We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #1 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great 3 night break between christmas and new year with the teenage children. Stayed in two Palm Court suites - excellent size and facilities. Breakfast delicious and large choice - staff lovely. Great building too. Pool staff lovely. Worth staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear essexreviewer1958,

Thank you for your kind review of Raffles Singapore.

I am delighted you enjoyed the Palm Court suites and architecture during your stay over the festive break. I am also particularly glad to hear that you found both the pool and restaurant staff lovely.

I will be sure to share your appreciative comments with all of the staff here, and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,923
    647
    152
    47
    40
See reviews for
691
1,877
261
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

An extraordinary staff, wonderful food and a beautiful room as well as exquisite public spaces - Raffles is a world class hotel that lives up to its glorious reputation. We spent three nights there and while we had reservations about Singapore as a return vacation destination, we would have no reservations whatsoever about simply returning and spending our days and nights at Raffles.

Room Tip: From our walks through the hotel it seemed as f every room was rather wonderful. Our room faced an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamAllen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear WilliamAllen54,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review, we are thrilled that Raffles lived up to its reputation as a world class hotel and that you found the staff “extraordinary”.

I will be sure to pass your kind words on to them. As you say, I hope you will return to Raffles Singapore again soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Good palace hotel in singapore.casino very interesting here. We were pleased to get a reasonable rate on our room and although it was more expensive than a lot of other Singapore accommodation it was well worth the expenditure. Initially we thought we had 2 single beds but no a large room with 2 queen beds was allocated to us. It was spacious with a small sitting room, bedroom, a separate powder room and separate bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. Outside we could sit sip our tea on a spacious long veranda with a view over the flourishing..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your thoughtful review, and for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore.

We pride ourselves on providing a haven for the well-travelled so I am pleased that you enjoyed your spacious suite and veranda. I will of course share your generous comments with the rest of the team here, and hope you return to enjoy tea on the verandan again.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

location is good, sure again we will go there once, hope in near future, we will recommend other my friend as well, thanks again, we are missing this hotel & there staff too,i wish next time i will stay longer & i want to do some of sightseeing tour also, one of hotel staff show me some of good idea on the map. i want to do that trip for next time, they can also provied pick up and drove service, im happy with there service,
Breakfast is missing, nice bed it was,

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Raffles Singapore, and delighted to hear that you hope to return soon – and for longer. Everyone here works hard to live up to Raffles’ reputation for distinguished levels of service, so am glad that you were happy with this, and that the staff were able to keep you informed of the variety of sightseeing tours available. I will pass on your much appreciated comments to the rest of the team here and am sure they look forward to organising your sightseeing trip next time

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I recently made my fourth visit to Raffles (my first was in 1975). As this was Christmas time, the façade and lobby were splendidly decorated for the season. In contrast to the other 'luxury' hotels in Singapore with their air of commercial extravagance, Raffles is an oasis of quiet elegance. The gracious 'colonial' character has been maintained, but successfully combined with all contemporary comforts. Guests are introduced to their personal butler on arrival, and a push of the service button brings immediate attention. Rather than guest rooms, there are ample suites, including a sitting and dining room, an enormous bedroom and a spacious bath with separate shower and bath tub. Most suites are accessed via verandahs overlooking lush garden courts. There is an ample breakfast buffet in the Tiffin Restaurant, but it is even more pleasant to have breakfast served on the verandah or in the suite's dining room. The various restaurants scattered around the complex are as expensive as one might expect in a luxury hotel, but tea in the afternoon in the Tiffin or dinner in the dining room are experiences to be remembered. One can also enjoy luncheon or snacks while lounging around the rooftop pool. The famous Long Bar is a tourist trap and should be avoided by hotel guests. A multi-storey shopping centre has been added to the original complex. But hotel guest are carefully isolated from the shopping crowds, as well as the wedding parties, etc. that take place in some of the hotel's outer courtyards and assembly rooms. Strolling around the rambling complex is a delightful experience and a welcome relief from the busy crowds in this lively and bustling city. On any future visit to Singapore I will certainly choose Raffles.

Room Tip: Suites around the Palm Court are the quietist and enjoy the best views from the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Rand C,

Thank you for your charming review, and for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore regularly.

I am so glad you had a delightful experience over Christmas and found tea in Tiffin Room and dinner in the dining room experiences to be remembered. We aim to provide an oasis for the well-travelled, so I was delighted to read that you found Raffles to be just that! It is also good to hear that you appreciated the contemporary comforts combined with the hotel’s unique colonial character.

I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for three nights in the lead up to Christmas 2013 on route to Australia. In a way this beautiful property is dwarfed by the high rise buildings that surround it, but once you are within the confines, the hotels character shines through and it feels like a genteel colonial oasis in a sea of concrete. We had booked a ground floor Courtyard suite with two king size beds for myself, my wife and our teenage daughter. The suite which included a parlour/dining room was an excellent size for the three of us and was beautifully furnished in dark wood in a simple but elegant colonial style. One slight criticism though which has been noted by other reviewers are the creaky floorboards which are noticeable if your upstairs neighbour has a heavy footfall. If you think it will bother you, book a first floor room. Having left London in high winds and heavy rain, my wife and daughter opened their cases to find much of their clothing wet but that was quickly taken care of by the personal butler allocated to our room, who delivered the clothes back the following day both dry and pressed. As we weren't charged for this, I did have a guilty vision of this lovely girl being up half the night slaving over a tumble dryer and iron but she assured me that wasn't the case. However, we made sure that we didn't call on her excessively during the rest of our stay. There are a variety of restaurants at the hotel from fine dining through to a burger washed down with a Singapore Gin Sling in the Long Bar where you can indulge in the time honoured tradition of eating the free monkey nuts provided and just discarding the shells on the floor. All in all a great experience with excellent service and far preferable to staying in a forty storey mega hotel where you are just a room number. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room to avoid creaking floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born2Rock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

our stay at the raffles hotel was ok.the hotel has a very royal feel to it although i must say its very big and there lots of wings to it,we were always getting lost.lost of stairs etc ,you actually need a map to move around but other than that i can't complain,five star at its best rooms where very comfortable.staff was helpful and food was good.we had breakfast at the tiffany room and we also ate at the longsteak house if i recall the name properly and food was good.the place is quite expensive though as is the whole of singapore..i think its a destination only for those that are wealthy,my husband and i would not pay any less than 500 usd for a simple meal.other than that we enjoyed our stay except for the fact that my iphone4 went missing from the room when we had gone to check out and because we were in a rush to catch our plane only realized at the airport that i didn't have it on me but I'm certain that i had left it in the room when we went to checkout so please make use of the hotel safes..oh and we were assigned a 24hr butler but we only saw her on the day we arrived and never again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21,024 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,855 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing