We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Ranked #3 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Not quite perfect”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wanted it to be perfect but it didn't quite make it. A stay at the famous Raffles Hotel has been on our list forever, so just had to go for it when visiting Singapore. Had a four room suite overlooking the courtyard area containing small sitting room at the front, enormous bedroom, wash area with his & hers vanity units, and bathroom with bath, bidet and shower. The complimentary coffee while we waited for our room to be ready was a welcome surprise and our butler was very accommodating, readily providing everything we asked for. The sheer grandeur of the building makes you feel special and after meeting up with Leslie Danker the resident historian, we got to understand and then walk through the history of the hotel.

So why not a five star? Our room was a bit dirty The under sheet on the bed had stains on it and the extractor fan in the shower was covered in grime. Edges of the room needed dirt attention. Even allowing for the age of the building & therefore old plumbing, a luke warm shower is not acceptable.

The pool area was very disappointing. Too small for the amount of people staying and no one seemed to be clearing up the lunch plates that remained attracting the flies for ages after the guest had left. It was at the pool bar that we were SOLD a bottle of water when throughout the hotel bottled water is free.

And having the "must do" Singapore Sling from the Long Bar was a trial. They put us in a special section reserved for guests but then took over 15 minutes to serve us. The price of that Sling turned out to be extortionate. (As a guest make sure you claim your free complimentary one on arrival.) At time of booking the hotel, we were asked to commit to the breakfast as a separate cost, but it was so high we hesitated. Glad we did because adjacent to Raffles are many restaurants serving delicious very reasonably priced food. Can highly recommend Marche.

Readily admit, that maybe in other hotels these little niggles would be ignored. But the expectation & the £400 per night price tag for Raffles made us presume it would be perfect. It was disappointing that it didn't quite deliver.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Elsiek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback that you were made to feel special and enjoyed the special history tour by our Resident Historian, Leslie Danker.

However, I was very concerned to hear that your stay at the hotel was disappointing in parts and your comments on the housekeeping of the suite and pool have been shared with the relevant departments, which should of course be perfectly clean and neat. The rooftop swimming pool is a popular feature of the hotel and measures 20m by 10m and is enjoyed by many during our frequent fine spells of weather. The water in the shower can take a few minutes to heat up but we do of course have hot water in all our suites. This should have been explained by our Butlers and we are sorry if it was not done so.

We regularly review our prices for food and beverages locally and we feel that the prices for the Singapore Sling and breakfast are fair as the quality is good and the selection for the breakfast buffet is extensive. Our Raffles Singapore bottled water is provided complimentary in the suites however if mineral water is ordered at the pool bar, it is chargeable.

We are very grateful for your feedback as it allows us to continually monitor our guests’ requirements and work on improving the areas of concern. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Raffles Singapore in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,050
    679
    153
    50
    41
See reviews for
720
1,959
274
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed in a Palm Court suite - never been before. Everything about Raffles is gorgeous and I would not dream of staying anywhere else in Singapore. I'm being made to write at least 200 characters but what's more to say than that everything was perfect?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreyft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear geoffreyft,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore. I am pleased that you feel ‘perfect’ is the most concise way to describe our iconic hotel! I will pass on your lovely comments to the team here, and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Raffles for one night post cruise. I was a little anxious that it might be rather 'stuffy' - several of the cruise staff made rather off-putting comments to the effect that shorts were not allowed, 'standards' were very high etc.
We actually found it THE friendliest hotel that we have ever stayed at - it was obvious that staff did their utmost to make everyone's stay truly memorable and that this was consistent, not just a happy coincidence.
We arrived early morning and were given a complimentary drink and tour of the hotel while we waited for our room. Within ten minutes of arrival, all staff greeted us by name.
The suite was lovely, with table and chairs outside and a lovely garden view. We didn't use the butler service but ours seemed very friendly and eager to help, the evening 'turndown' service was very good and left the suite looking really special. Small pool area but very well appointed. The reception area in the main building we thought very grand with a lovely Christmas tree.
As I said above, the staff were very attentive and friendly. Benny in the Writers Bar and the staff in the Billiard Room ( sorry can't remember names) really made our stay special. When we left for the airport, our suitcases were organised for us and the receptionist escorted us to the taxi with an umbrella as it was raining and waved us of! It was also a pleasure to see how proud staff were to work in this hotel.
We had lunch in the Long Bar and dinner in the Billiard Room. The later was a buffet : service exceptional also the best Risotto that I have ever tasted. Breakfast excellent with a vast choice of delicious food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_kate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear john_kate13,

Thank you for your delightful review, most particularly for describing Raffles Singapore as the friendliest hotel you have ever stayed at.

We are honoured to be an iconic part of Singapore’s history and service plays an incredibly important part in this. I was therefore particularly pleased to read that you found the staff to be consistently friendly and attentive. I will pass on your thoughtful comments to all of the team who were made your stay over the festive period special. I was also glad that you found the breakfast excellent, the suite lovely, and that you appreciated the evening ‘turndown’ service.

I hope you will return again soon for another truly memorable stay – and for another plate of Risotto!

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
Geberal Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a garden suite, but as we arrived early it was not ready, so we were given tea an biscuits whilst they prepared the room.
The room consisted of three sections, a small seating area, which contained a table and chairs, a settee, several lamps and a television in a mirror, novel that.
The bedroom had a chaise long, more lamps, another television, in a cupboard this time, and an impressive four poster bed, unfortunately impressions can be deceiving as the bed, unfortunately, was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, as it was very hard indeed.
The bathroom contained a large tiled shower cubical, a substantial bath, separate WC, and twin wash basins beneath a vast mirror.
We also had the services of two butlers, if required!
The place oozes class from the moment you walk through its doors, from beautiful reception area, to the wonderful gardens and lovely roof top pool, the building is kept in fantastic condition.
The numerous staff are immaculately turned out, very friendly and always helpful.
This iconic hotel really lived up to everything (minor issue with the bed aside) expected, it's a serene, and really superb place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester,uk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What can I say the grand ol' dame has not lost any of her charm!! We arrived in Singapore having been awake for way too many hours!! Being as we were early we didnt expect our room to be ready....However, Santos at reception not only sat us down in the magnificient cool lobby but he had complimentary coffee ordered as well!! Within half an hour coffee consumed (beautiful btw) we were ushered into our room by our lovely butler.
Our gorgeous sumptuos suite was out of this world.....apart from the WItchery in Edinburgh I dont think we have stayed anywhere as glamourous.
The staff were professional and discreet. I wish I could remember ALL their names but alas not to be . Santos front desk, Norli concierge services, the 3 Sikh gentlemen at the door Rosli front desk....the list is endless.....They were all super! U have a long way to go to find service of this calibre anywhere in the world!
The Raffles complex is huge. U must visit the Long Bar with its unique traditions ie chucking of peanut shells on the floor....lol The shopping area is brilliant with some lovely shops like the Tiffany's stand alone boutique etc. Everyone should have the privelege of staying at the Raffles at least once and that is our verdict!! In our case we are going to start saving for a return trip pronto!!

Room Tip: Any room at the Raffles is a GOOD room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimofthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear kimofthedeep,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughtful review.

I am glad that you felt your suite was out of this world and enjoyed our unique traditions in the Long Bar. We strive to be a true haven for travellers, so am thrilled that you found the staff professional and discreet and that Santos looked after you upon your arrival. I will be sure to share your kind thoughts with our team members and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'm writing this review on behalf of my parents who stayed here for 3 nights. They absolutely loved everything about this hotel. Because of the hotel's history and reputation my parents had high expectations, but they were exceeded by far.

There are no rooms, only colonial suites, most of them have a view on the garden. You completely forget that you are in the very centre of one of the most lively cities in South East Asia. It's as if you travelled back in time. The service was excellent, the whole Front Desk team does everything to make you feel special. Great service by Mr.Logan in the pool area and the Filipino waitress (we forgot her name) in the Raffles Grill Restaurant.

Having drinks in the Long Bar is a must and you will enjoy a great live music band.
We also had dinner in the Raffles Grill and it's one of the best restaurants we ever had dinner at. Definitely comparable with the Top Michelin venues we have in Europe.
The only point we didn't like too much was when we were charged $50 for a veg pumpkin soup that wasn't on the menu (daily special) and was more expensive than any other starter (even foie gras $48..). I believe that wasn't intentional and upon remark it was quickly adjusted.

Nevertheless this doesn't hinder us from rating this magical place a 10 out of 10. My parents will stay nowhere else when they come back to Singapore.
This hotel isn't cheap, but worth every penny for this unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Tim W,

Thank you for your kind review, and for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore with your parents.

After being an iconic part of Singapore for over 125 years, we feel we have a unique reputation to live up to as a haven for the well-travelled, as such, I am delighted to hear that we exceeded their expectations. Service is a particularly important aspect of our work, so am pleased that you found it excellent, and will of course pass on your generous comments to Mr Logan, the whole Front Desk team, and the waitresses in Raffles Grill. I look forward to welcoming your parents back again soon.

Warm regards,

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gevrey-Chambertin, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed four nights at Raffles in November 2013. This is one of the most iconic hotels in the world, and rightly so. I had high hopes and was actually quite excited to be staying there.
From arriving until departure everything was perfect.
The suites
Comfortable in a grand style, spotlessly clean, antique furniture, quality fittings and so on. Each guest has a personal 24hr butler and ours was "Jay". He was wonderful with my son (5yo) and remembered his name, making a fuss each time he saw him. He does everything for you including tea and coffee, room service, organising bookings, laundry etc. Anything you need is never too much trouble.
The Hotel
Spectacular and then some. It is beautiful to look at and so comfortable to reside in. The facilities are elegant, clean, staff well trained and very polite. Check in was fast and the concierge desk will organise anything.
Restaurants
There are around fifteen choices. I dined at the tiffin room, Empire Cafe, Ah Tengs Bakery and spent one night having a drink in the famous long room (this is full of tourists who aren't guests but it certainly adds to the atmosphere). I didn't have the famous Singapore Sling so cant vouch for it.
Breakfast
Easily the best breakfast i have had in any hotel or restaurant to be honest. So much choice including English, Japanese, Singaporean, French and so on. Cured meats, fresh fruit, cereal. Unlike most hotels you order a la carte and then use the buffet. The eggs benedict was great and my son loved the waffles, pancakes and just about everything else. Perfect.
The Champagne brunch in the Bar & Billiard room on sundays is a must. The selection of seafood is amazing and the continuous pour of Billecart-Salmon Champagne generous.
The Pool
There is a small rooftop pool which is comfortable, service excellent and certainly a good spot to cool down after walking around in the heat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Marc L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Raffles Singapore, and for such a kind review.

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience of the hotel, its suites, restaurants, pool, but particularly its excellent service. I will be sure to share your thoughtful comments with your butler, Jay, as well as the rest of the team. Our aim is to offer a haven for the well-travelled, so it’s lovely to hear that your whole family enjoyed the various breakfast options and that you found everything overall to be “perfect”.

I hope you will return again soon to Raffles Singapore.

Simon Hirst
General Manager
Raffles Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 312 in Singapore
21,797 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,237 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Hotel Singapore

Property: Raffles Hotel Singapore
Address: 1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#3 Business Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Hotel is one of Singapore's most graceful landmarks. More legend than hotel, this luxury Singapore hotel celebrates a tradition of unwavering service excellence spanning more than 125 years.Immortalized in the novels of Somerset Maugham and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Hotel, Singapore’s colonial-styled architecture and lush tropical gardens exude an atmosphere of timeless elegance. 5 restaurants and bars beckon, including the Bar & Billiard Room - new temporary home to the world renowned Singapore Sling; Tiffin Room, which continues the tradition of Afternoon Tea at Raffles and Raffles Grill, serving up the best Sunday Brunch in town. This luxurious Singapore hotel lies in the heart of the city, in close proximity to the banking and financial districts, Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre (SICEC), as well as leisure attractions including the casino at Marina Bay; the cultural sights of Arab Street and Chinatown and shopping at Raffles City shopping mall and Orchard Road shopping belt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raffles Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Raffles Hotel
Raffles Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing