An early morning swim is a welcoming start to the day in calm surrounds.
A strong hot shower waiting in a luxuriant, if not a little staid bathroom is always appreciated. Even a huge bath for those who like to indulge.
Decent bath towels as opposed to over sized tea towels as a lot of properties provide also appeals ...
Think 1920's bathrobe....I indulged.
Arriving home today, I am glad I did

Room Tip: Cannot imagine there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre J, Director of Rooms at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Greetings from Raffles Hotel Singapore!

Many thanks for posting your feedback after staying with us. I am grateful for your appreciation of the service which indeed is our biggest asset. All colleagues are trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations, pampering our guests like a gentle summer breeze.

The team at Raffles Hotel Singapore looks forward to having you again with us.

Kind regards,

MassimoMoreschini
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,434 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance.Raffles Spa provides pampering relaxation while the boutiques of Raffles Hotel Arcade offer ample opportunities for retail therapy. Raffles Hotel Arcade houses a fine selection of elegant international brands including Tiffany and Co. and Louis Vuitton.Be it business or leisure, the charms of this luxurious Singapore hotel are enticing. 15 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Long Bar - home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Bar & Billiard Room, well-known for its legend of "The Tiger under the Billiard Table."This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing